1. anthony001

    OP anthony001 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Country:
    it came with a 4.1.0 firmware i checked the serial number on the sticky but couldnt find mine in there. I was wondering if my switch is hackable since from my understanding recently switch has an unhackable patch.
    Is there any way to determine if my switch is hackable?

    also if ever my switch is hackable what is the first thing i should do?
     
  2. gamer4lif3

    gamer4lif3 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    492
    Country:
    United States
    Obviously try and enter rcm and send payload.
     
  3. anthony001

    OP anthony001 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Country:
    can you give me direction on how to enter rcm and send payload?
     
  4. CrAzYLiFe

    CrAzYLiFe Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    Australia
    Sure just send it to me I'll check it for you...

    Just have a quick look around the website or even google, sometimes its quicker/easier or even better for you to have a look for yourself rather then relying on others ;)
     
  5. anthony001

    OP anthony001 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Country:
    i just checked and theres no way to enter rcm without jig from my understanding. is there other way to confirm if my switch is hackable
     
  6. mariogamer

    mariogamer GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Canada
    You don't need a jig. Just something that conduct current.
     
  7. anakinvm

    anakinvm GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    United States
    You can just use a paperclip, it's not recommended as it may damage the pins with prolonged use but you just want to test rcm so it'd be a one time thing
     
  8. 8BitWonder

    8BitWonder Small Homebrew Dev
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,344
    Country:
    United States
    You can make a makeshift jig out of a paper clip, it might take a bit of bending and adjusting, but mine has worked pretty well so far.
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/paperclip-rcm-jig.502087/

    Edit: Ninja'd
     
    Lacius likes this.
  9. shchmue

    shchmue Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    780
    Country:
    United States
    I used a safety pin to ground pin 10 to the back of its housing. the instructions are somewhere here, it wasn't easy but it worked.
     
  10. Priyam

    Priyam GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    India
    Safety pin always does the trick for me every time. It's easy it's fast. There is a thread for it.
     
  11. Canna

    Canna Bad Ass Poisonous Mushroom
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,379
    Country:
    United States
    andijames likes this.
  12. bundat

    bundat ¿
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    454
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I just use a piece of copper wire I bent to be slightly wider than the joycon rail.
    Softer than a paperclip so I'm not too worried about damaging or wearing out my pins, but it's firm enough to keep its shape.
    I just slide it down the rail like a joycon, and it instantly bridges pins 1 and 10.

    Screen Shot 2018-08-05 at 9.58.19 PM.jpg

    Just googling "rcm gbatemp" gives this list as the first result:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/the-ultimate-list-of-mods-to-enter-rcm.502145/
     
  13. anthony001

    OP anthony001 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Country:
    will there be a way to enter rcm mode without short circuiting the pin or whatever its called or without buying any third party hardware like a dongle?
     
  14. isoboy

    isoboy GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1,091
    Country:
    United States
    Stop confusing this poor human being. I recommend "paper foil".
     
    roamin and Zonark like this.
  15. Albytrozz

    Albytrozz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    United States
    Short reply: No.

    And if the pin thing seems too difficult or something you're not willing to risk then you're playing the wrong game man... it gets way more dangerous than that when you start messing with the NAND and stuff, maybe hacking the Switch might not be for you if you're just looking to push a few buttons and have a fully hacked Switch. Just the fact they discovered the RCM exploit was a miracle in itself and probably shaved years off of finding a way into the system. If putting a paperclip in the right place is too complicated or risky for you then enjoy Splatoon 2!
     
    Last edited by Albytrozz, Aug 5, 2018
  16. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    16,477
    Country:
    United States
    You only have to do it once. After that, you can install AutoRCM, which will cause your system to always boot into RCM on each coldboot.
     
  17. a9lh-1user

    a9lh-1user Newbie

    .......and could lead to a brick!
     
  18. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    16,477
    Country:
    United States
    AutoRCM is technically a softbrick in and of itself. However, AutoRCM is unlikely to cause an actual brick.
     
  19. a9lh-1user

    a9lh-1user Newbie

    Why is it marked as "Dangerous" in red and most peoeple say it has to be used with caution?

    [​IMG]
     
    Albytrozz likes this.
  20. shchmue

    shchmue Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    780
    Country:
    United States
    because it's technically a brick and it means you're tethered to an injector if the switch ever powers off or battery dies or any homebrew crashes which is inevitable
     
  21. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3,217
    Country:
    United States
    Probably wouldn't be useful for you, but 1.0.0 does have a way of entering RCM without shorting pin 10 :P
     
    Albytrozz likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - splatoon, bundled, bought