I cant make GBA ROMS run on M3. Help?

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by aegen, Sep 5, 2006.

Sep 5, 2006
  1. aegen
    OP

    Newcomer aegen Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi. I have the following:

    1. M3 Mini-SD
    2. Passcard 3
    3. Golden Sun 1(Mode7), Golden Sun 2(Megaroms)
    4. NDS Lite

    Problem: It is my first attempt to run GBA games on my M3 adapter and so far I failed miserably. I used the M3 game manager for both games and still white screen. I did dirent copy to the mini-SD and still nothing. What am I doing wrong? M3 supposed to have 100% GBA compatibility but so far I am not able to play in GBA mode. Is there anything else I need to do? Patches? Software? Please help. How do you play GBA games in NDS?

    Thanks.
     
  2. TyrianCubed

    Member TyrianCubed Gamer 1989 to present

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,138
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    Did you try every patching setting of the M3 game save manager? I play with pokemon fire red (that is a tricky rom also because it needed a hex editing patch to run on EZFA) and it works flawlessly. IIRC I patched it woth hardware+software patching in the manager.
     
  3. aegen
    OP

    Newcomer aegen Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tried Software, Hardware + Software, as well as Hardware patch in the M3 Game Manager v25 and still white screen. [​IMG]
     
  4. Pado

    Member Pado GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    The Holy Land
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You are booting the game in GBA mode I hope ???
     
  5. aegen
    OP

    Newcomer aegen Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes. I tried both. With the PAsscard 3 inserted, by pressing start in the M3 menu which boots the GBA screen. I also tried using without the Passcard 3 inserted and go to GBA mode in the NDS screen. But when i try to load the a GBA game nothing comes up but white screen.

    This really is bugging me as to why it is not working on my DS.
     
  6. Pado

    Member Pado GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    The Holy Land
    Country:
    Netherlands
    is your SD card formatted in FAT32 mode ?? GBA games don't work in FAT mode for newer firmware versions somehow...
     
  7. aegen
    OP

    Newcomer aegen Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm. I remember formatting my SD using FAT 16. What format mode should i be using to run GBA games?
     
  8. Pado

    Member Pado GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    The Holy Land
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Use FAT32, since M3 supports it.
     
  9. Solidstate

    Solidstate Newbie

    When loading the game press the START button to select it rather than pressing A or B.

    Took me ages to figure this out - I wanted to play Rhythm Tengoku but the loading just stuck at "0K "
     
  10. aegen
    OP

    Newcomer aegen Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks everyone for your help. i will format the sd to fat 32, after i backed up my nds game saves.

    thanks again.
     

Share This Page