Hacking Question I need help.

sansnumen

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
317
Trophies
0
XP
1,281
Country
United States
So you have 6.2 nand but ealier boot0/1, if they're incompatible it's what stopped your console from booting. Since you can't restore the previous nand, you should backup the current one and keep it safe too, maybe you'll need to recover from that.

He downgraded from FW 6.2 to FW 6.1 by restoring his boot0/boot1 backup on his system NAND. He can theoretically boot CFW via Hekate but for whatever reason it is not working for him.
 

Psychoticgamer92

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2018
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
175
Country
United States
So you have 6.2 nand but ealier boot0/1, if they're incompatible it's what stopped your console from booting. Since you can't restore the previous nand, you should backup the current one and keep it safe too, maybe you'll need to recover from that.
My nand is from 6.1.0 and my boot0/boot1 is as well. But my system is on 6.2.0
 

Psychoticgamer92

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 15, 2018
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
175
Country
United States
He downgraded from FW 6.2 to FW 6.1 by restoring his boot0/boot1 backup on his system NAND. He can theoretically boot CFW via Hekate but for whatever reason it is not working for him.
Correct. I get some package error when I try to load reinx and then the error I told you when I try atmosphere
 

sansnumen

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
317
Trophies
0
XP
1,281
Country
United States
I burnt fuses restored to 6.1 and updated back to 6.2 when atmosphere was updated worked fine.

Sorry if I came off as snippy. OP already tried to boot CFW via Hekate after he restored his boot0/boot1 backup that was on FW 6.1. Obviously he can't boot normally as he downgraded from FW 6.2. His only hope now is updating back to FW 6.2 using ChoiDujourNX and then booting Atmosphere.

I know it doesnt help now, but you should have made a backup of the "current state" of the console before you tried to do anything like that

Agreed. But all is not lost yet. He can still boot into Hekate.
 

Andalitez

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2018
Messages
495
Trophies
0
Location
Final Space
XP
1,132
Country
United States
Last edited by Andalitez,

mrgarrison

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
78
Trophies
0
XP
229
Country
Canada
or, hypothetically, if someone just very recently bought a new one they could put the "not working for no reason" one back in the box and return it. Long as they dont check serial #s that person would have a very happy day.
 

sansnumen

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
317
Trophies
0
XP
1,281
Country
United States
or, hypothetically, if someone just very recently bought a new one they could put the "not working for no reason" one back in the box and return it. Long as they dont check serial #s that person would have a very happy day.

Besides being really slimy, no, that won't work. Newer Switches do not accept RCM payloads, while the OP's Switch does.
 
Last edited by sansnumen,

Khar00f

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
193
Trophies
0
XP
685
Country
Canada
So if i understood you correctly, you have Boot0/1 from 6.1 and sysnand 6.2 and you're unable to restore 6.1 sysnand.

I would recommend you try and restore your rawnand.bin 6.1 using Hekate 3.2, once that's done, you should be able to boot cfw, you can run choixdujournx to update firmware to 6.2 turning on autorcm, or stay on 6.1 but you can't put your system in sleep mode anymore.

Anyways start by restoring using Hekate 3.2, if you tried 4.x and got an error (that's what i understood from what i read above).

Hope that helps,
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    NeoGaming @ NeoGaming: @Dark_Phoras, stop it