Hacking I found a r4i gold 3ds rts card, but is it legit ?

sirben

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Malaysia
Hey guys I tried looked around for sellers selling r4 cards and found someone claiming that he has one r4i gold 3ds rts, is it legit ? I've noticed that there is a label that states the version of the card, but everything else seems pretty much the same.
View attachment 96909

Rasa39

Pervert Deluxe
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
well tbh the label doesn't give any kind of guarantee. most r4 clone cards have the same shell, even if they are fakes. So the guy could have just taken the label off an r4i gold card and put it on a cheap r4 he has lying around.

I'm no expert but I think if you wanted more clarity on this then you'd need to see more pictures, like if there is a code printed on the pcb near the pins that might indicate it's legitimacy for example. (best check to see what others have said about the seller before you think of buying)

That being said, the print on that label doesn't look great, and also looks like that card says "RT5" and not "RTS", it could just be the image quality but depending on how much it's being sold for I'd say buy from a trusted seller like nds-card.com
20130824061244-7a66ce8b.jpg

Reactions: sirben

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Boywife
Trophies
XP
Country
Antarctica
3ds-flashcard.com sells originals and ships from the us.
I've heard hit n miss results with that site, but I haven't heard of them selling fake carts. So you can trust the cart is legit, but be wary of them

Jerrysdkgf159

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Belgium
The label states v6.1. It is the old version of r4i gold 3ds card, not the latest version. It might not work on high firmware version of 3DS

sirben

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Malaysia
The label states v6.1. It is the old version of r4i gold 3ds card, not the latest version. It might not work on high firmware version of 3DS
Is that true? To which firmware version can it mod to?