Hacking Question I bought a jailbroken switch and have no fucking idea how to update it

imafuckingdumbfuck

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
3
Country
Philippines
I purchased an unpatched switch that was already jailbroken with an inject payloader and have absolutely no idea how to update it. Asked the guy who sold me the switch how to do updates on the firmware but he never replied. I'm scared of accidentally bricking the switch or whatever I feel like I'm way over my head with doing this whole thing completely blind.

here's an imgur link for the files on the sd
Green Joy-Con D-Pad Shells for Nintendo Switch
 
Last edited by imafuckingdumbfuck,
  • Like
Reactions: yuyuyup

kidkat210

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2016
Messages
581
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
1,206
Country
United States
1) no cfw supports 13.0 yet, so the highest you can go and still use cfw is 12.1

2) find out how to update the payloads on your payload injector.

3) when updating the process goes as followed. Update cfw, update sig patches (if you're using atmosphere), update firmware.
 

Xalusc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2013
Messages
141
Trophies
0
Location
Zhōngguó 中国
XP
666
Country
China
1. What CFW are you on?
2. Do you have an emuNAND or not?
3. What payload are you using? (Hekate, fusee(-primary) etc)

The steps I usually do once (I inject Hekate and boot into Atmosphere emuNAND) once both Hekate and Atmosphere get updates that support the latest firmware:
- update Hekate
- update Atmosphere
- update sigpatches
- download latest Switch firmware on PC (you'll have to search for that on your own)
- put it on my Switch SD card
- boot into emuNAND through Hekate
- open Hbmenu, use Daybreak to update to latest firmware

After all that, I sometimes update the FW on my sysNAND through the usual Nintendo process.
 

imafuckingdumbfuck

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
3
Country
Philippines
1. What CFW are you on?
2. Do you have an emuNAND or not?
3. What payload are you using? (Hekate, fusee(-primary) etc)

The steps I usually do once (I inject Hekate and boot into Atmosphere emuNAND) once both Hekate and Atmosphere get updates that support the latest firmware:
- update Hekate
- update Atmosphere
- update sigpatches
- download latest Switch firmware on PC (you'll have to search for that on your own)
- put it on my Switch SD card
- boot into emuNAND through Hekate
- open Hbmenu, use Daybreak to update to latest firmware

After all that, I sometimes update the FW on my sysNAND through the usual Nintendo process.

1. where can i see my cfw version T_T
2. i checked and it said off so im assuming thats a no hahaha
3. checking the files on the sd it uses hekate and fusee (which apparently is now outdated?)
 

1NOOB

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
613
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Inside My Head...
XP
1,575
Country
Canada
Last edited by 1NOOB,
  • Like
Reactions: Idrolitina

miskatonic77

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2015
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
49
Country
setting , last one down, it should say what firmeware and atmosphere you are running ,

personaly here what i would do ; delete every folder exept nintendo

download
https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/releases

unzip on sd card

download
https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/releases

unzip on sd card (dont forget fuse.bin )

find Sig patches *cough* ITotalJustice/patches

boot hekate through payload (tegraRCM or other)

boot fuse.bin

profit .

I am currently trying to update my switch. can you please actually explain each step here, the "don't forget fuse" etc and the sig patches situation. I've put those things on the card in the right places and now I have literally no option to boot anything on henkaku.
 

Xalusc

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2013
Messages
141
Trophies
0
Location
Zhōngguó 中国
XP
666
Country
China
1. where can i see my cfw version T_T
2. i checked and it said off so im assuming thats a no hahaha
3. checking the files on the sd it uses hekate and fusee (which apparently is now outdated?)
On the switch menu, go to settings > System
Should be something like "12.0.1 AMS 0.19", where 12.0.1 would be the Switch's firmware version and AMS 0.19 the indication you're running atmosphere plus its version number.

