Hacking I bricked my wii trying to downgrade it to 4.1, is there any fix?

YaBoiYoyo

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 21, 2017
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
44
Country
United States
So I was trying to go back to 4.1 to prevent bricks and have bootmii as my boot2, but in the process I kinda bricked myself (ironic, huh?) The Wii has a green LED when I hit power and the TV gets a signal, but there is no display from the Wii. I have a NAND backup, but nothing for my boot2 since I was on 4.3. Is there any way to fix this? I don't have priiloader installed or bootmii to open on boot so I'm wondering if there's any fix.

Also would a savemii work or no? I don't see the health and safety screen so idk if it will and wanted to ask people who knew what they were doing (unlike me)
 

Ryccardo

watching Thames TV from London
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,406
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Imola
XP
6,308
Country
Italy
but nothing for my boot2 since I was on 4.3
What does that even mean?

The "system" version (which is actually just the Wii Menu version) has no relationship to whether you can install an unsigned boot2 (which is only determined by boot1)

Anyway, if you have a nand backup, there's always the hardmod restore (have fun connecting the programmer, though)

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Also would a savemii work or no?
SaveMii(Frii) just activates an hidden feature of the Wii Menu, so if Wii Menu doesn't run it's useless
(even if it did, it's not practically useful unless you have a trucha-enabled Wii Menu IOS and other requirements, or you own a disc with a system version higher than yours and some other requirements specific to the issue to be solved)
 

YaBoiYoyo

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 21, 2017
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
44
Country
United States
2fn2hu.jpg
Shut the hell up

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

What does that even mean?

The "system" version (which is actually just the Wii Menu version) has no relationship to whether you can install an unsigned boot2 (which is only determined by boot1)

Anyway, if you have a nand backup, there's always the hardmod restore (have fun connecting the programmer, though)

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


SaveMii(Frii) just activates an hidden feature of the Wii Menu, so if Wii Menu doesn't run it's useless
(even if it did, it's not practically useful unless you have a trucha-enabled Wii Menu IOS and other requirements, or you own a disc with a system version higher than yours and some other requirements specific to the issue to be solved)

Ok so how would I even do a hardmod restore? Would it be better to just buy a new wii at this point?
 

Ryccardo

watching Thames TV from London
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,406
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Imola
XP
6,308
Country
Italy
Ok so how would I even do a hardmod restore? Would it be better to just buy a new wii at this point?
Open it up, connect a compatible SLC NAND programmer to the memory chip, connect programmer to PC, restore backup

As of today, it's probably not worth it, compared to the cost of buying another Wii; however, remember that the world supply of Wiis is not infinite, and they won't be this common forever...
 

YaBoiYoyo

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 21, 2017
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
44
Country
United States
Open it up, connect a compatible SLC NAND programmer to the memory chip, connect programmer to PC, restore backup

As of today, it's probably not worth it, compared to the cost of buying another Wii; however, remember that the world supply of Wiis is not infinite, and they won't be this common forever...
Ok so I guess I'll just buy a used one since you can get them anywhere for like $40-$50...
I'll have priiloader on the wii I get tho
 

Ryccardo

watching Thames TV from London
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,406
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Imola
XP
6,308
Country
Italy
Ok so I guess I'll just buy a used one since you can get them anywhere for like $40-$50...
I'll have priiloader on the wii I get tho
Assuming you screwed up by installing a 4.1 Wii Menu and rebooted without also installing a working IOS60 (or using an outdated "downgrader" software, which ends up in the same result) Priiloader wouldn't have helped you anyway
 
  • Like
Reactions: GreyWolf

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
11,717
Trophies
2
Age
35
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
5,161
Country
Cyprus
Do u have bootmii installed as boot2? If you're not sure grab the bootmii files and put them on your sd card and start your wii and see if u are welcomed by the bootmii screen. You can grab the bootmii folder for your sd card from one of modmii classic's download pages (or Google for it).

