I have a 8GB but the r4 is just loading. help please

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by animedude4live, Jun 25, 2008.

  1. animedude4live
    OP

    Newcomer animedude4live Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah I have bought a 8GB micro sd and I did the think to let the r4 work but it wont work.
    If you have the same problem or do you know how to please response
     


  2. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    The R4 doesn't support microSDHC memorycards. The largest microSD's you're able to use with it are 2GB ones..
     
  3. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    The R4 does not support SDHC (> 4GB, usually 2GB).

    You should've known that when you bought it...

    (Main reason why the R4 is such an outdated but still overpriced card)
     
  4. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    R4 does not work with cards above 2GB.
     
  5. Ridefreak

    Newcomer Ridefreak Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Germany
    The R4 card doesn´t support SDHC - micro SD cards.

    Ride
     
  6. animedude4live
    OP

    Newcomer animedude4live Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ok thank for the information
     
  7. Upperleft

    Member Upperleft Namcoholic

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,049
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    and get a ttds or an AceKard2 if you don't wanna throw your 8gb away =D
    they're much better than the R4 too
     
  8. Music_Lord

    Newcomer Music_Lord Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Hickville, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Buy a CycloDS. [​IMG]
     
  9. Goodlogic

    Newcomer Goodlogic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Country:
    United States
    Guys there is a R4DS V3 which I bought off of Amazon which DOES in fact use HDSC cards I have a 4 and 8 gig and their working fine.
     
  10. jos7960

    Member jos7960 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thats a fake R4 and a firmware update in September will brick your DS. So buy a M3 Real!
     
  11. sylux92

    Member sylux92 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    It may brick your ds. It will brick the fake cart.
     
  12. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No it wont brick your DS.
     
  13. Jeda

    Member Jeda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    They sell flash cards at amazon now?
     
  14. SonicRax

    Member SonicRax Egg-Mayo: The Movie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well um like everyone said, sadly R4DS doesn't take any SDHC cards. I read somewhere that it does take any 4GB card that isn't SDHC, but apparently the game plays kinda choppy, and I haven't seen any of those cards floating around. ._.
    In any case, if you want a flashcard that does take SDHC cards, I'm guessing an M3 Real, Cyclo DS or DSTT would be the best choices for such.
     
  15. pokemongalaxy

    Banned pokemongalaxy Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    717
    Country:
    Canada
    it was mentioned a billion times, r4 is nonsdhc support, meaning cards 4gb and up wont work on it. Get a ttds or something so your card works!!! [​IMG]
     
  16. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, the M3 Real has M3 Sakura.
    Buy it, you won't regret it.
     
  17. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They have been for over a year.
     
  18. Goodlogic

    Newcomer Goodlogic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Country:
    United States
    Well Ill bet my DS there will be a way around this. Everything can be hacked. I had no Idea I had a Fake one until the other day but it works and I have a shit load of media and games and music on it. I really hope someone fixes this cause i dont make enough to get a new R4 or DS for that matter. Fingers crossed
     
  19. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i spoke to a few people who run retail outlets who in turn talk to the r4 distributors and r4 reps. they told me that no one has heard of any such firmware update that will brick r4 clones. there has been no official announcement to any distributor or warnings of any kind. what you are all so scared about is a bit of internet hype posted on a chinese forum and blown way out of control by all of the misinformed kids who then pass on the information as fact.

    there will be no firmware update on sept 15th.

    enjoy your clone if you like it =)

    -another world
     
  20. Goodlogic

    Newcomer Goodlogic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Country:
    United States
    Your so right. "Chang...Chang rets make rittle American white boys go crazy and buy new L4DS carts because we tell them plobrems come soon. HA HAH HA HA HAHA
    Then we can buy more rice for fatha in the maaket.
     

Share This Page