I need some help!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by liop4q, Dec 11, 2010.

Dec 11, 2010

I need some help! by liop4q at 7:35 PM (1,603 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. liop4q
    OP

    Newcomer liop4q Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    I am new to this whole "hacking" wii, and I have been trying to figure out all this BS for like 2 days now and you could say im a NOOOB, at all this. Im just looking for a couple answers and possibly some help!

    I have a wii, v4.3u, I have hacked it with SSBB and I have homebrew, I have recently put Wad Manager and cIOS installer on my SD card but when trying to run both programs they freeze.

    Could anyone possibly help me?

    All I want to do with my wii is play downloaded / burnt games!
    I NEED HELP! [​IMG]
     


  2. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    you need a patched IOS36....grab cIOS236 installer from Modmii and install that....then use MMM (which will load on your IOS236) to install your other cIOS wads....
     
  3. liop4q
    OP

    Newcomer liop4q Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    So I go online and download IOS36? Is this what your saying?
    And sorry what is MMM?

    Sorry new to all of this [​IMG]
     
  4. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    use ModMii
     
  5. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    download Modmii (it's in the sticky thread at the top of this forum or in the post by XFLAK right above mine)....run that (on your PC)....use Modmii to download the cIOS236 INSTALLER....(the installer will download IOS36, patch it and install it to slot 236)
     
  6. liop4q
    OP

    Newcomer liop4q Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a guide for ModMii?
     
  7. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    ModMii is an interactive guide, click on the link on my signature, it explains everything
     
  8. liop4q
    OP

    Newcomer liop4q Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    And I can use ModMii on 4.3u?
    And if im using ModMii do I format my SD card so that it has nothing on it?

    Also after I do the Modmii steps will I have to download Neogamma so i can then play downloaded games?
     
  9. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    @xflak: (off-topic)...the link in your sig: i want it to work, but when i click on it, it directs to a seriousurl.com/linkbucks.com forwarder website and the thread isn't very navigable (i use latest FireFox), would ever consider just linking to the actual thread from your sig?
     
  10. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    yes...try it, you'll see....select 'w' on the main screen. it'll walk through a series of questions to find out where you wii is currently, then download the appropriate files which you then copy to the SD card....it'll also generate a step by step guide.....

    Modmii FTW!....you should been using the guide from day one....you would have been done on day one.....
     
  11. liop4q
    OP

    Newcomer liop4q Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    Haha well I hope to finish after I watch this video [​IMG] Gotta go turn on other windows comp though, haha on Mac atm, cause I was browsing internet to find out how to do all this.

    And after I download Modmii do I have to download Neogamma to play downloaded games?
     
  12. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    if you're playing from USB, i use Wiiflow (prettier). CFG Loader is also good (more functional)....

    NeoGamma is more for playing back-ups from discs....but if you have a native 4.3U wii, you likely have a D3-2 drive, which won't allow DVD (backup) playing
     
  13. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    @liop4q, my signature says "Mod ANY Wii 4.3 and below using ModMii"... so yes

    @brausm08, DeadlyFoez and I have some plans in the initial stages that will benefit everyone, and that money is going to start up costs. Honestly, I don't make a lot of money doing this, maybe $35 a year through linkbucks, and on top of that not a lot of people donate (I'm very grateful to the few that do). If I were to start getting somewhat consistent donations, I would consider removing my linkbucks account all together.

    Besides, since I've started ModMii, I've actually made it easier for people to download files. Now everything is hosted on google code, and there are not any linkbucks ads when you actually download ModMii or the ModMii Installer.
     
  14. liop4q
    OP

    Newcomer liop4q Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    I have another question sir. I know about not being able to play burnt games because of the new drive. But when I did the serial number search it didnt say I had a new d3-2 drive. So could i still try it or do i have to go buy a USB?
     
  15. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    did it come from the store with 4.3U on it? if so, i would imagine you have D3-2....

    how long ago did you buy it?

    by all means try it....after the mod is done, throw a dvd in the drive (i use a DVD movie) and try launching it with WiiMC or MPlayerCE...if it recognizes a disc, then you're in luck
     
  16. liop4q
    OP

    Newcomer liop4q Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    Just bought it like probably 4 days ago and came with 4.3u on it got it used...

    But like I said when I ran the serial number to see about the disc drive, i didnt see that I had the d3-2 drive...

    But then again you guys know more about this stuff than me [​IMG] aha.
     
  17. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    if u bought it used, the fact that is was on 4.3 means nothing

    the only sure way to know for sure is to mod it then test it with a real disc like described earlier. But if u are able to install bootmii @ boot2, its almost definitely able to play backup discs, otherwise there is only a slim chance.
     
  18. liop4q
    OP

    Newcomer liop4q Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    After I have ModMii downloaded and on my Sd card. What do I exactly do in MMM?
     
  19. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    launch it in HBC....

    when you say "Modmii downloaded and on the SD Card"...i'm hoping you mean the contents of the "Copy_to_SD" folder
     
  20. liop4q
    OP

    Newcomer liop4q Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    Ya I know I launch it in HBc but what do I click once im in MMM?
     

Share This Page