I can't believe I somehow managed

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Quinn, Jan 29, 2010.

Jan 29, 2010
  1. Quinn
    OP

    Newcomer Quinn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    To make my wii COMPLETELY not able to play any GC games through any method.

    At first, I could only play GC games through a GC booter app, but then i was deleting some titles and accidentally deleted the MIOS.

    Whoops [​IMG]

    So, i tried downloading a MIOS and i successfully installed it, but i still cant play any GC games through any method.

    Help?

    And could someone tell me if resetting my wii to factory settings will fix it? I don't want it to come to that, but if it has to, i can backup the saves I really need
     
  2. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    United States
    for legit gc games you'll need a BC and Mios installed, and if you still can't play them from the disc channel, try removing any region free GC game hacks from preloader or startpatch if your using one, I've had problems playing GC games in the past with hacks like that installed, and if all that doesn't work then i have no idea
     
  3. daxtsu

    Member daxtsu -

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,289
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You mean burnt games, right? You need to reinstall cMIOS. Btw, formatting via the Sysmenu is useless. It won't fix any problems.
     
  4. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    EDIT: Damn, took way too long.
     
  5. Quinn
    OP

    Newcomer Quinn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada

    BC? What?
    Sorry, I'm pretty much the bigges noob at hacking.


    And yes, I meant legit GC games, not any burnt ones.
     
  6. daxtsu

    Member daxtsu -

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,289
    Country:
    Antarctica
    GC games require both MIOS and BC. Get a new copy of BC too if your GC games still won't work. Use NUSD.
     
  7. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Just update the cMIOS, not the BC
    Its better to not touch the BC, as was probably never changed before
     
  8. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    So, i must ask, what is BC? I'm not familiar with that term at all. (i've done minor Wii hacks,and BC isn't a term i've come across)
     
  9. Quinn
    OP

    Newcomer Quinn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    I can't seem to find a working link to update the cMios, and NUSD's saying this: "Starting NUS Download. Please be patient!
    Grabbing tmd...
    Download Failed: tmd
    - Reason: (401) Unauthorized."

    when i try to download BC (Title ID: 00000001-0000010)

    but im guessing that's a router problem.
     
  10. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    The BC (I'm not sure what it stands for, but I think its Backward Compatibility) is the "first" step of booting a GC game.
    It is responsible for lowering the Clockspeed (to 162MHz, the GC speed) and launching Boot2 again.

    Boot2, remarking the lower clockspeed, boots the MIOS instead of the system menu

    Then the MIOS disables all extra hardware and is then used to launch the game

    The end [​IMG]
     
  11. Quinn
    OP

    Newcomer Quinn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, all I know is i can't get the BC download to work on NUSD. Sadface D;
     
  12. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    @tj Ah thanks! I'm a sucker for learning about these things, i just don't have the time i once did (first kid is on his way w/in the next 6 weeks, busy as hell), so thanks for filling me in [​IMG]

    Sorry to derail the topic for a hot second [​IMG]

    Back on track!
     
  13. Quinn
    OP

    Newcomer Quinn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    Anyone have any idea that could help me download BC and/or cIOS?

    Or any links that could help?

    no?
     
  14. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    00000001-00000010 is IOS10, which is not what you want.
    You want 00000001-00000100, put it in NUSD without the hyphen.
     
  15. Quinn
    OP

    Newcomer Quinn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    Haha, good news. I fixed whatever I needed to to get GC games working through a GC booter again, I guess thats how I'll have to play my GC games from now on...

    thanks for the help, guys.
     
  16. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Using the database is easier though

    But if you really need em:
    BC is 0000000100000100
    MIOS is 0000000100000101

    Leave the version empty
     
  17. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    If you have any Preloader/StartPatch hacks in place, remove any that have to do with region free Wii or GCN games for the disc channel. That ought to get them working again.
     
  18. Quinn
    OP

    Newcomer Quinn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks, I'll try that out soon.
     

Share This Page