I need help playing backup gamecube games on the wii.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Bryon15, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Here's some info. Here's the guide I followed.

    http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-faqs-guides-tutorials-only/47802-play-gamecube-backups-your-wii.html

    I did everything it said, but the games won't play. My wii system menu version is: 4.3U My homebrew channel version is: 1.0.8 IOS58 V24.32

    I tried using both neogamma and GC backup launcher. When I load the disc using neogamma I get a message saying: DVD Err (1208), Disc ID

    When I tried using GC backup launcher I get a message saying: Failed to read dvd 263 Error 0x3023a00 No Disc.

    Okay now I admit I didn't use the recommended DVD-R like the guide said to. I used both DVD+RW and DVD-RW since I already had some of those here in the house. Neither worked. But I don't know if it's because I didn't install something on my wii that needs to be there or if I burned the games on the disc wrong or if it's just the wrong kind of blank dvds. I don't mind buying some DVD-R but I want to make sure that's what the problem is before I waste $20 bucks.

    Has anybody gotten this to work? What did you do different from me? What method did you use? Any help would be much appreciated.
     


  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,774
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    You have a newer Wii I assume? Chances are your DVD drive is too new to play disc backups.
     
  3. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    It's not new. I got it at launch in 2006.
     
  4. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,774
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Then it's either the discs or your DVD drive is bad....did you install MIOS?
     
  5. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. I used the NUS Downloader, put the RVL-mios-v10.wad on the root and installed it with cMIOSWiiGator. It said the install was successful.
     
  6. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,774
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm...Well DVD-R's is the only solution then I think...
     
  7. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,480
    Country:
    United States
    2006 models may have a chance of not playing back ups check out www.wiidrives.com and tell me you chip thing and stuff on there by entering you LU#
     
  8. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
  9. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,480
    Country:
    United States

    yeah your wii can play backups that good.

    and always use dvd-r's nothing like dvd+r and never get DVD-RW RW's do not work at all i use to have DVD+R's work but i'm not sure if they do now... and also i have dark corps 1.1 in my wii (don't install that it's not recommed) i do it and i don't care. and also are you using mutil iso maker for you GC games?

    also burn at the lowest speed you can (i use 2X for mine two burner's) one from my labtop (which is slow) one i can plug in and it's faster.
     
  10. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so just to clarify, do you mean it can or can't play games that good? And yes I was using the multi ISO maker to burn the games. I burn at 2X too. I'll buy some DVD-R and see if it'll work. I'll update the topic when I get them.
     
  11. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden

    Eh... no? I think you are mixing it up with 2009 models.
     
  12. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,480
    Country:
    United States
    ok did you buy the wii used or new? casue according to the number he posted it was a 2006 model. so those should have no problem.
     
  13. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    It was new when I bought it. I got it for Christmas in 2006. God it was hard to find.
     
  14. steveroo

    Member steveroo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Oak Bay
    Country:
    Canada
    I would start fresh. delete cMIOSWiiGator, reinstall the app again, downloadRVL-mios-v10.wad from nusdownloader, install mios again with cMIOSWiigator select YES for both of the settings before installing and install with ios236. I'd also delete neogamma from homebrew and reinstall the app as well.

    I've heard dvd-rws do not work.
    when burning multi games with MultiGameISOCreator be sure to fstfix t before burning discs and always burn at 4x or less with IMGburn and never use the computer while its burning.

    i traded drives for my new wii and i use these settings and have backed up gamecube games work everytime unless they have streaming audio (stoopid ikaruga!)
     
  15. Maverick Lunar X

    Member Maverick Lunar X GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    Are you making a multi game disc? if so try just burning a single game to a disc. If it still doesn't work, it's most likely your discs. Do wii backups work?
     
  16. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I tried to make a multi game disc. I tried using a single game too. Neither worked. So it's probably the discs. I load wii backups from my external usb hard drive. Not dvds. So they work perfectly. Of course that method doesn't work with gamecube games. I'm hoping when the wii u gets hacked it'll fix that problem. But until then I'll buy some dvd-r. I heard these were the best:

    http://www.provantage.com/verbatim-96938~7VBTM2V0.htm
     
  17. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys, I forgot to mention that FSTFIX didn't work for me. When I tried to open it it blinked on the screen for a second and then closed. So I couldn't compress/shrink the games.
     
  18. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That is because it's a Command line tool. It's not an icon/ program you can just click on.
    As I recall you can also drag and drop your .iso's into it.
     
  19. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    It's still not working. When I drag a compressed iso into it I get a message saying:

    FSTFIX.EXE has stopped working.
    a problem caused the program to stop working correctly.
    Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available.

    Also I had to turn off my antivirus because mcafee kept removing the fstfix.exe whenever I tried to unzip it.
     
  20. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    fstfix only helps if you get the game to boot and then an error pops up.

    Update to the latest NeoGamma:
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/219243-neogamma-r9-beta/

    And read the mini FAQ there. DVD-RWs are said to work on a few Wiis, but using them will kill your laser in a short time. Only use the highest quality media you can get, and that does not only apply to the Wii, that's a rule for all consoles.
     

Share This Page