I had Game Cube loading on USB but….

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by gamecaptor, Jul 9, 2012.

Jul 9, 2012
  1. gamecaptor
    OP

    Member gamecaptor R.I.P. Densetsu. Legends never die!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Hyrule most of the time
    Country:
    United States
    I then screwed it up.

    I installed DIOS MIOS 2.0 Update 4 and the latest version of USB Loader GX (v1193). I then put a game in the games director on the FAT32 portion of my USB hard drive, fired up USB Loader GX, selected the game and I was off and running! Awesome!

    Realizing that the FAT32 part of my hard drive wasn’t very big I decided to switch my drive from a FAT32/WBFS setup to a single full FAT32 partition (it’s a Western Digital 1 TB drive).

    Since I made that switch the Game Cube games don’t seem to want to load via USB Loader GX (I see the DIOS MIOS load screen, then I’m greeted with a black screen).

    Nothing else has changed outside of the hard drive partition. I’m fairly certain the drive is setup correctly:
    http://i1079.photobu...tor/Wii-HD1.png
    http://i1079.photobu...tor/Wii-HD2.png

    And as far as I can tell my Wii is up-to-date with all IOSs.
    Code:
    																				sysCheck v2.1.0b18 by Double_A and R2-D2199							 							 							 							 											...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).							 							 							 							 											 							 							 							 							 											Region: NTSC-U							 							 							 							 											System Menu 4.3U (v513)							 							 							 							 											Priiloader installed							 							 							 							 											Drive date: 2007.02.13							 							 							 							 											Homebrew Channel 1.1.0 running on IOS58							 							 							 							 											Hollywood v0x21							 							 							 							 											Console ID: 132950988							 							 							 							 											Boot2 v4							 							 							 							 											Found 127 titles.							 							 							 							 											Found 49 IOS on this console. 5 of them are stub.							 							 							 							 											 							 							 							 							 											IOS3 (rev 65280): Stub							 							 							 							 											IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub							 							 							 							 											IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS10 (rev 768): Stub							 							 							 							 											IOS11 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug							 NAND Access							 							 							 											IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS16 (rev 512): Stub							 							 							 							 											IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS20 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug							 NAND Access							 							 							 											IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS30 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug							 NAND Access							 							 							 											IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS36 (rev 3608): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS40 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug							 NAND Access							 							 							 											IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS50 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug							 NAND Access							 							 							 											IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub							 							 							 							 											IOS52 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug							 NAND Access							 							 							 											IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0							 							 							 							 											IOS60 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug							 NAND Access							 							 							 											IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches							 							 							 							 											IOS70 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug							 NAND Access							 							 							 											IOS80 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug							 NAND Access							 							 							 											IOS202[60] (rev 65535							 Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug							 NAND Access							 USB 2.0							 											IOS222[38] (rev 4							 Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug							 ES Identify							 NAND Access							 USB 2.0											IOS223[38+37] (rev 4							 Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug							 ES Identify							 NAND Access							 USB 2.0											IOS224[57] (rev 65535							 Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug							 NAND Access							 USB 2.0							 											IOS236[36] (rev 65535							 Info: rev 3351): Trucha Bug							 ES Identify							 NAND Access							 											IOS249[56] (rev 21008							 Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug							 NAND Access							 USB 2.0							 											IOS250[57] (rev 21008							 Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug							 NAND Access							 USB 2.0							 											IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii							 							 							 							 											BC v6							 							 							 							 											MIOS v10							 							 							 							 			
    
    I’m sure I’m missing something, but I can’t seem to figure out what. Any suggestions for me?

    Cheers.
     
  2. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    my math* says you use 64KiB clusters
    while DM runs better with bigger clusters it only supports up to 32KiB clusters

    * = 931.5*1000000/(119217*512/4) = 61.04
     
  3. Damian666

    Member Damian666 Coder from Hell

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    In your code...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    also make sure partition is set to active.
     
  4. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    and update to update 5 of dios mios.
     
  5. gamecaptor
    OP

    Member gamecaptor R.I.P. Densetsu. Legends never die!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Hyrule most of the time
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you all for the feedback. I used EaseUS Partition Master to format my drive (I didn't see a section to set the 32k cluster). I will reformat my drive using the FAT32 Formatter tool from ModMii and see if that gives a better result.

    Thanks for the heads up Hielkenator about Update 5, I didn't realize it was out.
     
  6. gamecaptor
    OP

    Member gamecaptor R.I.P. Densetsu. Legends never die!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Hyrule most of the time
    Country:
    United States
    Ah-ha! So I reformatted my hard drive using Wii Backup Manager (as I know I could set the cluster size there). I then installed DIOS MIOS 2.0 Update 5 as well as d2x v9 beta r49. When I started up USB Loader GX it was taking 10 minutes to boot (sticking at a point where it was saying “changing to USB port 1” even though I had that set as the port), so I rolled back to d2x v8 final and it loaded properly (I’ll sit tight for the final v9).

    I then loaded up a few Game Cube games and boom, they were loading!

    I’m noticing some strange things with the screen, but I suspect it may be my setup. In any case I will start testing my games and update the compatibility wiki with my findings and start a separate thread on it later.

    Thanks again all for your help!
     

Share This Page