I just format my SD card but the system won't boot

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by Verixon1905, May 2, 2017.

  1. Verixon1905
    OP

    Verixon1905 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    3
    May 2, 2017
    Thailand
    I need a help, yesterday I format my FAT32 SD card and copy everything back to the SD card but my system won't boot. It just run a blue light for 1 sec and gone. I spent lots of hour on fixing this but still no hope. I don't really good at doing this thing please help.:(

    Ps. Already try to reinstall the arm9loader but luma also didn't boot for me
     
  2. Jhnsn

    Jhnsn *Flat is Justice*

    Member
    239
    118
    Sep 1, 2016
    Australia
    You're a magician if you can reinstall the arm9loader lol.


    Just put the arm9loaderhax.bin from luma on the root of the sd and boot. Or clean your sd card slot.
     
    VictorMoreno015 and adrifcastr like this.
  3. Verixon1905
    OP

    Verixon1905 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    3
    May 2, 2017
    Thailand
    I already try that but nothing boot for me
     
  4. DjoeN

    DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Member
    5,207
    1,503
    Oct 21, 2005
    Belgium
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Questions:
    - Was your system hacked with A9LH?
    - Do you use emunand or sysnand?
    - How did you format? (program you used/settings)
    - Did you copy ALL files to your computer as backup and did you copy ALL files back?
    - Does you system boot when you hold SELECT and then power it on?
    - Does you system boot when you hold START and then power it on (must go to Luma payloads)?
    -
     
    Last edited by DjoeN, May 2, 2017
  5. Verixon1905
    OP

    Verixon1905 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    3
    May 2, 2017
    Thailand
    - Don't sure how to check?
    - Right click and select format lol
    - yes

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Already try that but nothing boot for me lol
    How to clean the sd card slot? Format it again?
     
  6. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    12,509
    5,472
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    Are you sure you formatted it to FAT32? If it's bigger than 32GB you can't use Windows' format tool.
     
  7. Verixon1905
    OP

    Verixon1905 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    3
    May 2, 2017
    Thailand
    I mean i format from FAT32 to NTFS

    Sorry for bad english
     
  8. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    12,509
    5,472
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    You can't use NTFS on the 3DS, nor ExFAT. Only FAT32 will work.
     
  9. Verixon1905
    OP

    Verixon1905 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    3
    May 2, 2017
    Thailand
    Yes I hold SELECT and no response and also was START.
     
  10. DjoeN

    DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Member
    5,207
    1,503
    Oct 21, 2005
    Belgium
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Like posted a few posts above, you need to format to FAT32 Not NTFS
     
  11. Verixon1905
    OP

    Verixon1905 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    3
    May 2, 2017
    Thailand
    I just know this...
    If I format it into FAT32 and put Arm9loaderhax.bin in my SD card root again will it work???

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Just knowing this so If I want to copy a game which have a larger file than 4gb what should I do with it?
     
  12. DjoeN

    DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Member
    5,207
    1,503
    Oct 21, 2005
    Belgium
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    there aren't any bigger then 4GB games as far as i know
     
  13. Verixon1905
    OP

    Verixon1905 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    3
    May 2, 2017
    Thailand
    There is Monster Hunter that is exactly 4gb lol
     
  14. V0ltr0n

    V0ltr0n GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    467
    267
    Jan 5, 2016
    United States
    Monster hunter isn't even 4gb iirc. There are some that are close, 3.5gb etc, but none at a solid 4.

    Your sd MUST be fat32 to work like everyone said. Also, attempting to install a9lh over a system with a9lh already installed will result in a brick if i remember right. So let's hope you didn't actually do that.
     
  15. Verixon1905
    OP

    Verixon1905 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    3
    May 2, 2017
    Thailand
    Hey guys everything works normally now thanks for helping me :)
     
    The Real Jdbye, DjoeN and nitroBW like this.
  16. V0ltr0n

    V0ltr0n GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    467
    267
    Jan 5, 2016
    United States
    Good to hear.
     
  17. adrifcastr

    adrifcastr GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,798
    838
    Sep 12, 2016
    Germany
    Well I'd be insterested in how he would have removed the arm9loader. getting it back shouldn't be that hard iirc its just a layer of security Applied to the nand and not a SoC but I can also be completely wrong on that. haven't read into the 3ds hardware in a while