i have 2 weather and 2 news channels help please!!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by hotchef, Aug 14, 2007.

Aug 14, 2007
  1. hotchef
    OP

    Newcomer hotchef Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have on my Wii home page, 2 news channels, and 2 weather channels. But only 1 of each work.
    I have updated to 3.0 firmware.
    I have a pal machine (uk)
    I have wii key installed

    I think it happened whilst playing super mario, everything else on the machine is great.

    how can i remove these channels

    please help

    Chef
     
  2. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    are you talking about super paper mario?
     
  3. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I also have the same problem but dont wanna format the system (which i think is the only solution)
     
  4. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    pick them up with a+b and move them to the next channel page, now you wont see them anymore.

    this is caused by using a ntsc update on a pal console. like with the pokemon game.
     
  5. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that's why i was asking if he was playing super mario from the VC or super paper mario from the USA, and you should NEVER update your Wii from another region, there is tools available to remove such updates so you can avoid this, i'm surprised that his Wii is even working as super paper mario is known for completely killing a PAL Wii if they let the update install.
     
  6. 1337Nemo

    Member 1337Nemo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Germany
    many people installed the update without problems. You just need version 2.2e [​IMG]
     
  7. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    don't mislead please, the update will only be "fine" if you have a internet connection and even then you shouldn't install it full stop.
     
  8. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    installed 3.0 latest update. then put in pokemon usa version, it asked for update, i press ok, and presto i have 2 weather and 2 news channels [​IMG]
     
  9. hotchef
    OP

    Newcomer hotchef Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    YOU CANT MOVE THE FILES IN AND OUT IF YOU DONT HAVE A LOAD OF GAMES BROUGHT

    WILL FORMATING WORK

    THANKS

    CHEF
     
  10. NeXsus

    Newcomer NeXsus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Canada
    could you not just goto wii settings --> data management --> channels... and delete the dupes?

    formatting should be your LAST resort
     
  11. salad

    Newcomer salad Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Sweden
    Formatting will NOT work.

    The Weather and News channels are system channels, and can't be removed, ever. This includes the dupes. The only channels you can remove by formatting are VC titles and channels that can be downloaded via the Shop Channel, like Everybody Votes and the Internet Channel, which you can also remove via the Wii settings.

    Also, hotchef, you can move the channels about however you wish, you just need to hold down A+B and then move it over the "+" icon to the right of all the channels. Also, let go of the Shift key/capslock.
     
  12. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    That's misleading. super paper mario only "kills" pal wii if you have older firmware than 2.2
    I updated with that ntsc update what came with paper mario, but it was before brickblocker was even invented.
     
  13. snake-viper

    Newcomer snake-viper Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Spain
    The problemas was fot Metroid Prime 3 Corruption, I think.
    When you insert the game in a PAL Wii, Metroid 3 install the update.
    The problem isn't a Brick, the problem is the is this, 2 channels weather and news.
    Solution, this :
    ( Copy&Paste for other web )
    This solution is danger, but, the people said work.
    I can't prove this but I don't have the game.

    Sorry for my english [​IMG]
     
  14. ImperialX

    Member ImperialX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    Japan
    The above mehod worked for me. I clocked Metroid Prime 3 on my PAL Wii no problems and no double channels. But isn't it wiser to just use the PAL Super Paper Mario? Then you're all fine.
     

Share This Page