Also, there might be an "M" or an "E" on that same string. Don't worry too much about the "M", but an "E" means it's running on emuNAND
 
Last edited by Xalusc,

1NOOB

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
613
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Inside My Head...
XP
1,575
Country
Canada
LOL i psoted this in another tread thinking it was this one ;

Edit : forgot , Keeping the nintendo folder will keep your game installed ion the sd card , or else you're gonna have a little cloud and the game wont be on your card , all games files are in the "nintendo" folder , wich is the only one you want to keep to not reinstall every game .(also why i launch crash , as it was on the switch not the sd card , i didnt want to backup my 300GB+ nintendo folder just to show you lol )
 
Last edited by 1NOOB,
  • Like
Reactions: Idrolitina

Idrolitina

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2020
Messages
108
Trophies
0
XP
305
Country
Japan
Hello and sorry to resuscitate this post after a month.

I did not want to make a new one and jam the forum. I want to update my switch (unpatched FW10.1.0 and atmosphere 0.14.1) to the latest FW (13.0, I think) along with the latest version of atmosphere (1.2 in pre-release). Before posting a new thread I looked around and found this post.
I would hate to mess up the whole system so I want to proceed slowly here. I read a lot of posts and guides here on the forum and this one seemed the most recent.

@1NOOB post and videos sure helped but I wanted to double-check.
Actually a comment by @Draxzelex made me doubt how to continue. I use fusee ( or at least I believe ... RCM then inject the payload from the windows, which is actually hekate, but I always used fusee sigpatches so go guess...).

<A>
1) before updating OFW I will download Atmosphere (with atmosphere and folders along the hbmenu.nro) and the fusee.bin. Should I go with the 1.1.1 or the 1.2 pre-release?
2) substitute the files in the sd card of the switch where is my EmuMMC.
3) add the sigpatches.

<B>
after all this (RCM plus injection of the payload via computer) if I am booting without problems how should I proceed for the update of the OFW? I read here and here that I need to update both SysMMC and EmuMMC.
1) This (according to the guide) has to be done via a regular update for Sys and Daybreak for Emu?
2) Should I make a new backup of the SysMMC AFTER updating?

<C>
Finally, (the noobest question ever) how do I understand if I am launching Atmosphere with hekate or fusee? I ask this also for future reference (since sigpatches have been unified according to the readme there).
I hope I did not miss anything...

Thank you all and sorry for the long post!

Ps. Let me know if you think I should open a new thread.
 

RHOPKINS13

Geek
Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2009
Messages
1,275
Trophies
0
XP
1,997
Country
United States
Hello and sorry to resuscitate this post after a month.

I did not want to make a new one and jam the forum. I want to update my switch (unpatched FW10.1.0 and atmosphere 0.14.1) to the latest FW (13.0, I think) along with the latest version of atmosphere (1.2 in pre-release). Before posting a new thread I looked around and found this post.
I would hate to mess up the whole system so I want to proceed slowly here. I read a lot of posts and guides here on the forum and this one seemed the most recent.

@1NOOB post and videos sure helped but I wanted to double-check.
Actually a comment by @Draxzelex made me doubt how to continue. I use fusee ( or at least I believe ... RCM then inject the payload from the windows, which is actually hekate, but I always used fusee sigpatches so go guess...).

<A>
1) before updating OFW I will download Atmosphere (with atmosphere and folders along the hbmenu.nro) and the fusee.bin. Should I go with the 1.1.1 or the 1.2 pre-release?
2) substitute the files in the sd card of the switch where is my EmuMMC.
3) add the sigpatches.

<B>
after all this (RCM plus injection of the payload via computer) if I am booting without problems how should I proceed for the update of the OFW? I read here and here that I need to update both SysMMC and EmuMMC.
1) This (according to the guide) has to be done via a regular update for Sys and Daybreak for Emu?
2) Should I make a new backup of the SysMMC AFTER updating?

<C>
Finally, (the noobest question ever) how do I understand if I am launching Atmosphere with hekate or fusee? I ask this also for future reference (since sigpatches have been unified according to the readme there).
I hope I did not miss anything...

Thank you all and sorry for the long post!

Ps. Let me know if you think I should open a new thread.

The first thing you need to figure out is whether or not your hacked Switch has been banned, and if not, has it been setup with an emuMMC?

If the Switch has not been banned, and all hacking / pirated content has been kept on a emuMMC, you'll want to keep it that way so you can still play online with SysMMC.

If the Switch has not been banned, but emuMMC was never set up, you'll want to run haku33 to try wiping your Switch, wiping off all signs of homebrew, and then set up an emuMMC. Note that this doesn't 100% guarantee you won't get banned down the road, but I've used it on several Switch units and haven't been banned.

