1. Katlin

    OP Katlin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I need major help I followed this guys video on how to get back to original firmware I'm freaking out because my switch won't boot it just stays at the logo.

     
  2. Katlin

    OP Katlin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I have no nand since I have burned fuses and cannot restore through nand. My switch wasn't on cfw the moment I bricked it was dirty. I followed everything in the video correctly.
     
  3. Boydy86

    Boydy86 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would use lockpick to get all your keys, namely BISkeys. Also a dump of current fuse count, then rebuild a firmware that matches your current fuse count using a guide like this:

    https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-...nofficially-without-burning-any-fuses.507461/

    I could be wrong, but I am unsure these methods guarantee a clean OFW that won't be banned. Writing a complete NAND backup would be the only way I'd suggest of restoring a completely clean firmware.

    User Lacius is very knowledgeable with this stuff and hopefully jumps in. Good luck anyway :/
     
  4. toxic9

    toxic9 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    678
    Country:
  5. Katlin

    OP Katlin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I am stuck on ChoirDujour and it says my prod keys don't exist
     
  6. 8BitWonder

    8BitWonder Small Homebrew Dev
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,288
    Country:
    United States
    Place your populated keys file at $HOME/.switch/prod.keys if you're running Linux.
    Or %HOMEPATH%/.switch/prod.keys if you're using Windows.
     
  7. Katlin

    OP Katlin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I can't make a .switch folder
     
  8. Dartz150

    Dartz150 Yet another Onii-chan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,168
    Country:
    Mexico
    That's why one should NEVER follow Video tutorials, them often are outdated or explained at the point of view of the "expositor" which may be wrong and skipping some crucial steps.
     
    Kafluke and Lacius like this.
  9. Katlin

    OP Katlin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Right I should have never followed it I'm at a loss on what to do with my switch right now.
     
  10. 8BitWonder

    8BitWonder Small Homebrew Dev
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,288
    Country:
    United States
    Open a terminal/command prompt, navigate to your home folder and then enter:
    Code:
    mkdir .switch
     
    Last edited by 8BitWonder, Aug 1, 2019
  11. Katlin

    OP Katlin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Made one now what do I do
     
  12. Dartz150

    Dartz150 Yet another Onii-chan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,168
    Country:
    Mexico
    Yeah, a lesson one learns after the disaster unfortunately, happened to me once with my 3DS. But stay positive!There's always a way to solve a problem like this, but keep in mind that maybe a lot will need to be made, and read carefully advice given by others that have experience with this :).
     
  13. 8BitWonder

    8BitWonder Small Homebrew Dev
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,288
    Country:
    United States
    place a populated prod.keys inside it, then continue what you were doing with ChoiDujour.
    It should be able to find your keys once you've put prod.keys there.
     
  14. Katlin

    OP Katlin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Can you show me an example of how the path is done? I keep getting it wrong.
     
  15. elPrro01

    elPrro01 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Hi! Some weeks ago I rebuilded my NAND using ChoiDujour and HacDiskMount with my prod.keys and it failed.

    I solved it using some keys shared in MaxConsole.
     
  16. Katlin

    OP Katlin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I keep getting command errors using ChoiDujour.exe and putting in the paths specified but I don't think I'm doing it right. I don't think I have the latest python installed either.
     
    Last edited by Katlin, Aug 1, 2019
  17. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14,771
    Country:
    United States
    1. Have you tried booting OFW using Hekate? This will bypass any fuse count mismatches.
    2. If that doesn't work, follow this guide to restore your Switch. Pick the system version that comports to your fuse count (you can check your fuse count in Hekate). If that system version isn't available, pick 5.1.0. Whenever it asks, use the "DO A SYSTEM INITIALIZE" option in the guide.
    If your fuses don't match with Option #2, you will need to use Hekate to boot your Switch until you update to the system version that comports with your fuse count.
     
    Last edited by Lacius, Aug 1, 2019
  18. Katlin

    OP Katlin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I'm stuck at the ChoiDujour part where I have to put a directory for my prod.keys and firmware
     
  19. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14,771
    Country:
    United States
    Did you put keys.txt into the ChoiDujour folder?
     
  20. Katlin

    OP Katlin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I did not
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - attemped, restore, without