I banner Bricked my Wii.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by DaWiis, Jun 10, 2008.

Jun 10, 2008

I banner Bricked my Wii. by DaWiis at 1:35 AM (33,013 Views / 0 Likes) 170 replies

  1. DaWiis
    OP

    Newcomer DaWiis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Norway
    I got too excited by the new banner tools and managed to brick it.
    Not sure what I did wrong, but my Wii boot's up and then shows a black screen.

    Update
    Problem solved by JayParadox [​IMG]

    Burn the wad manger to a disc and it will autoboot on the warning screen, when it starts you just uninstall the bad WAD.
    http://rapidshare.com/files/121448651/WAD-...OBOOT_.rar.html

    Burn with the newest version of ImgBurn, because it's a 5MB ISO and other DVD burners fail with that size.
     


  2. jayparadox

    Member jayparadox GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    352
    Location:
    Spain
    Country:
    Spain
    Do you get the warning screen?
     
  3. ZombiePosessor

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a Wii that you use for a backup, why bother getting a new one? Its not like the Wii has a stunning library that you just can't put down. Just wait until better stuff is released for banner tools and use your backup Wii. There's no sense in owning two Wiis unless one of them is going to be sold on eBay.
     
  4. bosscolor

    Member bosscolor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Location:
    Toulouse
    Country:
    France
    lawl , sad for you
     
  5. DaWiis
    OP

    Newcomer DaWiis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Norway
    Jepp.
    But when I press "A" I hear the menu sound, but everything goes black. Wiimote stays connected.
     
  6. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    I'm willing to bet an "unbricker" will be made sooner or later.
     
  7. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    can you hear the sound after the black screen, if you can, try to click on a channel.
     
  8. deba94

    Member deba94 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    If you have a drivechip you CAN force start the modified disk. I'll post a link to the program in a sec.
     
  9. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a drivechip, you should be able to force boot a disc.

    I forget the name of the tool that'll do it, but Google should dig it up.
     
  10. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    Try keeping press the button + so it'll skip on the next page and won't load the banner. But I doubt It would work.

    I have another idea : Make an autobootable disc that will reinstall your channel with a not corrupted one. I'm pretty sure it'll work because it doesn't load the Wii menu and boots directly to the DVD.

    An autobootable disc isn't that hard to make. There's some tool floating around or if you have an hexadecimal editor, open the ISO and replace the "R" with a "0" and save. That's all.

    Never give up, I'm sure my solution will work ! I had a wii that showed a black message "Your system is corrupted" for months before the homebrew / trucha wave and I repaired it only because I kept trying new solutions [​IMG]

    EDIT : Bleh, I've been double-burned.
     
  11. deba94

    Member deba94 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  12. WiiModWiis

    Newcomer WiiModWiis Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Here's the link for the editing tool to completely by-pass the Wii system menu and boot a disc, I would either try the wad remover, or if it comes down to it, using this disc in combination with the System Downgrader that was released earlier today, that way it'll install a new IOS with an earlier system menu. Anyway, here's the link for the "straight to disc" booter, http://wiinewz.com/forums/downloads.php?do=file&id=15 Let us know your results
     
  13. deba94

    Member deba94 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    The system downgrader hasn't been released?

    And the only reason he is bricked is because his wii menu is reading the channels icon as corrupted data. His ios version has nothing to do with it.
     
  14. WiiModWiis

    Newcomer WiiModWiis Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    My bad, I was reading this earlier today, http://wiinewz.com/forums/nintendo-news/69...-downgrade.html turns out it's not out yet.
     
  15. DaWiis
    OP

    Newcomer DaWiis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Norway
    [​IMG] tnx for all the help. I'm all out of blank DVDs, but I'll get some today. I'll keep you guys updated.
     
  16. DaWiis
    OP

    Newcomer DaWiis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Norway
    I hear the "entering menu music" but I don't hear the background music. I can't click on channels and I can't press + to do anything.

    I burned a self booting disc with the hombrew channel on it. But nothing happens.
    I get the warning screen and then the entering menu music, but nothing more.
    The disc keep spinning, the wiimote stays connected. But theres no response, no sound, no vibration.
    Just the black screen of death [​IMG]
     
  17. Stalkid64

    Member Stalkid64 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    So... have we all learned a valuable lesson yet in how damned easy it is to fully brick your Wii to a non-fixable level yet?
     
  18. ZeD

    Member ZeD GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i had this happen to me. it installed a channel on the second channel screen.
    so when i loaded up, I had the first screen on (ie Disc channel, Shop etc), but when i pressed + to the next screen, it crashed.

    Luckily I had wad manager on the 1st lol
     
  19. deba94

    Member deba94 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Why would you do that?
    Homebrew channel is a... channel... theres no way you can get to it if you make a modified iso with it on and you're bricked. Open trucha signer and replace the main.dol in the second partition with either the wad manager or the wad uninstaller. Run it through the patcher and burn. Uninstall the corrupted wad and you will be unbricked.
     
  20. DaWiis
    OP

    Newcomer DaWiis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Norway
    I thought the HBC would boot from the DVD. My bad.
    I'll try again with wad manager.

    Looks Like I need to download a game first.
    I'll keep you guys updated.
     

Share This Page