If the Switch is banned, there's no need for emuMMC at all, as it'll just be a waste of space on your microSD.

In any case, you can safely upgrade Atmosphere by downloading the latest version on GitHub. I'd just delete your current atmosphere folder, or rename it to atmosphere_old, and copy over the new atmosphere folder, along with new sigpatches. You'll also want to update your fusee.bin file, whether you're sending it directly with TegraRCM or if you're using Hekate to launch it, in which case it'll probably be in your payloads folder.

If you're using the typical Stock SysMMC / Dirty EmuMMC setup, there's no real reason to make regular backups of your SysMMC. I'd keep at least one backup copy around, in case you download some sort of malicious payload that bricks your Switch. But otherwise, I wouldn't really bother about keeping it updated, unless you REALLY care about your Saves and don't have them backed up via Switch Online. And yeah, you can update SysMMC just like you would on any Stock switch, and then use Daybreak to update EmuMMC.

But if you're banned, or for any other reason not using EmuMMC, then you'll only need to worry about updating SysMMC.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Idrolitina

Idrolitina

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2020
Messages
108
Trophies
0
XP
305
Country
Japan
The first thing you need to figure out is whether or not your hacked Switch has been banned, and if not, has it been setup with an emuMMC?

If the Switch has not been banned, and all hacking / pirated content has been kept on a emuMMC, you'll want to keep it that way so you can still play online with SysMMC.

If the Switch has not been banned, but emuMMC was never set up, you'll want to run haku33 to try wiping your Switch, wiping off all signs of homebrew, and then set up an emuMMC. Note that this doesn't 100% guarantee you won't get banned down the road, but I've used it on several Switch units and haven't been banned.

If the Switch is banned, there's no need for emuMMC at all, as it'll just be a waste of space on your microSD.

In any case, you can safely upgrade Atmosphere by downloading the latest version on GitHub. I'd just delete your current atmosphere folder, or rename it to atmosphere_old, and copy over the new atmosphere folder, along with new sigpatches. You'll also want to update your fusee.bin file, whether you're sending it directly with TegraRCM or if you're using Hekate to launch it, in which case it'll probably be in your payloads folder.

If you're using the typical Stock SysMMC / Dirty EmuMMC setup, there's no real reason to make regular backups of your SysMMC. I'd keep at least one backup copy around, in case you download some sort of malicious payload that bricks your Switch. But otherwise, I wouldn't really bother about keeping it updated, unless you REALLY care about your Saves and don't have them backed up via Switch Online. And yeah, you can update SysMMC just like you would on any Stock switch, and then use Daybreak to update EmuMMC.

But if you're banned, or for any other reason not using EmuMMC, then you'll only need to worry about updating SysMMC.
Thanks!

From what I know the switch was not banned (I got second hand but I checked and it was not banned). After I set it up with the EmuMMC I never even played with the SysMMC, I think I did not even log in once since I have jailbroken it lol. I got another Mariko here that is also practically new.

I will update Atmosphere, then the stock SysMMc and then the emuMMC with daybreak!

Thanks again!
 
  • Like
Reactions: RHOPKINS13

Idrolitina

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2020
Messages
108
Trophies
0
XP
305
Country
Japan
@RHOPKINS13 Thank you for the help, I successfully updated everything!

However, it seems I have a problem with Hekate. It used to show me three options (cfw Sys/ cfw emu/ stock) but after the update, it showed the message "No main boot entries found... Check that bootloader/hekate_ipl.ini has boot entries or use More configs button for more boot entries."

I checked and in fact, it had no boot entries. I fixed it with the sig patches files shared on the forum (which have also hekate_ipl.ini).

Nonetheless, at the menu more config I still get a message reporting " No .ini or boot entries found... check that a .ini file exists in bootloader/ ini/ and that and it contains at least one entry. "

Does anyone have any idea how to fix this and what causes Hekate to not generate the .in file?

Thank you for reading!
 
Last edited by Idrolitina,

RHOPKINS13

Geek
Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2009
Messages
1,275
Trophies
0
XP
1,997
Country
United States
Did you delete your bootloader folder? That shouldn't have been necessary.

