I have a DS fat, if I buy an AceKard 2i, will it run Colors! ?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Repgahroll, Feb 5, 2010.

  1. Repgahroll
    OP

    Newcomer Repgahroll Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hello there! [​IMG]

    I have an old NDS (fat), and I really want to run the homebrew called "Colors!", However, the only flashcart available in my Country is the AceKard 2i (of course, there are tons of cheap R4 clones and m3i very overpriced, so the only smart option is this one).

    However, a friend of mine said that Colors! doesn't support DSi touch pressure, and I want to know if it will run flawlessly on a NDS fat. Can someone say if it will?

    I don't know if there's an AceKard, Colors! or DSi issue actually, the only thing that I know is such combinations doesn't work flawlessly because of the touch pressure. But I don't know what happens with a DS instead of a DSi.

    Thanks in advance and sorry my english.

    [​IMG] - cool emoticon [​IMG]
     
  2. KevInChester

    Member KevInChester GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All I can say is I run Colors on a DS Lite using an Acekard, no problems at all.
     
  3. Matthew

    Member Matthew GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    508
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't have a DS phat or an Acekard, but unless theres something wrong with the DLDI driver it should work.
     
  4. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    The pressure sensor is gone from the DSi...
     
  5. geoflcl

    Member geoflcl Permanent GBAtemp Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373
    Country:
    United States
    Really??? I'm quite surprised at that!

    OnToPiC: Sure, there's no reason why the DS Phat wouldn't work.
     
  6. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Colors! v1.06h downloaded from your link works fine on My DS Lite/ Acekard 2i.

    edit:

    I Checked and if I go into the calibration settings I do get different values in the "press here" box depending on how hard I press.
     
  7. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ooh, that was a bad move...

    Anyway...repeating, but yeah, should be fine.
     
  8. Advi

    Member Advi GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,143
    Country:
    United States
    I used to have a Phat as well. Both models have a pressure sensor so it should work just fine.
     
  9. Repgahroll
    OP

    Newcomer Repgahroll Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Brazil
    Many thanks guys!

    Oh man! Really helpful! [​IMG] I think there's no big difference between an DS fat and a Lite. Thank you! [​IMG]
     
  10. Repgahroll
    OP

    Newcomer Repgahroll Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Brazil
    Just one more simple question (i don't thinks it's worth to open a new thread to ask this). On AceKard webpage it's written that it doesn't support the DS brightness (only the four DSL brightness levels), so it isn't possible to turn the backlight off on DS?
     
  11. obito

    Member obito I can have a title?! :O

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    New Zealand
    ^ don't think so, can't turn off mine... =/ it worked on old ak2's.. but AK still owns.

    edit: downloaded, and realised theres a GBA file too! pretty sweet!
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No you can't turn the backlight off, but the DSi itself has a shortcut for editing the brightness (using the volume controls while holding select) that works everywhere, and the lowest setting is pretty dim. There's 5 settings, too.
     
  13. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you run a game like SM64DS, you actually can turn the backlight off from the game's setting menu.
     
  14. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    The orig. DS can have its backlight turned off from its boot-up configuration screen. Just tap the sun, then boot the Slot-1 cart.
     
  15. Sumea

    Member Sumea Disco Ninja Frog

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,315
    Location:
    Turku
    Country:
    Finland
    Just saying by all honesty - How it is bad move?

    NDS never used the Pressure detection. aside the whole array of software, only one homebrew what nin10doh does not support any way used it.

    No official game software or anything used it (and neither it was available in SDK if I do not guess wrong) - so if they say, removed that part of touch screen tech making it still function same way in normal NDS software but be cheaper, why the heck they wouldn't do that.

    Just saying that not supporting one homebrew software they really do not want to be in existence does not make removing pressure detection a bad move as what I think...

    just saying.
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    People say that the DSi's touch screen feels "harder" and that there's "less give" in it now.
     
  17. Inunah

    Banned Inunah The Female Mistaken for a Male.

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Colors worked on my DS Phat without any issues at all besides my horrible drawing skills. The touch pressure stuff worked great, and the homebrew worked exactly as videos showed it did.
     
  18. Randamin

    Member Randamin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Laredo, TX
    Country:
    United States
    By the looks of this the DSi XL wont be having pressure sensitive screen which is a major
    bummer because the larger screen could make for more intricate drawings

    As for the backlight a trick to turn the screen off during all games using an acekard
    is to play an
    1.mp3 file using the ipod clone
    2.wait for the screen to turn off
    3. press start while the backlight is off

    if done correctly it should return to the menu with the backlight turned off where
    you can select any other game with the backlight turned off.
     
  19. AAcrazyman

    Member AAcrazyman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    I have an Acekard 2.1 and I have had no problems running any homebrews! (except SSBR but lotz of people cant run that bloody game!)
    The Acekard 2i in my opinion it is the best flashcard on the market! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page