I guess my EDGE card is dead? (Advice appreciated)

Discussion in 'EDGE' started by skafan12, May 20, 2010.

May 20, 2010
  1. skafan12
    OP

Newcomer skafan12 Member

United States
    So I recently started playing with my DS Lite again (after a semester long hiatus). Long story short, I find out that my MicroSD card is dead. Can't format it, can't even get my computer to read it. So I lose all of my files. I'm over it.

Later that night, I get a new MicroSD card and format it (using Panasonic SD formatter) and update it with 1.10 firmware from the site (Basically, to this point, I've done everything that would be recommended to do). A few of my games don't work - they get stuck on the loading part or flash to a white screen and stay there. I try different firmware versions to no avail.

Is it safe to say that my EDGE card is probably the cause of my problems? I tried formatting my MicroSD card multiple times, and even used older firmware versions to be sure. Still, about 1/3 of my games aren't playing - and they're games that I used to be able to play (like Platinum, FFIV, etc.) Should I order a new card?

Thanks for any advice.

2. Overman1977

Member Overman1977 GBAtemp Regular

Canada
    I've heard (only heard, mind you) that u might run into problems if u reformat ur microSD with anything else other than the usb stick that came with the Edge cart....sounds wonkie, but give it a try.......

And from my thinking...if the Edge cart was dead it wouldn't play a thing.

3. skafan12
    OP

Newcomer skafan12 Member

United States
    I formatted my SD card with the original USB stick that came with EDGE. No luck.

Good point on the second part, though. Anybody have experience or know what I'm running into? I really don't want to buy another card, and I know if I buy another card it most likely won't be EDGE.

4. Overman1977

Member Overman1977 GBAtemp Regular

Canada