I know this is some what stupid but

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by DoctorSmash, Mar 11, 2013.

Mar 11, 2013
  1. DoctorSmash
    OP

    Member DoctorSmash GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    I have a r4i gold card. And I want to know if I'm playing a game can I exit back to the manu?
     
  2. RodrigoDavy

    Member RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yes, in the options menu there is a part where you can choose a button combination to go back to menu from the game/homebrew. (try looking for soft-reset or something)
     
  3. DoctorSmash
    OP

    Member DoctorSmash GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    I have tried that it does not work :/
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    IIRC if it's buttons a game wouldn't respond to then they won't work for soft-reset (since it tells the DS to ignore them). Try making it a combo of buttons you can press at that point in time to do stuff.
     
  5. DoctorSmash
    OP

    Member DoctorSmash GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    Ok thanks for the help it works now.
     
  6. Whipple

    Member Whipple GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't know that about the game telling the DS to ignore certain buttons.
    Tried the soft reset - didn't work - assumed it was a bug and kept using the power button for a reset.
    Armed with your new information, it works just fine.

    Thanks for the info, Rydian! (And for your "somewhat stupid" question DoctorSmash.)
    Thid is where this forum shines, people helping people (and everyone reading that post).
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah the DS is still sort of a "dumb" system when compared to modern ones, so it still does stuff like this where the running program has almost full control over the hardware since it has no OS or anything running over the game.
     
  8. DoctorSmash
    OP

    Member DoctorSmash GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    The DS was a good system. For its time but I like the 3ds over all.
     
  9. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,638
    Country:
    United States
    I had the hardest time getting that to work with my original R4.
     

Share This Page