Otherwise you can repair it using your nand backup and an infectus modchip but it's difficult work. I'm not sure if @DeadlyFoez is still doing wii repairs or how much he charges, but I doubt that after shipping costs it would be much cheaper than just buying a used working wii so up to you. If the cost is the same u may as well buy a new wii if u ask me, that way you can get it faster and also you'll get an extra wiimote out of the deal. That being said, if u send it to DeadlyFoez he can handle the softmods too if you don't want to risk handling the process personally again.

But next time just use modmii to help you softmod or downgrade your wii and I'm sure you'll be fine.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DeadlyFoez

DeadlyFoez

XFlak Fanboy
Banned
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
5,920
Trophies
0
Website
DeadlyFoez.zzl.org
XP
2,873
Country
United States
All depends on what method you used to upgrade it and then downgrade it. There might be a possible chance to fix it, but I am believing that you likely fully bricked it. I charge $40 to do a wii repair.

As @XFlak said, use ModMii next time and everything will be perfect.
 
  • Like
Reactions: XFlak
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,241
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,039
Country
Norway
So I was trying to go back to 4.1 to prevent bricks and have bootmii as my boot2, but in the process I kinda bricked myself (ironic, huh?) The Wii has a green LED when I hit power and the TV gets a signal, but there is no display from the Wii. I have a NAND backup, but nothing for my boot2 since I was on 4.3. Is there any way to fix this? I don't have priiloader installed or bootmii to open on boot so I'm wondering if there's any fix.

Also would a savemii work or no? I don't see the health and safety screen so idk if it will and wanted to ask people who knew what they were doing (unlike me)
First of all. If your Wii isn't compatible with BootMii as boot2, downgrading is not going to help that. They fixed the boot1 vulnerability that allowed BootMii to work, and we can't change boot1, once it's written at the factory it can't be changed.
So downgrading was rather pointless and if you had done more research beforehand you could have realized that and avoided downgrading altogether.

I am guessing you forgot to install the correct IOS for system menu 4.1? There are software unbricking methods for certain kinds of bricks, but to my knowledge they require the system menu being intact along with the correct IOS, so you're out of luck there.
The #1 thing to always remember when messing with the system menu and system menu IOS is that different system menus require different IOS and if you delete either of them or install a different system menu without installing the corresponding IOS it's a guaranteed brick. I don't think Priiloader would have helped, I believe that also relies on the system menu IOS (since it essentially replaces the system menu)

Your only option is hardware flashing. Back in the day I would have referred you to @DeadlyFoez, he was the #1 go to man for such things with many many (hundreds?) successful unbricks under his belt.
But, these days, a used Wii barely costs anything. It's probably going to be cheaper for you to simply buy one second hand than try to fix the one you have. Even the hardware needed for flashing the NAND is rather pricy, and that assumes you have the skill set to solder it yourself or you know someone that does and are willing to do it for free.
If you really want to fix what you have, I suggest buying a working mainboard and installing it. It won't be much cheaper than just buying a second hand Wii, and it's far more work, but you get the satisfaction of taking what's broken and returning it to working condition (as long as you don't mess anything up such as damaging any of the fragile ribbon cables and their connectors). No soldering should be required.
I've taken a Wii apart before, it's not particularly hard (just need a triwing screwdriver of the right size, some guide online on how to take it apart, and patience), but I never disassembled it fully, so I didn't have to unscrew and unplug every single thing as you likely would have to when replacing the mainboard. Still, I think it's one of the easier consoles to disassemble. If you're up for the challenge it could be a fun project.
Even if you do that it would essentially be a different console so you would lose your saves. You can extract what you have in the NAND backup using ShowMiiNAND (part of ShowMiiWads) but anything newer than what is there is lost unless you go the hardware flashing route, and back up the bricked NAND before flashing to extract the save files from it later on.
 
Last edited by The Real Jdbye,

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
11,717
Trophies
2
Age
35
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
5,161
Country
Cyprus
All depends on what method you used to upgrade it and then downgrade it. There might be a possible chance to fix it, but I am believing that you likely fully bricked it. I charge $40 to do a wii repair.

