I CAN'T USE IRC AT WORK :(((

Discussion in 'The Edge of the Forum' started by rest0re, May 24, 2007.

May 24, 2007

I CAN'T USE IRC AT WORK :((( by rest0re at 3:28 PM (1,112 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. rest0re
    OP

    Member rest0re GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    WINLAND
    Country:
    Finland
    I work like in big printing house as page imposer or something like dat. i supposed to do imposing for magazines and shit. But they made me to sign that i can't use irc at work...

    [​IMG]

    WORK WORLD SUCKS. KIDS STUDY AS LONG AS YOU CAN. I NEED TO GO BACK TO STUDYING SO I CAN USE IRC AT WORK [​IMG]
     
  2. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    OH NOES! TEH WORLD IT COMING TO AN END!
     
  3. reemixx

    Newcomer reemixx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You think you've got it bad?

    I can't access any game sites or forums/communities at school. Stupid internet blocker. Hell, can't even access any flash game sites, and that really sucks when you're trying to do RESEARCH on making a flash game FOR SCHOOL! XD
     
  4. tjas

    Member tjas The Gbatemp HRManager

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    BoZ
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I work at Ge and they block irc@work [​IMG]

     
  5. robi

    Member robi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Country:
    France
    I've encountered things like that before which why I have a computer acting as a server in my house.

    I'm able to securely tunnel my traffic from my ISP to my home computer back on the internet and at a work/uni/public internet connection.
     
  6. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I once went to work experience in a solicitors office... with no computers. Luckily the guy was okay with me bringing a laptop in and tapping into the unprotected wifi source from nearby. Shame it wasn't fast enough so I can use it for torrenting. Actually, does anyone know if it is possible to get an MP3 with a hard drive, set it as a storage device and then install Utorrent to the MP3 HDD and then plug it into a work PC or anywhere with fast internet speed and work it off that?
     
  7. 111111111

    Member 111111111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    516
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    The iaudio x5 (20, 30 or 60gb), the iriver H120 / H320 (20gb or the 140/340 40gb version). Probably loads of others but they are the two that come to mind.
     
  8. rest0re
    OP

    Member rest0re GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    WINLAND
    Country:
    Finland
    this sucks for real [​IMG]
    i stuck reading some finnish pages, no others are allowed
     
  9. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You were engaging in illegal activity at a solicitors office nice [​IMG]

    My dad is a solicitor actually [​IMG]
     
  10. Retal

    Member Retal GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    England              Sex: Daily
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can always use HTTP tunnel.
     
  11. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I heard about that. Any guide on how to do it?
     
  12. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
    Try this...www.chsurf.net or www.hideback.com that is what I use at my high security school.. [​IMG] [​IMG] well that won't work with IRC but it will let you get on other web pages...Umm for the flash game support I used my R4 Reader with my 1GB MicroSD card then I installed FireFox on the card then when I went to the website it said I needed Adobe Flash Player thingy so I installed it using the Firefox then it worked like a charm...For the IRC preference try using a IP PROXY..This might help...Go to start--Run--Command--ipconfig...Then once that works look at your ip then copy that into the IRC PROXY SETTING then renumber the last 3 digits of the IP, but make it no higher then 255 make it 197 or something....
    If the command say it is blocked..Go to Start--Search--All Files/Folders--type in Command or CMDOS ...Then search...It will pop up about 4 Command Prompts so try all of them...1 is bound to work...Once it work do the above stuff I said...
     
  13. Azimuth

    Member Azimuth Chicken Teriyaki Boy!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    637
    Country:
    Canada
    I use ssh tunneling via my box at home, its slow but works like a charm
     
  14. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    www.allaboutabe.com is a good proxy unblocker for websites(click on Abe's picture in the top left corner). Type in proxy unblocker in google(theres heaps of them.
     
  15. robi

    Member robi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Country:
    France

    http://torrentfreak.com/utorrent-portable/

    You can use that on a portable hard drive or usb flash stick and kept utorrent as well as other apps with you all the time. Doesn't touch the computer, keeps settings on the usb drive.

    http://portableapps.com/
     

Share This Page