Hacking I just got a PSP 3001, v6.35! What now?

Smash Br0

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello! I've been frequenting GBAtemp for a while now, but I've only been into the DS and Wii until today. I found a great deal on a model 3001 v6.35 PSP - for $83.00, I got the system itself (in perfect condition), the charging cable, a 1GB memory stick, "Metal Gear Acid", and two carrying cases (one bulky and one slim).

Anyhow, I'm completely new to the PSP, so I'd really appreciate it if you could direct me to the latest guides and information. I'll be looking through some of the stickies here while I wait for your responses, but I've read they're a bit outdated...

Here's my PSP to-do list:

- Find the most up-to-date and detailed guides
- Find one or two dedicated PSP hacking websites that stay active
- Get it hacked / install custom firmware
- Get it running emulators and homebrew
- Find a good price on a bigger memory stick

Now, to start off with: Did I make a good choice getting the v6.35 3001 model? I've read that it wasn't easily hackable until recently. What do I gain and lose with a 3001 versus an older model?

Also, will hacking my PSP keep me from using it with my unhacked PS3 Slim? I like the PSN (when it's not down), so I keep it hack-free. I've read that there's some nice interconnected features between the PSP and PS3, such as being able to download certain PSN games to the PSP from PS3... I hope hacking the PSP doesn't compromise that?

Thanks VERY much for any advice you will offer! I'm looking forward to using my PSP as much as my DS.
smile.gif

gabriel769

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States