Hacking I attemped to restore my switch to ofw without nand backup

Katlin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Louisville
XP
87
Country
United States
I need major help I followed this guys video on how to get back to original firmware I'm freaking out because my switch won't boot it just stays at the logo.

 

Katlin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Louisville
XP
87
Country
United States
I have no nand since I have burned fuses and cannot restore through nand. My switch wasn't on cfw the moment I bricked it was dirty. I followed everything in the video correctly.
 

Boydy86

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
107
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
268
Country
United Kingdom
I would use lockpick to get all your keys, namely BISkeys. Also a dump of current fuse count, then rebuild a firmware that matches your current fuse count using a guide like this:

https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-...nofficially-without-burning-any-fuses.507461/

I could be wrong, but I am unsure these methods guarantee a clean OFW that won't be banned. Writing a complete NAND backup would be the only way I'd suggest of restoring a completely clean firmware.

User Lacius is very knowledgeable with this stuff and hopefully jumps in. Good luck anyway :/
 

Katlin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Louisville
XP
87
Country
United States
That's why one should NEVER follow Video tutorials, them often are outdated or explained at the point of view of the "expositor" which may be wrong and skipping some crucial steps.
Right I should have never followed it I'm at a loss on what to do with my switch right now.
 

Dartz150

Yet another Onii-chan
Member
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
2,208
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Over your head
XP
3,693
Country
Mexico
Right I should have never followed it I'm at a loss on what to do with my switch right now.

Yeah, a lesson one learns after the disaster unfortunately, happened to me once with my 3DS. But stay positive!There's always a way to solve a problem like this, but keep in mind that maybe a lot will need to be made, and read carefully advice given by others that have experience with this :).
 

elPrro01

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 27, 2018
Messages
24
Trophies
0
XP
139
Country
Costa Rica
Hi! Some weeks ago I rebuilded my NAND using ChoiDujour and HacDiskMount with my prod.keys and it failed.

I solved it using some keys shared in MaxConsole.
 

Katlin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Louisville
XP
87
Country
United States
place a populated prod.keys inside it, then continue what you were doing with ChoiDujour.
It should be able to find your keys once you've put prod.keys there.
I keep getting command errors using ChoiDujour.exe and putting in the paths specified but I don't think I'm doing it right. I don't think I have the latest python installed either.
 
Last edited by Katlin,

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,347
Trophies
2
XP
16,527
Country
United States
  1. Have you tried booting OFW using Hekate? This will bypass any fuse count mismatches.
  2. If that doesn't work, follow this guide to restore your Switch. Pick the system version that comports to your fuse count (you can check your fuse count in Hekate). If that system version isn't available, pick 5.1.0. Whenever it asks, use the "DO A SYSTEM INITIALIZE" option in the guide.
If your fuses don't match with Option #2, you will need to use Hekate to boot your Switch until you update to the system version that comports with your fuse count.
 
Last edited by Lacius,

Katlin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Louisville
XP
87
Country
United States
  1. Have you tried booting OFW using Hekate? This will bypass any fuse count mismatches.
  2. If that doesn't work, follow this guide to restore your Switch. Pick the system version that comports to your fuse count (you can check your fuse count in Hekate). If that system version isn't available, pick 5.1.0. Whenever it asks, use the "DO A SYSTEM INITIALIZE" option in the guide.
If your fuses don't match with Option #2, you will need to use Hekate to boot your Switch until you update to the system version that comports with your fuse count.
I'm stuck at the ChoiDujour part where I have to put a directory for my prod.keys and firmware
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Peepa @ Peepa: dont we all