I have done some stupid things, please help solving

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by fatsausage, Jan 23, 2010.

  1. fatsausage
    OP

    Newcomer fatsausage Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    First of all, Thanks for your reading, here is my problem

    I bought my Japanese Wii on Jan 2007, and I stick to JP original games these years

    Recent weeks, after learning that a Wii can be modded to play US titles without hard modding, I gave it a try

    (I am not a pure dumb in doing this kind of work, e.g. I modded my PSP, patching PS2 games to play on HDL etc)

    but since I am lazy, I did not study the whole system structure and the modding theory behind it. Here are the general steps I've done modding my wii

    1. downloading a package with lots of stuff, some cIOSs (sorry dunno what is it), some WADs (these are programs right??).
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I put them in a SD Card

    2. Then I start my Wii ( I think it's 4.1j), then start SD card
    3. then I install HBC, DVDx and BootMii on Boot2
    4. Using HBC to run Trucha Bug Restorer
    5. Chose IOS36, downgrade IOS 15, using IOS15v523 and IOS15v257 from the sd card
    6. re-run trucha bug restorer, chose IOS15, inside the IOS36 menu, choosing "YES" for 3 options
    7. load IOS36v3351 from SDcard
    8. Running Trucha Bug again, chose IOS 36, then Restore IOS15
    9. Using Wad Manger 1.5, uninstall IOS222v65280 IOS223v65280 IOS249v65280 IOS250v65280
    10. Install IOS222v4, IOS223v4, IOS249rev14, IOS250rev14
    11. pressing Home button and leave

    after doing these steps, I can play backup games and games of different region

    one day, someone updated 4.2j and I can't start anything from HBC now, screen simply goes black
    I can still play original games

    what should I do, hmm, I'd like to unmod, cleanup the whole system and start all over

    Thank you so so much for reading this and helping

    Andrew
     
  2. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,658
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    your cIOS has been over written. 4.2 will install ios's to slot 222, 223, 249, and 250. use DOP-IOS Mod, and remove the stubs and reinstall the ones you have.

    MAKE A BACKUP OF YOUR NAND WITH BOOTMII when you get this back to working properly. then you can always roll back if necessary. install priiloader as well and block updates.

    Use this guide to reinstall you cIOS files HBC is fine if it is still on your system menu, it probably is using JODI instead of HAXX

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901
     
  3. cwstjdenobs

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use bannerbomb to reinstall the HBC. I'm guessing it used an IOS for the last install that is now a stub due to the upgrade.

    Can I just ask, why not use a loader for region free, it's much less risky than region changing?

    Edit: Didn't read properly, thought he said the HBC black screened, not apps launched from it.
     
  4. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
  5. fatsausage
    OP

    Newcomer fatsausage Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Thank you for all your replies, will test it later since I am out of home
     

Share This Page