I think I am banner bricked but not sure.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by elimist, Apr 24, 2010.

Apr 24, 2010
  1. elimist
    OP

    Member elimist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    1. I installed the usb loader gx forwarder using yawmm.
    2. I installed the latest hermes cios using default settings
    3. installed waninkoko's cios rev19 using the default settings( i think i had 14 before )
    4. I launched the usb loader gx forwarder and tried to play a gamecube multi iso disc but it just rebooted my wii.
    5. tried ^ again but it still rebooted my wii after clicking on the disk.
    6. I use the hb browser (launched with forwarder) to get wii mc.
    7. I deleted desumume with hbc.
    8. I started config usb loader with hbc and see the screen showing "config usb loader" and 57a 222 (version number) on the bottom and it froze there. I waited a minute and then rebooted my wii because I thought config usb loader may not be compatable with the newer hermes cios.
    9. My wii boots up to a black screen with nothing displayed. I know that there is a video signal because othervise, my tv will say no signal.
    I am able to launch priiloader v.4(i think) by holding reset but if I select "system menu", the screen becomes white and stays white. I think this is a banner brick but the only wad i installed was the usb gx forwarder and it works fine. Can someone help me unbrick my wii? please?

    here is the stuff i have on my wii:
    sys menu: 4.1u
    bootmii ios
    priiloader v .4
    hombrew channel installed
    nand dump and keys (it is a little old so I don't want to restore it and lose all my wiiware games)
    cios 222,249 from latest waninkoko and hermes cios
     


  2. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Use priiloader to load the homebrew channel and from there reinstall the system menu with an app like DOP-Mii

    Oh, and you need a custom mios to load gamecube backups, and you can't load them from USB
     
  3. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I wouldn't do that. If it is a banner brick, he'll end up fully bricked since reinstalling an SM removes priiloader. If you want to try that, be absolutely sure to reinstall priiloader IMMEDIATELY after exiting DOP-Mii, before quitting the homebrew channel.

    Try uninstalling that USB Loader forwarder in wad manager,
     
  4. elimist
    OP

    Member elimist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    I will try to uninstall the channel but it worked fine twice before i bricked.
     
  5. elimist
    OP

    Member elimist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    I tried using yawmm but it dumps after I select ios 249. I used priiloader to start hbc and then yawmm with ios 36 and deleted the channel but i still cant start the sys menu. for some reason dopmii does not work and I only see a red bar on top with "dop mii v12 svn ". sign check also freezes after ios 13(i think). it says i have 19 ioses. wii explorer just black screens. I tried launching usbloader gx with the forwarder dol from priiloader but it juse says loading. I think my sd is corruped because that would explain alll this because my cios installers and wads may be corrupted.
     
  6. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    do all the system menu updates remove priiloader? I thought it was only 4.2

    you could also use syscheck in dop-mii to check your ioses to see if any missing or messed up.
     
  7. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Get into priiloader and see what hacks are turned on.

    It seems like maybe you have a hack on that starts the wii to a black screen or it starts it into recovery mode


    EDIT: Do you have a sd card inserted when the wii is turned on? I had a buddy who had been using a micro sd card in an adapter and if it was left in the wii when it was turned on it would load to a black screen and that was it.Switching to a normal sd card fixed the issue which.It didnt do this until after bootmii was installed on the wii and had the bootmii folder on the micro sd card but when everything was moved to a normal sd card everything worked fine even bootmii loading up at startup when the card was inserted.
     
  8. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Reinstalling any version SM deletes priiloader. Doesn't matter what version.
     
  9. elimist
    OP

    Member elimist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    ok i will try that.
     
  10. elimist
    OP

    Member elimist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    the black screen hack was not enabled but I disabled all the other hacks anyway but my sys menu still doesn't load. dopmii still dosen't work. I tried turning on my wii withour an sd card and without pressing reset but my sys menu still does not load. I also tried pressing reset when booting without my sd card and priiloader does not come up. My sd card has to be inside for me to acess priiloader.
     
  11. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    priiloader does not need a sd card in order to boot.

    You didnt hold the reset button quick enough probably.
     
  12. elimist
    OP

    Member elimist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    I tried several times. priiloader does not work without my sd card inside. I also tried removing my sd after priiloader booted and selecting sys menu but my screen becomes white with no text on it. I wanted to show off my hacked wii to my friends but all I have now is an expensive brick. [​IMG]
     
  13. elimist
    OP

    Member elimist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    Will restoring my nand dump fix all this? I made my backup after installing hbc, bootmii ios, and cios.
     
  14. Deanr1977

    Newcomer Deanr1977 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like you dont have much of a choice left now my friend???? Unless you would rather show off your big bricked Wii?
    Yes restoring the nand dump should take it back & fix everything, but you will have to reinstall Priiloader once you do this method, because you probably didnt have Priiloader installed after this dump? You should always make regular dumps to avoid things like this happening again! If you go ahead with this i think you should run the new version of Pimp my wii find it here -
    Pimp my wii v1.4
    & the newest version of Priiloader v0.4 Rev78 too find that here -
    Priiloader v0.4 Rev78
    & hopefully you can start fresh again then? [​IMG] Hope this helps
     
  15. elimist
    OP

    Member elimist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    I installed priiloader after making the nand dump. I also remembered something just now: when I select load title in priiloader, it says "warning tmd size error *blah blah*". Anyway, i will not have access to my wii for a week.
     
  16. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    Can you still access the HomeBrew Channel ??
     
  17. elimist
    OP

    Member elimist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    yes, I can acess the hombrew channel from priiloader but most of my apps dont work. some apps like wiiexplorer just black screen. others have garbled colorful code dumps. dopmii loads to a black screen with "dop mii v12 svn *blah*" in a red bar at the top of the screen
    edit: i also copied all the files on my sd to my pc, formatted with sd formatter, and then copied files back but I won't be able to test for a week.
     
  18. elimist
    OP

    Member elimist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    I have a sign check report but it froze at ios 13 and I had to reboot.

    "SignCheck 0.3b aka loveSexWii build report"
    "Wii region", Usa
    "Wii unique device id", 106499218

    "IOS number", "Trucha bug", "Flash access", "Boot2 access", "Usb2.0 IOS tree"

    "IOS250 (ver 65535)", Enabled, Disabled, Disabled, Enabled
    "IOS249 (ver 17)", Enabled, Disabled, Disabled, Enabled
    "IOS222 (ver 4)", Enabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS61 (ver 4890)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS60 (ver 6174)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS55 (ver 5406)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS53 (ver 5149)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS38 (ver 3610)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS37 (ver 3612)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS36 (ver 3351)", Enabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS35 (ver 3092)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS34 (ver 3091)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS33 (ver 2834)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS31 (ver 3092)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS28 (ver 1293)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS22 (ver 780)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS17 (ver 518)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS14 (ver 263)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
    "IOS13 (ver 16)", Disabled, Disabled, Disabled, Disabled
     
  19. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    probably wont help, but what happens if you use priiloader to make the system menu load from a different ios, like 249?
     
  20. elimist
    OP

    Member elimist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    how do I do that? I never really used priiloader untill my wii bricked.
     

Share This Page