I got n R4I before I learned that R4s are crap....

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by pimanrules, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. pimanrules
    OP

    Newcomer pimanrules Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I bought a used R4I off Amazon mainly because I wanted to replay a few choice DS games. I got sidetracked by the other... features, so I just recently decided to try and replay Pokémon Ranger. I booted up the game, and it ran fine. I played for a while, tried to save, and... it froze. The saving music kept looping endlessly, and I had to turn it off. Unlike when Phoenix Wright freezes while saving, it didn't keep the save file when I restarted. That was one of the games I bought an R4 for, so... yeah. Any way I can get it to save? I tried it with two different ROMs (E and U) and the same thing happened in both.

    If there's no way to fix it, should I bother spending my money on a different flash cart? Are there so many games the R4I is incompatible with that it would be worth it? And it so, which should I get?

    Thanks for your time! I'm rather new to the DS flash cart scene, if you can't tell....
     
  2. Chaz.

    Member Chaz. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try installing YSmenu, if you don't want to fiddle with things get an Acekard 2i, TTDS or wait for the Supercard DS2
     
  3. pimanrules
    OP

    Newcomer pimanrules Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm... YSmenu didn't seem to work (I probably screwed something up alone the way, but I don't want to bother going through that again). Guess I'll be buying something to replace my R4i....

    EDIT: Hold on... I almost got YSmenu to work (using that R4sauto thing, as a standalone nds fike), but whenever I try and launch a game, it says "Invalid dldi file name" (or something like that). Any help?
     
  4. SamAsh07

    Member SamAsh07 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,693
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Get a new MicroSD card, this may sound stupid at first, but my DSTT had saving problems, everytime I saved in Harvest Moon Sunshine Islands (U and E..tried both) & Star Wars Jedi Alliance, my game would freeze, for Harvest Moon it would get stuck forever at Saving...(but if I reloaded the game, the save would be there) while for Star Wars no save at all.

    So I bought a new Kingston 4GB SD Card as opposed to my previous 1GB SD, after inserting that card and transferring all games to it, when I launched the DSTT, the menu showed a "SDHC" logo on the top screen's bottom right corner which wasn't there when I had 1GB SD (probably the 1GB was a fake), after that every game saved perfectly. And I have never faced any problems since that day..

    And R4i's are not crap, they are just clones, and...they are fine for a regular gamer.
     
  5. pimanrules
    OP

    Newcomer pimanrules Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Sadly, a new MicroSD card did not work.

    Any other ideas?

    Edit: Just checked, and it is actually creating a save file, but it doesn't show up in the game. I haven't checked if that save file works on an emulator though.
     
  6. Azlan Uchiha

    Member Azlan Uchiha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    First you have dsi or DSL?? use acekard 2i to make it work for r4i use ysmenu it will work in every game!
    maybe you updateed your dsi?or use a new firmware k
     
  7. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    since there are so many versions of r4i..
    so i am not sure which one you have gotten yourself with
    however, for ysmenu .. you can always get some prepacked version if you google hard enough

    in my opinion is always get a better supported flash cart than r4...
    so i have to say get a new flash cart like ak2i or m3
     

Share This Page