Hacking I need a push in the right direction

vengfulr3ap3r

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi there, so im aware this has probably been asked many dozens of times. and that there are many guides that are stickied. But i just have some simple questions before ill be able to know which guides to use and so ill have some idea where to start searching. so i apologize in advance for wasting any of your time. and please avoid flaming me. im normally a lurker and i just search for what i need and i tend to always find it. but i am a newbie to hacking/modding, and i just need somewhere to start.

anyways on with my questions.

what are the pros and cons of chip moding vs softmoding a wii?
so far all i know is that chip molding is pretty much 100% compatible with backups and firmware updates don't disable it as with soft molding. but thats about all i know so far.

also will i need to find an older system on some place such as bay or something? because i read something in a forum on here that said something about the mobo being changed so you couldn't use a mod chip (not sure what the person was talking about because thats the only time i've read it and idk if its true or not.)

what is the best modchip to use and why.
i know its more of the user preference but please tell me what you would chose and why if its not to much trouble.

oh and lastly solderless vs solder, is there really any difference other than the obvious?

Thanks in advanace

-D

Guild McCommunist

(not on boat)
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Chipmodding is I guess generally "better" and safer, but at the cost of forcing you to crack open your Wii, not to mention the cost of buying the chip and installing it. Softmodding requires nothing more than a SD card, although you can use certain games to do the hack as well (Twilight Princess, SSBB, Lego Indiana Jones).

I'm not getting your second question.