I think I bricked my vwii

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by drakorex, Dec 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Dec 24, 2012

I think I bricked my vwii by drakorex at 10:48 AM (7,569 Views / 0 Likes) 31 replies

  1. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    I installed d2x v10 so I could get wiiflow to launch Wii games through wiiflow, which I did successfully. I launched a few games and went on to other stuff. So next I tried installing a forwarder for wiiflow. It installed but didn't launch. I then tried installing priiloader and a forwarder to launch it. Now when I launch Vwii, it never loads. Is there anything I can do other than taking it back and starting over?
     


  2. nitrate

    Newcomer nitrate Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Owwww...

    Please people, read the stickies before installing any System-Menu related stuff...

    Priiloader is not intended to work with vWii yet.

    Try resetting your Wii U and hope that the vWii mode is working again afterwards.
     
  3. lampjese

    Newcomer lampjese Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Schoorl
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You are not supose to just install enything from wich u are used to whitin the wii.
    Since you have no backup from your nand and no options to overwrite the previous one i think you have a problem yes.
    The things that came out still got limits, search for confirmations before you try anything like that.
     
  4. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You trying to install priiloader is what killed your vWii...
    Post by crediar regarding modifying vWi System Menu
    ^ also, first post in that linked thread has more detailed information on the subject.

    If you have a key dump from xyzzy 1.2 Unofficial and a Hardware NAND Programmer, like infectus or progskeet, then you might be able to fix it.
    If not, then vWii is bricked.
    Maybe a future Wii U System Update might fix it, but since that has not happened yet, we do not really know.
    Other than that, maybe try sending it to Nintendo, but I do not know how they will react to it...

    I remember you, the same guy who put all that effort into installing the day 1 update without a readily available internet connection just for vWii support... now this has got to suck... unfortunately not much can really be done about it at this time.
     
  5. lampjese

    Newcomer lampjese Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Schoorl
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Did anyone with a vwii brick tryed to erase all contents and setting whitin the wiiu system settings mode?.
    Maybee you can try that.
     
  6. nitrate

    Newcomer nitrate Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    I was resetting my Wii U just this morning - but not because of a vWii brick. I've seen that at the end of this point it is also resetting vWii as well. The cIOSes seem to stay where they are. For me cIOS 236, 249, 250 & 251 were all still available. I don't know if this will also reset a vWii brick.
     
  7. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    AFAIK that will not work.
    priiloader makes itself part of the System Menu, and the System Reset will not erase that, for obvious reasons, same as why it does not erase cIOS, or any IOS.
     
  8. lampjese

    Newcomer lampjese Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Schoorl
    Country:
    Netherlands
    People just have to read and read before they take actions.
    If no one confirms it, just dont install it.
     
    damysteryman likes this.
  9. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You could try a forced update?
     
  10. nitrate

    Newcomer nitrate Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    AFAIK an update to the Wii U system does - until yet - NOT include a vWii system update.
     
  11. [Truth]

    Member [Truth] GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    Germany
    You should wait till the next official WiiU update.
    I bet that Nintendo will fix the IOS exploit used for HBC installation and also remove HBC.
    Perhaps system menu will be overwritten too.
     
  12. muskieratboi

    Member muskieratboi Rydian's got some competition!

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    380
    Country:
    Australia
    From the stickies, which you should have read:


    There is not a slow enough clap.

    But have one anyway:

     
    Ericss likes this.
  13. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I solved my problem, I returned it and they swapped it out for a different unit. Wouldn't have been so bad except I just got done putting an awesome skin on the day before. I was able to carefully remove and reapply the skin, although with some minor bubbling/stretching. Anyway, now I'm wondering what I gotta do to get my account onto the new one.
     
  14. muskieratboi

    Member muskieratboi Rydian's got some competition!

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    380
    Country:
    Australia
    You returned it? To what store? I hope you removed your NNID from the old system, because it's most likely going to be sent back to Nintendo for repair and refurbishment. And I'm quite certain that a technician is gonna notice what's been done to the vWii NAND..
     
    air2004 likes this.
  15. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    So WCS, I'd have to create a new nnid using a different email?
     
  16. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    This is just wrong.....fuck up a perfectly working new unit and just return it and get it exchanged,problem solved....
    In the good old days, if I'd brake my new Christmas toy then I'd have no toy at all ....:O
    If everybody would do that then I'd expect major retail companies to change their exchange policies, and for a good reason.

    People have no morals and certainly do no take responsibility for their actions either these days.
    The fucked up unit eventually makes it way back to Nintendo where it can be dissected and studied too....
     
    jagotu, Ericss, HorreC and 5 others like this.
  17. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    Like big n hasn't already scoured for info on sites like this and hacked a few wiius themselves? I highly doubt that they will learn anything they dont know from my slightly hacked and bricked vwii.
     
  18. Scuba156

    Member Scuba156 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    Australia
    Information as in your personal details, who you are and that you violated the warranty, not information on how the hack is being done
     
    Plunt likes this.
  19. msaraiva

    Newcomer msaraiva Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Brazil
    Nothing like the easy way out, huh? That's just disgusting...
     
    Ericss, Maxternal, HorreC and 4 others like this.
  20. muskieratboi

    Member muskieratboi Rydian's got some competition!

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    380
    Country:
    Australia
    Should I bring back the slow clap?
     
    kikenovic, Plunt and Arm73 like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page