I think I broke my M3...!

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Stray, Mar 14, 2007.

Mar 14, 2007

I think I broke my M3...! by Stray at 4:13 PM (1,022 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Stray
    OP

    Newcomer Stray Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    I got my MicroSD in the mail (Taiwan... Grrr...) and downloaded the firmware update from the M3 website, and then I put all the contents of the RAR file into the MicroSD, including the .nds file. I booted up my M3 and i loaded the .nds file and it did a bunch of stuff, then it brought me to a menu where I could re-select the .nds file, and not knowing truly what to do, I selected it again, then it said something about not being able to find some folder and froze up. Stupidly, I turned it off and back on. It booted okay into the main menu, so i decided to try the PDA and it told me it couldnt find the PDA folder.

    Did I like, screw myself by doing that file twice, or can I just format my SD and start over? It booted alright, but didn't find the PDA function. Would I have to DL that function? Argh... I'm so confuzzled.
     
  2. BMH

    Newcomer BMH Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The PDA function is only available in the Chinese version of the M3 updates. So thats why you can't boot that feature [​IMG]

    Just delete the update file and try some homebrew.
     
  3. Stray
    OP

    Newcomer Stray Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    well, BMH, that explains the PDA thing... That worried the hell outta me. I didnt try anything else, oddly enough. I had to get going to work and decided to leave my DS at home, since I hadn't put any homebrew on it yet.
     
  4. -EX-

    Banned -EX- Racer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    What a bullshit! There's an English version of PDA released.
     
  5. Stray
    OP

    Newcomer Stray Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    But, is it included in the english install? Did I even do it right? O_O
     
  6. newbforlifes

    Newcomer newbforlifes Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
  7. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States
  8. Stray
    OP

    Newcomer Stray Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    good to know i can still have my PDA, but did I do the install right? I still have no answers about what happened when I opened the file twice. it was an .nds file and i tried to look for it in GBA mode, but it couldnt find it so I went to nds mode and found it. All the stuff i've seen about updating says it has to be done in GBA mode O_O

    I guess the fact it still boots up is a good sign... right?
     
  9. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know what you're doing exactly but it definitely sounds like the m3 is just fine and you need to do more research and read the readme's on how to install PDA (PDA = just straight drag the folder to the root of the memory card after extracting and you can run it from the m3 menu I think).
     
  10. Stray
    OP

    Newcomer Stray Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    i don't remember what the folder was called, but it had a couple mp3 files (one called startup) and a bunch of image files, like backgrounds and icons. The file was something that ended with .nds. I'm not even sure it was the firmware upgrade... I'll have to load some patched homebrew onto it tonight and see if they work.

    Another thing.. My MicroSD card slot isnt spring loaded.. Is It supposed to be? I found I had to poke the outside of it with something and almost drag it out. God, those things are fragile.
     
  11. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States

    Yes, it's suppose to be spring loaded. I guess you got a broken one, you should return it for a new one.
     
  12. Stray
    OP

    Newcomer Stray Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Canada
    i'll email kick trading tonight, see what their return policy is.
     
  13. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States

    They should replace your item, I don't see why not. Here's their store policy:http://www.kicktrading.ca/store_pol.php.
     

Share This Page