I got a question about G6-Flash Lite 4G

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by Akoji, Sep 9, 2006.

Sep 9, 2006
  1. Akoji
    OP

    Member Akoji +5 internets to psyfira for avatar.

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,774
    Location:
    lachine qc. canada
    Country:
    Canada
    well i think of ordering it from Kicktrading.ca but does the 4G in the name means that it 4gig storage because the product name is :

    G6-Flash LITE 4G (512MB) & Passcard 3

    So what the 512MB means because if it can only stores 512 max i won't be able to put 1024 MB games on it XD
     
  2. MrHellFire

    Newcomer MrHellFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    The G6 Lite is 4 GigaBITS, which is the same thing as 512 MegaBYTES.
     
  3. Akoji
    OP

    Member Akoji +5 internets to psyfira for avatar.

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,774
    Location:
    lachine qc. canada
    Country:
    Canada
    so i can't put 1024mb on it ?
     
  4. Mars10

    Newcomer Mars10 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    no, only 512mb
     
  5. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    The biggest nds game so far is 1024 mbits, that means 1/4 of the g6's storage.....no you cannot put 1024 mbytes on it because that would mean you need a 8 gigbit g6.
     
  6. Akoji
    OP

    Member Akoji +5 internets to psyfira for avatar.

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,774
    Location:
    lachine qc. canada
    Country:
    Canada
    damn ... well is there some Flash Card where you can put a 1024 mbytes games?

    i think that with the M3 Lite you can put extra storage ... with Micro-SD Memory Card.

    But are they costy?

    BTW: if i really understand 1024mbytes = 1 gigabytes?
     
  7. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    With flashcarts with removeable memory addons, yes you can put on as big of a card as you can find. M3 lite for example, you're about to put on 2 gigabytes (aka 4 times bigger than g6 lite) on 1 card @ a time and if that's not enough you carry around extra micro sd cards. If you bought a device that uses a sd card, then the max is 4 gigabytes (so far) and that's 8 times bigger than the g6 lite. Are they costly? That depends on your definition, why not search around some common shops to see the costs for yourself. Only general thing I can tell you is all the flashcarts with removeable memory (m3, supercard, ez) all retail for less than the g6 lite but you would have to buy additional memory cards.
     
  8. walie

    Newcomer walie Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    there are no nds games that is over one gigabyte in size
     
  9. Akoji
    OP

    Member Akoji +5 internets to psyfira for avatar.

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,774
    Location:
    lachine qc. canada
    Country:
    Canada
    So if i want to play FFIII on a flashcard i need an M3 + MicroSD mem.card?
     
  10. MrHellFire

    Newcomer MrHellFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    No no, you got it all wrong. DS games are measured in BITS, not BYTES. FFIII is not 1 Gigabyte, it's 1 Gigabit, meaning 128 Megabytes. You can have FFIII and more on G6 Lite.

    There aren't even any DS games that are over 128 Megabytes in size, I don't see how it could jump to over 1 Gigabyte. The biggest DS games are only 1 Gigabit.
     
  11. sigh

    Newcomer sigh Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Australia
    4 gigabit = 512 MegaBytes
    2 gigabit = 256 MegaBytes
    1 gigabit = 128 MegaBytes (1024megabits)

    So you can store a 1024 megabit game (such as Bleach) on a G6 cart.
     
  12. junfeng85

    Newcomer junfeng85 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Singapore
    there is no 1024megabyte game now and there will not be. nintendo said that thier games will max out at 1024mbit(128mbyte - bleach resident evil ffIII). normally it will stay that way. gba games are max 256mbit(32mbyte) just like they specified - only rivera think. to answer your question: yes. g6 can store 4 1024mbit(128mbyte) without compression. Bleach is in my g6 with 10 other games all pretty large (ac:ww, ouendan,metroid) so if you really wan to get a card for gameplay can go with g6. but if you cherish homebrew then get supercard or m3.
     
  13. Akoji
    OP

    Member Akoji +5 internets to psyfira for avatar.

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,774
    Location:
    lachine qc. canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Woah Thanks. Sorry i feel really stupid now XD.

    Well let get an G6 like i planned [​IMG]

    PS: some one ordered from KickTradining , from the Canada ? How many days it took before you get it?
     
  14. walie

    Newcomer walie Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    well DarkRamza somehow got it in his/her head that nds games are 1024 megaBytes in size
     
  15. Akoji
    OP

    Member Akoji +5 internets to psyfira for avatar.

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,774
    Location:
    lachine qc. canada
    Country:
    Canada
    loll yeah sorry i was really all confused.

    Oh and is it compliquated to use the G6?
     
  16. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    No it is not. Read the many posts here first, though. Everything you would need to know has been asked many times already.
     
  17. sigh

    Newcomer sigh Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi Darkramza,

    Just thinking, that if you are only going to be storing DS games and not GBA ones, you can always look at the other flashcarts as well.
     
  18. spanky0508

    Newcomer spanky0508 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    I ordered by G6 Lite from kicktrading and it took around 4 days to get to the West coast (BC). They ship out of Ontario by expresspost so if they have the product in stock, I would say you should get it in 1 or 2 days. Check your email, they are pretty good at sending out the confirmations.
     

Share This Page