i am a no$gba n00b and i need help...

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Team_Subspace, Jan 2, 2011.

Jan 2, 2011
  1. Team_Subspace
    OP

    Member Team_Subspace Citizen Marsalevsky

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Location:
    Behind a laptop screen
    Country:
    United States
    i tried to opan my pokemon platinum rom on no$gba since i cant use my nintendo ds at the time and i get a message in the game saying "the save file can't be accessed. please power off and reinsert the ds game card" i already have a .sav file created from my cyclods evolution and its in the same folder as my .nds file so what am i doing wrong?
     
  2. ~Stenny

    Member ~Stenny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    Brazil
    you'll have to change the save type in the NO$GBA configuration screen.

    press F11 when running your Platinum ROM and change the save type in the "NDS Cartridge Backup Media", first column, sixth line. use EEPROM 64K. reboot the emulator.

    [EDIT] of course, don't forget to save the changes in the Options menu.
     
  3. Team_Subspace
    OP

    Member Team_Subspace Citizen Marsalevsky

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Location:
    Behind a laptop screen
    Country:
    United States
    the rom works now, but how do i load the .sav?
     
  4. ~Stenny

    Member ~Stenny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    Brazil
    you must copy your save to the /BATTERY folder (same directory as your NO$GBA.EXE).

    if you want to start a new game, just keep playing and saving like in a normal cartridge. your save will be stored in that same folder.
     
  5. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
  6. Team_Subspace
    OP

    Member Team_Subspace Citizen Marsalevsky

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Location:
    Behind a laptop screen
    Country:
    United States
    i converted it to the no$bga format and it still is bringing me to the new game section... the .sav is in the battery folder
     
  7. xdarkx

    Member xdarkx GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Country:
    Canada
    The correct save type is Flash 512Kb, not Eeprom 64Kb...
     
  8. Team_Subspace
    OP

    Member Team_Subspace Citizen Marsalevsky

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Location:
    Behind a laptop screen
    Country:
    United States
    ive tried both of those and still no luck
     
  9. xdarkx

    Member xdarkx GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Country:
    Canada
    Did you check and see if the two files (your game and save file) name match? Also, get rid off any special characters in the file name.
     
  10. Team_Subspace
    OP

    Member Team_Subspace Citizen Marsalevsky

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Location:
    Behind a laptop screen
    Country:
    United States
    when you say special characters, do you mean like an "e" with an accent mark?
     
  11. xdarkx

    Member xdarkx GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Country:
    Canada
  12. Team_Subspace
    OP

    Member Team_Subspace Citizen Marsalevsky

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Location:
    Behind a laptop screen
    Country:
    United States
    i changed the names of both the .nds file and the .sav file to "Pokemon Platinum" (without the parenthesis) and im still getting nothing [​IMG]
     
  13. xdarkx

    Member xdarkx GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, you can try importing your save to DeSmuME, then save your game there. Afterwards, export the save as no$gba format to your no$gba's battery folder.
     
  14. Team_Subspace
    OP

    Member Team_Subspace Citizen Marsalevsky

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Location:
    Behind a laptop screen
    Country:
    United States
    im probably just going to stay with using my cyclods evolution since this is kinda confusing to me and i can play my ds again (stepdad was borrowing it for a while) but thanks for the help everyone
     
  15. Saionji

    Member Saionji GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Country:
    Ukraine
    If you want load your .sav you will need special No$GBA build - WinDS PRO
    I have same problem at once time... So this build helps me =)
     

Share This Page