I need some help after installing Wood, R4 menu vanishes...?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by karloz25, Mar 24, 2011.

1. karloz25
    OP

Member karloz25 GBAtemp Regular

United States
    I have a R4i-Gold that supports Wood.

I am new to Wood, and have always used just the Cart makers FW, so my kids are used to the easy to navigate menu.

I installed the Base FW from the Carts official site, and the menu shows up, but after installing the Wood update for the Cart, the Menu goes away.

Anyway to keep the old Gui with the Wood FW?

Also what is that third option in the menu that says "wood"? What is this for?

Thanks Guys!

Great Community [​IMG]

[Reference Pics]

Before Wood (with base cart fw):
    [​IMG]

After Wood FW installed:
    [​IMG]

2. Sausage Head

Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

Netherlands
    Ah, you messed up the pictures. Now I understand you a bit more.

The third option boots WOODR4.NDS, which is, obviously, WOOD R4iGold

If you want to install WOOD R4, you can't use the default interface.

3. karloz25
    OP

United States
    Thank you for your reply....

I'm confused now... lol

So I should be using only the NDS file for wood? I have been using the RPG,DS_MENU and NDS file, and OVER-WRITTING the originals from the base fw.

I did notice that the WOOD releases come in many different download formats, NDS, files, etc... why?

I guess I just don't understand what Wood is mainly for? I thought it was a independent fw far better than any manufacture fw, more compatible.

4. Sora de Eclaune

Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

United States
    Different types of R4s require different types of files to run, actually. Some R4s cannot run Wood R4 without first booting into the firmware made by the developers of the cart.