As @XFlak said, use ModMii next time and everything will be perfect.
Thanks Foez! Just to clarify that's $40 plus S&H right? And shipping of course varies depending on where the OP is shipping from

Edit: in any case I think we explained the options pretty clearly to the OP. @OP, if you want Foez to do the repair send him a PM to arrange shipping details. Otherwise you're looking at buying a new/used console
 
Last edited by XFlak,

Ryccardo

watching Thames TV from London
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,406
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Imola
XP
6,308
Country
Italy
If you really want to fix what you have, I suggest buying a working mainboard and installing it. It won't be much cheaper than just buying a second hand Wii, and it's far more work, but you get the satisfaction of taking what's broken and returning it to working condition (as long as you don't mess anything up such as damaging any of the fragile ribbon cables and their connectors). No soldering should be required.
I've taken a Wii apart before, it's not particularly hard (just need a triwing screwdriver of the right size, some guide online on how to take it apart, and patience), but I never disassembled it fully, so I didn't have to unscrew and unplug every single thing as you likely would have to when replacing the mainboard. Still, I think it's one of the easier consoles to disassemble. If you're up for the challenge it could be a fun project.
Yeah, it's one of the simplest consoles to strip down I've ever owned (well, miles after the PS1): screw holes to be filled or not marked, limited number of cables and connectors (of reasonable length to work with), limited variety of screw heads, and most importantly screws that can actually be removed without a drill or nitrogen triiodide (since the same company then made the metal-softness disasters of 2/3DS and WiiU)
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,241
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,039
Country
Norway
Yeah, it's one of the simplest consoles to strip down I've ever owned (well, miles after the PS1): screw holes to be filled or not marked, limited number of cables and connectors (of reasonable length to work with), limited variety of screw heads, and most importantly screws that can actually be removed without a drill or nitrogen triiodide (since the same company then made the metal-softness disasters of 2/3DS and WiiU)
The JoyCons share that issue too, those screws are the most fragile screws I've ever come across. I stripped one during a shell swap and had to gouge out the screw hole in the shell to get it out. Bought another shell, luckily they don't cost too much. During that install I think I slightly stripped another screw but I should be able to get it out again if need be (however at that point I will most likely have to replace it otherwise I might be able to screw it in and never get it back out)
And you have to deal with one extremely short ribbon cable that's barely long enough to be able to plug it back in after much fiddling. The others are fine though.
Even though taking apart a Wii takes much longer, it's easier overall.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    3d porn ftw
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Aww yiss, I have to have that boner really sticking out of the screen for me to get off.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I always wanted to swordfight a virtual boner
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Beat Saber erotic
    sequel, Beat Boner.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Jds on that dev team
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    I've been playing Beat Boner since 1998, pretty sure it's a prequel.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    98? Get gud since 95
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Veho needs extra attachments for Beat boner at his age :tpi:
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    Get gud? i bet i can beat your Beat Boner score a
    ny day of the week :rofl2:
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    1v1 me bro no homo tho
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Extra point when dickslang mp3 pops up
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    lets doooooo iiiiit
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    no homo
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Sounds gay
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    ken is right, at my age I need some prep time before I can beat my boner.
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    i'm out of the lube it came with though so i need to go to the nintendo section at best buy real quick
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Prep time and medication.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    At psis age you need all the big pharma dlc you can get
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    God i can't even imagine the microtransactions on that
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Well if you have no coverage you're fucked
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    mine is constantly like a brick though, i bet veho would have an easier time putting on the wii sleeve for the game
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Lol if Veho used the sleeve he wouldn't be where he's at today
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    :rofl2:classic.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    God ups is annoying with delivery city is literally 20 minutes away on the truck for 4 hours other peoples packages aren't important :angry:
    Gift
  • Gift
    Veho @ Veho: https://i.imgur.com/RNcO4zl.jpg