I'd recommend directly booting fusee.bin, but beforehand you need to make sure that your emummc is still configured correctly!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Idrolitina

Idrolitina

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2020
Messages
108
Trophies
0
XP
305
Country
Japan
Did you delete your bootloader folder? That shouldn't have been necessary.

I'd recommend directly booting fusee.bin, but beforehand you need to make sure that your emummc is still configured correctly!
Thanks again!
Sorry for my late reply is because of the time difference.

No, I did not delete it but I was running atms 0.14.1 and it had no ini folder (only sys, res, and payloads) also it had fusee-primary and not just fusee.bin. I anyway made a backup before any change.

I do boot from fusee.bin (and it does run correctly from the emuMMC) I just wanted to understand what caused the problem here to avoid future malfunctioning.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,038
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,388
Country
United States
Thanks again!
Sorry for my late reply is because of the time difference.

No, I did not delete it but I was running atms 0.14.1 and it had no ini folder (only sys, res, and payloads) also it had fusee-primary and not just fusee.bin. I anyway made a backup before any change.

I do boot from fusee.bin (and it does run correctly from the emuMMC) I just wanted to understand what caused the problem here to avoid future malfunctioning.
Either the hekate_ipl.ini file was deleted or overwritten since there is no other way the issue you described would occur. You were fairly vague on the details on how exactly you updated so I suspect that is where the issue lies.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,503
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,480
Country
Norway
Thanks again!
Sorry for my late reply is because of the time difference.

No, I did not delete it but I was running atms 0.14.1 and it had no ini folder (only sys, res, and payloads) also it had fusee-primary and not just fusee.bin. I anyway made a backup before any change.

I do boot from fusee.bin (and it does run correctly from the emuMMC) I just wanted to understand what caused the problem here to avoid future malfunctioning.
The ini folder/more configs is not important. Most people never use it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Idrolitina
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Went over the basics in all of them, never took it anywhere.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I do use bash for my job though. It's useful.
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    Assembler is something I always wanted to learn
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    but.... nah
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No point really.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Even the simplest device these days runs some sort of high level language.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Veho all the IT stuff i've learned in school has been extremely basic... i knew most of it already
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's better to learn on your own, it goes much faster than the snail pace they teach you at in school
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembly is actually great, gets you to run everything about 80% faster than C massaged code
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembler syntax is dead easy, but "how to put pieces together" logic requires to have in mind the original idea, and the CPU layout, and that's like double the work of C stuff. It's best to write C first, add some unit tests, then go assembly, then run the unit tests
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it can run faster than compiled code, but modern compilers are really good at optimization and you need to be even better at assembly to do a better job
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    with that all your assembler base will actually work
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    even on embedded systems, without a damned debugger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    syntax is easy but the code is hard to read, you can't look at a piece of code and expect to understand it without looking at all the code around it to see how it all works together so it takes much longer to read the code, it takes longer to write it too because what might be 1 line of code in C might be 20 lines of assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the language is very simple to understand (because it's barely a language at all) understanding how all the instructions work together to form a whole is another matter, in general it's such a pain to work with that i would never recommend it unless you have a need for it. don't listen to this guy and learn assembly just because you want to make your code run faster, you are wasting your time, but if you run into a situation where your code isn't fast enough even after you enabled -Ofast and you NEED it to be faster, then you can consider assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Coto have you tried -Ofast btw? ;)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have o fast before but I suspect we are talking different Os lol
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    @The Real Jdbye quite idiotic and frankly, bu
    llshit points as usual you make. Not only because you have no idea what you're talking about, but also because there is proof (both i've seen and maintained) in regards to C and hand-written assembler code, and the speed gain is simply over half the framerate.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    gbaemu4ds's C ARM and THUMB CPU emulator and GBARunner2's ARM and THUMB handcoded assembly. Just run Yoshi's Island GBA and compare it by yourself.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    or SnemulDS's C CPU Core vs SnemulDS SnezziDS ARM core. The first running at about 45% (half the speed) vs ~105% (full speed)
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    yeah, keep believing -Ofast will make everything faster.
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    Must ambulate quickly! ~Sonic (a hedgehog)
    Gift
  • Gift
    Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight: POG :ninja: