Hacking I need help with an used ps vita

Yukki_

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jan 25, 2022
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
7
Country
Italy
I buyed an used ps vita and when it turns on there's the enso logo on it. But i don't see apps like vitashell, there are only the system apps. It is on firmware 3.65, i need to update it to 3.73 but when i go to system update i see these:
msg_update_wifi
msg_update_ps3
msg_update_pc
When i clik on them they don't do anything.
Can somebody help me please, i'm going crazy
 

Plazorn

GBAtemp’s Dragon
Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2021
Messages
604
Trophies
0
Location
Ruins of Midgar
XP
1,009
Country
United States
I buyed an used ps vita and when it turns on there's the enso logo on it. But i don't see apps like vitashell, there are only the system apps. It is on firmware 3.65, i need to update it to 3.73 but when i go to system update i see these:
msg_update_wifi
msg_update_ps3
msg_update_pc
When i clik on them they don't do anything.
Can somebody help me please, i'm going crazy
Don't update it. Enso has many advantages over the regular OFW. in settings, henkaku, there is something that says version spoofing. Make sure it is set to 3.73. You can follow this guide to restore vitashell, https://psvitamod.com/vitashell/
 
  • Like
Reactions: Marc_78065

peter8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
150
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
211
Country
Germany
Lost vitashell on henkaku 3.65 -

I had also buy a PSTV from ebay with henkaku 3.65. It was a big mistake and its a bad idea to do this. First, when you install Henkaku 3.65 there is no way back to go 3.60. You need 3.60 otherwise you can not restore your programs like vitashell. Its printed in the FAQ from henkaku when you update to 3.65 you have to BACKUP first vitashell or moleculashell, otherwise its lost. Since we had buy it from ebay, we do not have this backup. All in one its lost.

Read this : (I had not do this)
https://gbatemp.net/threads/restore-vitashell-on-henkaku-3-65.498636/

I had found a more easy way to repair my henkaku 3.65 system without intsalling new programs. But for this method you need a second henkaku PSVITATV with henkaku 3.60. My vitashell is back.
 

r5xscn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2014
Messages
302
Trophies
0
Location
On earth, somewhere
XP
1,694
Country
Antarctica
You could also factory reset the console and reinstall the Enso CFW. Takes about 15 minutes and you would exactly know what's on your console.

https://vita.hacks.guide

This guide has everything you need to do that.
Last Sunday I followed that guide on my henkaku 1 Vita with Enso.
I reinstalled henkaku because of a battery drain issue when the vita is powered/turned off.

Now on boot, it does not show the molecular shell logo, but instead the original PS logo.
In system settings, it now says 変革 2, and the issue is solved. I am a happy camper now.

OP, just follow the tutorial on https://vita.hacks.guide and reinstall your henkaku.
Do not factory reset it because if you reset it, you will need to link a PSN account to use QCMA. Expert users please CMIIW.
At some point, you will have VitaDeploy, which will reinstall the whole FW and after that, you can install Vita Shell through VitaDeploy.
 

SonsofOcelot

Shalashaska
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
378
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Outer Haven
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
436
Country
United States
Definitely going to second @Plazorn on their suggestion. Keep it on 3.65 and follow the guide they linked. The guide over at https://vita.hacks.guide is also very informative if you want to start fresh, BUT I highly recommend against upgrading to 3.73 if you still want to use a jailbroken console.

@peter8 you do not need a 3.60 to restore Vitashell or Molecularshell because there are now a lot of tools that will do this for you without being on 3.60. Also it should be possible to downgrade all the way back to 3.60 using Modoru if you really had to for some reason.
 

peter8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
150
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
211
Country
Germany
r5xscn & SonsofOcelot :
This is also for me very interesting and new :) Many thanks
Buying Henkaku 3.65 on ebay is just a bad idea, you never know what the user did with it. You are more save buy a henkaku 3.60 and than you can do what ever with it.

Ok, Modoru, will read information later.

I had fix it on this way -> I have 2 PSTV, the one has Henkaku 3.60 and the oher 3.65. I had use a original Sony memory card and install molecularshell on it with the Henkaku 3.60 PSTV. After that I had insert the sony memory card into my defected ebay 3.65 PSTV system (all was lost molecular and vitashell) and molecularshell was back. But it was not easy read the sony card in first try, only offline and spoofed back to 3.60.
I do not need 3.65, because I only use PC ports and Adrenalin. But I was in fear when reading on the official henkaku site that its NOT possible to restore anything. But with my steps I do not need any internet to restore molecularshell back. But the henkaku site is still not working to bring it back on 3.60. javascript error. Its easy and fast without internet, but still problems there.
 
  • Like
Reactions: r5xscn

SilverDen

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
46
Trophies
0
XP
519
Country
Germany
I feel like you guys are misunderstanding something:

Updating to 3.73 is not just harmless, it is also recommended to then go back to either 3.60 or 3.65 following the guide that was linked multiple times now. So it really does not matter what the previous user did to the console, you can just reset it and follow the guide, as stated. (Would have worked for you too, @peter8)
 

duwen

Old Man Yoshi
Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2013
Messages
2,592
Trophies
1
Location
Bullet Hell
Website
www.exophase.com
XP
3,115
Country
United Kingdom
Yeah, what @SilverDen said in both their posts.

If you're buying a pre-owned Vita at this point it's irrelevant if it's already been hacked, you should just update and follow the guide to hack/downgrade. You'll have a better understanding of where everything is and it how it should work.
 

peter8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
150
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
211
Country
Germany
seems SonsofOcelot has right, taken notes from the site mention from SilverDen ;)

@ Yukki_ : your answer ->

from the FAQ :

Can I downgrade my Vita?
Yes, the tool Modoru can downgrade any system hacked with HENkaku or h-encore to any firmware equal or greater than the firmware the console came with out of the box.

Is it safe to update a Vita with CFW?
There is no need to update a PSVita with CFW. Stay on 3.60 or 3.65.

Updating Firmware (3.73)
The h-encore exploit is only compatible with the firmware versions 3.65 and above. As a result, lower firmware versions must update to the latest firmware to use the exploit.

Installing Ensō (3.65)
If your device on firmware version 3.65 was unable to downgrade to firmware version 3.60 due to its "factory firmware", you will fortunately still be able to use the more convenience Ensō boot-time exploit.
Unfortunately, you may experience minor software incompatibilities as you will not be able to use any homebrew which is only compatible with 3.60.
 

caki883

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
122
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
532
Country
Germany
Lost vitashell on henkaku 3.65 -

I had also buy a PSTV from ebay with henkaku 3.65. It was a big mistake and its a bad idea to do this. First, when you install Henkaku 3.65 there is no way back to go 3.60. You need 3.60 otherwise you can not restore your programs like vitashell. Its printed in the FAQ from henkaku when you update to 3.65 you have to BACKUP first vitashell or moleculashell, otherwise its lost. Since we had buy it from ebay, we do not have this backup. All in one its lost.

Read this : (I had not do this)
https://gbatemp.net/threads/restore-vitashell-on-henkaku-3-65.498636/

I had found a more easy way to repair my henkaku 3.65 system without intsalling new programs. But for this method you need a second henkaku PSVITATV with henkaku 3.60. My vitashell is back.
Enable cfw on 3.65 and downgrade to 3.60
 

SonsofOcelot

Shalashaska
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
378
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Outer Haven
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
436
Country
United States
I feel like you guys are misunderstanding something:

Updating to 3.73 is not just harmless, it is also recommended to then go back to either 3.60 or 3.65 following the guide that was linked multiple times now. So it really does not matter what the previous user did to the console, you can just reset it and follow the guide, as stated. (Would have worked for you too, @peter8)
Agreed. What I was getting at was that there is homebrew available on 3.73, but it's not as user friendly as 3.65 Enso. I just wasn't clear on that point. The hacks.guide link is the easiest route and best for anyone just starting regardless of what firmware/previous hacks the Vita/PSTV has.

@Yukki_ did you get it working?
 

peter8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
150
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
211
Country
Germany
seems not all Vita systems can be hacked, maybe not so easy what everyone say.

modoru faq :

Q: My factory firmware is higher than 3.65 and modoru doesn't allow me to downgrade to 3.60/3.65.
A: Unfortunately, there are some devices with factory firmware above 3.65. These cannot be downgraded (yet). This means no bootloader hack for you.
 

SonsofOcelot

Shalashaska
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
378
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Outer Haven
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
436
Country
United States
seems not all Vita systems can be hacked, maybe not so easy what everyone say.
h-encore on 3.73 allows you to run the vast majority of the homebrew that is available to 3.60/3.65 users.
modoru faq :

Q: My factory firmware is higher than 3.65 and modoru doesn't allow me to downgrade to 3.60/3.65.
A: Unfortunately, there are some devices with factory firmware above 3.65. These cannot be downgraded (yet). This means no bootloader hack for you.
Notice it says "no bootloader hack for you", not "no hack for you."
This just means that users whose Vita has a higher factory firmware than 3.65 cannot use the persistent Enso hack, but they still have access to h-encore which is just as good even though it needs executed after every reboot.
 

Marc_78065

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2021
Messages
1,247
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,455
Country
United States
Vita Guides is brilliant, but if you need more assistance, Mr. Mario videos are excellent.

I hacked mine from 3.03 to 3.60 in a matter of minutes and I gotta say, Vita is an incredible handheld. The OLED screen looks absolutely gorgeous.
 

SilverDen

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
46
Trophies
0
XP
519
Country
Germany
seems not all Vita systems can be hacked, maybe not so easy what everyone say.

modoru faq :

Q: My factory firmware is higher than 3.65 and modoru doesn't allow me to downgrade to 3.60/3.65.
A: Unfortunately, there are some devices with factory firmware above 3.65. These cannot be downgraded (yet). This means no bootloader hack for you.
Now that is a good point. However, while these consoles theoretically exist, these are the absolutely newest Slim versions of the Vita. And they are EXTREMELY rare. I have worked with countless systems so far and have never even seen a system that could not be downgraded to 3.60. So probably less of an issue as people may think, especially if you buy a used Vita.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SonsofOcelot

peter8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
150
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
211
Country
Germany
@ SonsofOcelot :

''needs executed after every reboot''

This is very bad, would never buy something like this on ebay and so we have a big differences. I want everything offline with enso. But this is not about me. The same as you I want to know what Yukki_ has to say. But your modoru point was very interesting, maybe I will try it on my PSTV with 3.65 and bring it back to 3.60. But will wait for Yukki_. The FAQ say 3.73 is not needed and not harmless, so for what does Yukki_ need it ?

@ SilverDen :
Some people sell systems on ebay and only say CFW but not what it is. Ebay can be risky, especially when there is no knowledge and help. But I am thankfully for all answers here, so I can learn more. The most members here work with real Vity system, since I only work with the PSTV system. So far there are still some small differences, like Adrenalin Eboot PSX is not working on TV in fullscreen but working perfect on a Vita system (for example). The VITA homebrew scene is excellent, but I think we have not enough members to share more information. When you watch the PS3 or Wii scene, its bigger. But truly, the VITA has currently the most PC ports ever seen on any console. I was just to late for the Vita scene. Love it :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: SilverDen

duwen

Old Man Yoshi
Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2013
Messages
2,592
Trophies
1
Location
Bullet Hell
Website
www.exophase.com
XP
3,115
Country
United Kingdom
The most members here work with real Vity system, since I only work with the PSTV system. So far there are still some small differences, like Adrenalin Eboot PSX is not working on TV in fullscreen but working perfect on a Vita system (for example).
I have both a 1000 Vita and a PSTV - both are on enso 3.60.
My PSTV uses the sharpscale plugin, so technically nothing runs "full screen" (except for the handful of titles that can be forced to run at a scaleable resolution)... but it looks far nicer for it - that includes Adrenaline, so it's often my go-to device for PS1 titles.
 

Marc_78065

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2021
Messages
1,247
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,455
Country
United States
I have both a 1000 Vita and a PSTV - both are on enso 3.60.
My PSTV uses the sharpscale plugin, so technically nothing runs "full screen" (except for the handful of titles that can be forced to run at a scaleable resolution)... but it looks far nicer for it - that includes Adrenaline, so it's often my go-to device for PS1 titles.
Yeah, by "full screen" he means actually stretched which isn't a good idea as it can make a game/movie/show look ugly if it's not the intended AR.

Power Stone on PSP has the option to reverse it back to 4:3 though that's not a good idea because that version was meant to run/look 16:9, for example.

9I0eNad.jpg


This is very bad, would never buy something like this

Fair enough, you wouldn't. However, it's still an option others probably would take it over nothing.

When buying on eBay you have the option to ask a question to the seller so it's not his/her fault it came with the FW you didn't want.

I personally show or state what firmware a console has, but the majority doesn't.
 

peter8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
150
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
211
Country
Germany
@ duwen :

Adrenaline works fine on my PSTV, but only PSP ISOS, the PSX eboot is not even halfscreen. The picture is very small in the corner. There is a bounty of it. -> Native Resolution for PSP games on PSVITA. [$1,875] from rinnegatamante website. Anyway I play my PSX games on PS2 or PS3, so I dont need it. But there are still differences. In all Adrenalin is mostly perfect and is more usefull than the PS3 emulation, but on PS3 the graphics are a lot better.

@ Marc_78065 :

nah, the point was that we have some members here and say you can buy everything without problems. ;)
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: All will have long blond hair