I am buying a 360 arcade

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by SectionX, Oct 1, 2008.

Oct 1, 2008

I am buying a 360 arcade by SectionX at 11:37 PM (1,393 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. SectionX
    OP

    Member SectionX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    Can you flash firmware on your 360 if it doesnt have a hardrive? In other words can you flash a 360 arcade without a Harddrive?
     
  2. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes. Flashing has absolutely nothing to do with anything other than the DVD drive itself.
     
  3. SectionX
    OP

    Member SectionX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    okay thank you, then i have 2 questions:

    1) are all 360 arcades dvd drive flashable?
    2) What accessories do you need in order to flash it?
     
  4. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1) No , if you get a lite-on drive , it isn't flashable yet , but can have the key and spoof info read.
    2) A compatible sata chipset

    Unless you can find an older arcade , then it'll be a lite-on.
     
  5. SectionX
    OP

    Member SectionX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    okay, but lite-on will be flashable soon also you think?
     
  6. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No idea. Drives been out for a while now , and don't think there has been much progress on flashing the damn thing , but then again at one point it was thought impossible to get the key , but we can get that now.

    If you are going to get one , I wouldn't do it on the hope that it's going to be worked out how to flash , as you could be waiting a long time. Either find a older unit , or be prepared to extract the key and spoof info , then change drive.
     
  7. SectionX
    OP

    Member SectionX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    what can you do with the key anyway?
     
  8. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need the key to switch drive. Once you have the key and the spoof info , then you can switch out the lite-on for one of the older flashable drives.
     
  9. cardyology

    Member cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Chorley Uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just bought an Elite & it had a lite on drive.

    It can't be flashed but like the other post say, the unique key can be dumped from it & flashed to another drive.

    Mine now has a BENQ drive spoofed as a lite-on.

    you're gonna have to buy another drive to replace the lite-on with I'm afraid.
     
  10. OsCatalepticos

    Newcomer OsCatalepticos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Carson, California
    Country:
    United States
    how much does a BENQ go for?
     
  11. cardyology

    Member cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Chorley Uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mine cost me £40 off ebay. Careful you dont end up with a crappy "refurbished/used" one though.

    Make sure there is a return policy. [​IMG]

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/XBOX-360-X-BOX-HITAT...1742.m153.l1262

    This link is to a hitachi for £25, but this guy is who I got my BENQ from. He lists BENQ drives regularly for £39.99 so keep checking. It came the next day too, real efficient shipping!

    I was warned not to spoof to a samsung or hitachi drive as this may make it possible for M$ to tell I swapped drives & ban my xbox live. AFAIK The BENQ is basically a different revision of the LITE-ON drive so it should be fine.
    Not banned yet! *fingers crossed though* [​IMG]
     
  12. estebangh

    Newcomer estebangh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Colombia
    Those drives (BENQ) are extracted from other machines or they're regular dvd drives? Like the ones you use on a PC
     
  13. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They're 360 drives , not the same as ones you use on pc.
     
  14. cardyology

    Member cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Chorley Uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not really sure where mine came from. I asked the guy on ebay but he didnt seem to know either....

    I assume it is from an old 360 but it works so meh. THats all im bothered about,.
     

Share This Page