I need Guidance :/

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by drakorex, Jan 19, 2011.

Jan 19, 2011

I need Guidance :/ by drakorex at 11:58 AM (2,848 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    First, a little about me: I am poor, and therefore cannot afford internet service. So I must resort to leeching wifi from where ever it comes from. The wifi signals I receive are unreliable at best. Sometimes I can connect, find, and download whatever I need, and other times I can go days without getting a usable connection. The wifi being as lousy as it is, I cannot connect with my Wii. (I'd like to save up to buy an LCD screen to mount to it, so I can just take it down to McDonald's, or something) >.>

    Now then... My Wii is 4.2U and I installed the homebrew channel. I been downloading EMUs, apps, and whatnot for a while now. Then I downloaded the Wiiflow setup after seeing it on Youtube. It came with a bunch of IOS and stuff for getting it to run properly. I used Darkcorp 1.1 like the guide told me to, then installed the wads in the wad folder using ios 36( hermes wads gave me an error message, but I think I managed to install them some how). So I been using Wiiflow and loving it (I don't yet have a EXT hard drive so I gotta run my games off a 16 GB SD card through a printer) Well when I first got the above SD card, I copied my larger games that I couldn't beforehand, and I noticed that Mortal Kombat Armageddon would reset the Wii after the controller screen. All my other games would load and play perfectly( Brawl hiccups a bit in the opening, any fixes?) So I looked it up and read about the MK7 dol, couldn't find it. I then downloaded Wiiflow 2.2, and MKA runs ok when I use the alt dol (There is no MK7 dol in the alt dols folder, curious...) On one version of Wiiflow 2.2 MKA hiccups on the intro, which bothers me, but on all that I've tried, Brawl now randomly black screens when I try to load it. So for now, I'm using 1.1 with the 2.2 folder contents, and my games seem to work fine. However, Some of the games I want to get (namely Monster Hunter Tri) Require updated IOSes to run. So I run Pimp my Wii and do the diagnostic, it tells me I need cIOS249_v20_(Base_IOS37_v3869), cIOS250_v20_(Base_IOS57_v5661) and Waninkoko's cIOS 249 Rev20 (is cIOSX_rev20b the same thing? Because that's what I come up with when I look for it). So I go to http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/cios/hermes-cios and download the Hermes with NUS, and after some trial and error because of bad hashes, the installer says they all installed successfully, yet when I run Pimp My Wii, it says that I haven't installed them. NOW when I try to install them again via the same method, the installer tries to get them from the SD card, fails and tries to initialize the network, and then crashes. I've tried reinstalling Cios 249 rev 19 and trying it again but it keeps crashing. Somebody Help Meh
     


  2. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You run your games through a printer?
     
  3. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    yes, SDcard/printer/Wii [​IMG]

    Posts merged

    yes, SDcard/printer/Wii [​IMG]
     
  4. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I wonder what kind of framerates you get on that. And how much paper it uses. [​IMG]


    More serious, though...there are a bunch of flaws in your logic. First...I don't know which guide you followed, but there is absolutely no need to get darkcorp if you're not planning on running backup discs through the disc channel. Like you said: it installs "a bunch of IOS and stuff". While this usually isn't much of a problem, it is a fact that the wii relies on "a bunch of IOS and stuff" to work, so messing with that stuff is only useful if you know what you're doing.

    USB loaders such as wiiflow, on the other hand, rely on custom IOS'es (or cIOS'es). Or, more precise: they allow you to assign (among others) the correct cIOS to use for each game you may have. And here's the thing where you went wrong: custom IOS'es are CUSTOM. They aren't supported by nintendo. In fact, nintendo tries to remove them with every update they send.

    Pimp my wii told you to get those versions. It's slightly outdated advice (there is a rev21 now), but otherwise very good. But...don't use NUS to download them. NUS retrieves only official IOS'es. There is an official IOS249, 250 and I believe a 222 and 223 as well...but they contain no code (=a stub). They're just placeholders, exactly designed by nintendo to prevent you from using cIOS'es. I think you already had "a" cIOS249 installed...and then used NUS to overwrite it with a version without code.

    Now...with all that installing of wads, IOS'es and cIOS'es, it's kinda hard to say what your wii is running right now. Would you please download and use syscheck? (random googled linky). After running it, it should generate a report of your IOS'es and cIOS'es. Please report that here. It'll give us an idea of what you can do to get that situation back under control. [​IMG]
     
  5. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    Well, here it is... (gulp)

    sysCheck v2.0 by Double_A
    ...runs on IOS58 (rev 6175).

    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.2 (v481)
    Hollywood v0x11
    Console ID: 116497054
    Boot2 v4

    Found 132 titles.
    Found 50 IOS on this console. 4 of them are stub.

