I installed BootMii...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by CHUNKYBOWSER, May 30, 2009.

May 30, 2009

I installed BootMii... by CHUNKYBOWSER at 11:54 PM (1,501 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. CHUNKYBOWSER
    OP

    Newcomer CHUNKYBOWSER Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    But not as a boot2, I just open it from the Homebrew Channel. Does that mean if I brick my Wii I can't recover anything with BootMii? Should I reinstall BootMii as a boot2? I have a LU10 Wii. (Launch)
     
  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, you'll need it at boot2 for it to give you brick protection. You can install it as both IOS and boot2 if you want.
     
  3. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If you can install it as boot2, you really should do that.
    only that will provide the full brick protection (but only if you already have created a nand backup)
     
  4. CHUNKYBOWSER
    OP

    Newcomer CHUNKYBOWSER Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    Can I create a nand backup with BootMii?
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes. In the bootmii menu (control it with a gamecube controller or the power & reset button on wii) you can create a backup. It will create a nand.bin file on SD, 528MB in size.
     
  6. WiiThoko

    Member WiiThoko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, that's kind of the whole point of BootMii.
    edit:dangit, someone posted at the same time as me...
     
  7. g4jek8j54

    Member g4jek8j54 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    459
    Country:
    United States
    BootMii as an IOS will offer some ability to restore things, but only if you have access to the Homebrew Channel. As already stated, BootMii as boot2 is best for brick protection, assuming that you have the ability to install it as boot2.

    Yes, you can. Remember, you must do that first in order to restore the NAND later.
     
  8. CHUNKYBOWSER
    OP

    Newcomer CHUNKYBOWSER Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    OK, I downloaded the Hackmii folder again with Bootmii on it. Where do I put it on my SD card to install it again?
     
  9. WiiThoko

    Member WiiThoko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    In the apps folder of your SD card. Remember to change the name of the installer.elf to boot.elf though...
     
  10. g4jek8j54

    Member g4jek8j54 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    459
    Country:
    United States
    If you are using the Homebrew Channel, unzip the 'hackmii_installer_beta2' file, place the 'hackmii_installer_beta2' folder inside of the first one into the 'apps' folder of your SD card, and rename 'installer.elf' to 'boot.elf'.
     
  11. CHUNKYBOWSER
    OP

    Newcomer CHUNKYBOWSER Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks guys, I installed the boot2 and I'm backing up my nand right now.

    Are bad blocks actually bad? XD I've got four and I'm not even half way through.
     
  12. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
  13. CHUNKYBOWSER
    OP

    Newcomer CHUNKYBOWSER Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    OK, thanks, all these bad blocks were worrying me. xD

    Thanks to everyone again for the help!
     
  14. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Having some bad blocks is normal. Flash memory chips are complicated things. They're pre-marked as bad so they won't be used
     
  15. WiiThoko

    Member WiiThoko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, I've got a quick question. I know having bad blocks isn't bad, but what about having only one bad block? Is that fine?
     
  16. g4jek8j54

    Member g4jek8j54 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    459
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, that is fine. Anything less than eighty is considered to be normal.
     
  17. emachine

    Newcomer emachine Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Philippines
    i have successfully installed bootmii v2 and had a backup of my 3.2U wii. then i have just upgraded my wii into 4.0. i also want to have a backup of my 4.0 wii. question, can i use the same sd card with my 3.2 backup to create a new backup of my 4.0? will bootmii create a new file name for my 4.0 NAND or will it just overwrite the 3.2? TIA

    ***sorry mod, just posted my query to another thread here at the forum... just delete my post here. thanks****
     
  18. bnm81002

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States

    so the backup will be done automatically? I don't have to create a bin folder on the root of my SDHC card?
     

Share This Page