I have no mouth and i must scream

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by RoboClover, Jul 23, 2008.

Jul 23, 2008
  1. RoboClover
    OP

    Newcomer RoboClover Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, i wasnt sure where to post this..

    So i was wandering around a site called cyberpunk reviews and came across an awesome looking game called 'I have no mouth and i must scream'...its kind of based on the story of the same name by Harlan Ellison.

    I tried to download it...got some kind of strange thing called a torrent that im not really familiar with...it sent it to my limewire. It downloaded there after the download finished, i found it in the usual place files i download from limewire go as a folder: 'I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream (1 cd)'. Inside i found a .bin file called 'NoMouth' and a .cue (never heard of it) file called 'NoMouth'.

    I dont know what to do with these or how to run the game...its supposed to be for windows and DOS (again, no idea what that is). If anyone could let me know how to get this game running, what to do with these files, or what they're supposed to be it'd be much appreciated...I really want to play this game!

    In the meantime im gonna go read the story. Thanks!
     
  2. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    Install Daemon Tools and mount the .cue file with it, it will appear as a regular disc -CD/DVD- in your PC.
     
  3. ImpulsE69

    Newcomer ImpulsE69 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    The Pits Of Hades
    Country:
    United States
    This is a great game. Very dark for when it came out. You need a dos emulator to run it (the .bin file is a image of the cd). If you google about how to get the dos games to run, it should lead you to the things you need. Have fun!
     
  4. RoboClover
    OP

    Newcomer RoboClover Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    wow quick response. You know the dark aspect is kinda what attracted me to the game.

    Thanks guys, i'll try that out and let you know how it goes..
     
  5. Pimpmynintendo

    Member Pimpmynintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    Theres a card game based on this forgot the name of it though it was really fun.
     
  6. Javacat

    Member Javacat GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Once you've mounted the games .bin file using Daemon tools you should try copying all of the files off of the CD into a folder on your hard drive, then download and install the latest version of ScummVM. You should then be able to add the game to ScummVM and play it pretty much perfectly in whatever operating system you are currently using.

    Support for ihnm is pretty recent in ScummVM, so for the best compatibility you will probably be best of using one of the daily builds available at the bottom of this page.
     
  7. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    IHNM is now supported by ScummVM!? Holy hell. I hadn't ever had the chance to play this game, but it is one that stuck out in my memory! Uhm.... is there any chance ScummWii will play it? *crosses fingers* (i doubt it, but still, i can dream... no?)

    Mmm, i might have to get some retro play on this weekend with this game.

    Oh, and it's one of the MOST memorable titles ever.
     
  8. RoboClover
    OP

    Newcomer RoboClover Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    ok it took a while but i finally worked out how to install the game. but i've kinda run into a problem

    i had to get daemontools to read the .cue file so it would become a disk drive and show all the game files. then i had to mount that drive in DOSbox and run 'install.exe'. everything was going fine but i kinda ran into a hitch at the configure sound driver part...im not sure which one to pick or how to determine which one to pick. any suggestions?

    other than that, after skipping the sound driver part, i can get the game to run...but of course theres no sound. i dont really want to plat it like that so i havent yet...

    oh, btw, i'm using the small intallation...i cant get the big one because my 2nd disk drive with all the free space doesnt show up on the options of what disk to install the game on...dunno if that's doing anything but thought i'd mention it..

    anyways, im pretty close to being able to play this game...i want to all the more because i read the story last night and it was great!

    so if anyone has any suggestions as to how to solve this sound problem, and how to get my other disk drive to show up on installation i should be fine

    thanks, as always
     
  9. ImpulsE69

    Newcomer ImpulsE69 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    The Pits Of Hades
    Country:
    United States
    Just choose Soundblaster Compatible...(or soundblaster pro?) ...that should work. midi just use defaults. You really should get ScummVM though. It runs it better and I think its easier to configure.
     
  10. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Wow, this guy is the biggest noob ever, and not one of you guys made fun of him! I'm proud of you, GBAtemp.net!

    No offense of calling you a noob, I didn't mean it in a derogatory way
     
  11. RoboClover
    OP

    Newcomer RoboClover Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    0.o....

    that hurts.
     
  12. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    I didn't mean it in a bad way, I just mean that you don't know a lot about computers, which, around here, usually gets you made fun of. Don't take offense, I didn't mean to offend!
     
  13. RoboClover
    OP

    Newcomer RoboClover Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    ok, you guys were right about scummvm, i downloaded that and along with using daemontools, i got the game running perfectly in a matter of minutes.

    thanks so much! ima go play now
     

Share This Page