    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS12 (rev 269): No Patches
    IOS13 (rev 273): No Patches
    IOS14 (rev 520): No Patches
    IOS15 (rev 1031): No Patches
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
    IOS17 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS20 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS21 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS22 (rev 1037): No Patches
    IOS28 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS30 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS31 (rev 3349): No Patches
    IOS33 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS34 (rev 3348): No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify
    IOS36 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS38 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS40 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS41 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS43 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS45 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS46 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS48 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS50 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS53 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS55 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS56 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS57 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS58 (rev 6175): No Patches
    IOS60 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS61 (rev 5405): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS80 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS202 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS222 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS223 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS224 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS236 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS247 (rev 20): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS248 (rev 20): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS249 (rev 19): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v65535

    Report generated on 2011/01/19.
     
  6. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Well...I can't comment on what crash reports you had earlier, but it seems to me like you installed everything that could have been needed. Now...when you run wiiflow and check the settings of the game that doesn't work...there should be an option called "cIOS". Try choosing the different available options and running the game with that. I think at least one of those should work. [​IMG]
     
  7. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    well, thing is I wanna update all my ioses anyway, so I don't have any issues with games I get in the future. I just can't track 'em all down. :/
     
  8. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    IOS'es or cIOS'es? Once again: if you're going to keep using USB loaders, there is absolutely no point in getting all your IOS'es updated (you're not going to use them anyhow).

    Still...if you insist:
    For IOS'es, I'd use modmii. Download all the IOS'es in wad form, and use a wad manager (YAWMM can install a whole batch of 'em at the same time...other wad managers work just as well) to install them. (keep in mind that this will absolutely undo your darkcorp installation, and remove the trucha bug from those IOS'es...so playing backup discs won't work).

    For cIOS'es: get Waninkoko's latest rev here and make sure you install them to slots you can remember*.
    Getting Hermes's cIOS'es is probably easiest by downloading the latest uloader. You don't have to install the loader...just the cIOS'es is fine (when asked, use default settings).


    Modmii can also download the latest MIOS (for gamecube stuff) and the latest versions of channels. But once again: these don't really mean that much if you don't need them.


    *I have mine as follows:
    245=base IOS 38
    246=base IOS 56
    247=base IOS 57
    248=base IOS 58
    249=rev17
     
  9. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    IOS =/ CIOS (they are DIFFERENT)

    A IOS is "legally" a: both stub OR library needed by games.

    You want USB Loader right? Then get a CIOS, NOT A IOS

    Both good CIOS (to my preferred setup) are:

    CIOS Hermes installer rev4 (202-222-223-224)

    CIOS Waninkoko rev21 (249-250)


    Then, when you installed them (you´ll need WIFI to get teh package installation of CIOS need, OR get the proper WADS )

    A wad is, like a package of a bunch of stuff. They can be installed through Wad Managers, like Waninkoko´s WAD Manager 1.7.

    Wads are like .zip files which install them directly inside your wii (channels, forwarders, VC, etc) of course that´s ilegal to do, but it´s up to you.

    So, you need:

    A Loader (you can start using Wii flow), a USB device properly formatted to WBFS (so you can install games on in later) and a CIOS. I strongly suggest you that install Waninkoko rev19 CIOS 249 @ IOS Base 56.

    Then when you run Wiiflow from your wii, it `ll detect any USB Devices connected. Remember, Wiiflow /any loader will run of CIOS 249, unless the very usb loader says the opposite, like "CFG_USB_LOADER-222.dol" which will run off CIOS 222. (If you don`t event have a CIOS ready, loader will kick you out)
     
  10. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    Hey thanks alot. BTW, does anyone know where I can find cios 249 rev 20b?
     
  11. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    scratch that, found it. How about a forwarder for the psycho app instead? [​IMG]
     
  12. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I take it back, I have the 249 rev 20 installer, but I can't find the wad [​IMG]
     
  13. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    ok, cool. So I guess I'd get in trouble for discussing something like where I can find Retro city rampage wad, huh? [​IMG]
     
  14. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Sure would.
     
  15. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    On that note, would someone be able to recommend a forum where that would be acceptable?
     
  16. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I do believe that would also be against the rules (linking to a warez site?). However, I may be mistaken.
     
  17. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    can't even mention it? I'm not trying to circumvent the rules or anything, just trying to find acceptable ground to tread. >.>
     
  18. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States

    Why, why, why??? Forget WBFS, just use FAT32!!! WiiGameManager can split isos to
     
  19. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I've seen links of those other forums being removed as well (except when this source is linked to). It's best to keep a "don't shit where you eat" policy here. Get your illegal stuff elsewhere, then come here to get it working with all legal means possible.

    Besides...retro city rampage is scheduled to be released in the 3rd quarter of 2011. Good luck finding a wad of it now. [​IMG]
     
  20. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Instead of twoc'ing bandwith to find a wad, try using it to run an app that uses 'clean' IOS's
     

Share This Page