I can't load games on R4i SDHC *Christmas Edition*

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Peachrules14, Feb 5, 2010.

  1. Peachrules14
    OP

    Newcomer Peachrules14 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I ordered an R4i gold, but r4cards.co.uk sent me this Christmas edition. Whoopie. Anyway, I can't play any games on it. I put the roms on the Micro SD card and when I click the games category on the r4 menu, nothing shows up. If I go into the multimedia section, I can see the game files, but if I click on one it freezes. What firmware/files do I need to change?

    Thanks!
     
  2. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Country:
    Australia
    you probly need to have your roms in a folder called "NDS" or something similar "games"
     
  3. Peachrules14
    OP

    Newcomer Peachrules14 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    That didn't work either. Anything else I can try? I've reformatted it a few times and still no luck.
     
  4. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Put the roms in the root of the card.

    For this model, I think it needs for them to be in the root.
     
  5. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You did unzip them first, right? You can't run zipped, RARed or 7zipped roms, you must extract the nds files from these archives to use them.
     
  6. Peachrules14
    OP

    Newcomer Peachrules14 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried putting the roms on the root of the card, and yes, they are unzipped. Did I get a faulty card?
     
  7. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    This is what you posted in your thread 03 Feb. This is not a whack at you, but why did you even contemplate ordering an R4i Gold, when you claimed you were hesitant to buy an AK2i? [​IMG]
     
  8. Pliskron

    Banned Pliskron Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Wow these R4 gold crds seem to have tons of problems
     
  9. Peachrules14
    OP

    Newcomer Peachrules14 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Aha yes... I was thinking about getting an AK2i because I found out that r4cards.co.uk had received horrible reviews, so just in case my order didn't come, I would have gotten an AK2i.

    Thanks.

    I think I might know what's wrong. On the top screen on the main menu, it says:

    Micro SD
    Volume: 4 GB
    Format:

    The format is blank. Is it supposed to be like that? I've formatted it a number of times, always to the default of FAT 32. Is that right?
     
  10. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    is it supposed to be regular FAT ?
     
  11. Peachrules14
    OP

    Newcomer Peachrules14 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    I formatted it to FAT and on the r4i menu, it shows it's formatted to FAT16 so at least we're getting somewhere. It still doesn't show up as having games though.
     
  12. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    It might be an idea to list what files show on your msd (full display - eg. underscores, etc.), to give us a better chance of helping quickly.
    BTW, fat32 is the way to go.
     
  13. Peachrules14
    OP

    Newcomer Peachrules14 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
  14. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Country:
    Australia
  15. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    I think we need to see how YOUR msd is setup. You can give us all the links in the world, but that won't show us what you may be doing wrong.
     
  16. Peachrules14
    OP

    Newcomer Peachrules14 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Here is what my card looks like:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    (I have also tried naming this folder games, which didn't work either)
     
  17. Peachrules14
    OP

    Newcomer Peachrules14 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
     
  18. Peachrules14
    OP

    Newcomer Peachrules14 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    I have absolutely no idea how I did it, but it's fixed. Thanks to everyone who helped. This thread may now be locked or deleted.
     
  19. Darksaiyan9000

    Newcomer Darksaiyan9000 Darksaiyan9000

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    look i have exactly the same problem but i have an r4i sdhc red box and i havent solved this problem but to whom may be conserned i need this problem fixed before this upcomeing friday but a few questions does yours say MOONSHL2NDS when you tap the game icon?does it take you to another place in the r4?if it does do you see the game?DOES THE DANG R4 COMPLEATLY FREEZES WHEN YOU CLICK ON THE GAME?because i that is exacly what is happening to me can someone anyone pleas reply and tell me the answer before this upcoming friday im going to mexico this upcoming friday and i dont have axess to a computer in mexico
     
  20. r3v3rb

    r3v3rb Newbie

    fusionfallax,

    I bought an r4i sdhc from a company in the UK - downloaded the software and had no games listed and also the damn thing showed the settings icon as a GBA booter - then I changed the skin in the settings - shoved all my unzipped roms into the root of the card - checked to make sure the save games from an m3simply running Wood_R4 where renamed back to .sav not .nds.sav and everything worked perfectly.

    In between all of that I also reformatted the SD card using a different SD card usb convertor, as the one that came with the R4i seemed to overheat the SD - ALOT !!!

    Good luck in your quest, it seems these cards are temperamental at best...

    r3v3rb
     

Share This Page