I accidentally loaded an old save state, and now I have to go through the game all over again!

Newtrat

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 3, 2016
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
Quebec
XP
113
Country
Canada
I am so angry right now! I was playing Rune Facctory 3 on DeSmuME. I was about to finish the main story, and thanks to the stupid keyboard configuration, I accidentally loaded a save state I had accidentally created in the begining of the game! Now I have to go through the game all over again! Agh! Have any of you had any similar experiences? Is is possible to revert that?
 

MsMidnight

part time fe modder
Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2015
Messages
1,753
Trophies
0
Location
kys
Website
camilla.hostfree.pw
XP
1,407
Country
I am so angry right now! I was playing Rune Facctory 3 on DeSmuME. I was about to finish the main story, and thanks to the stupid keyboard configuration, I accidentally loaded a save state I had accidentally created in the begining of the game! Now I have to go through the game all over again! Agh! Have any of you had any similar experiences? Is is possible to revert that?
If you saved with that state you're fucked. Exit the game and it again
 

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,404
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
18,031
Country
United States
If you've only ever saved with save states and you have no others, you're screwed. If you saved with the in-game save system (and you haven't saved over it when you loaded old save state) just reset the game and load from there.
 

Newtrat

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 3, 2016
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
Quebec
XP
113
Country
Canada
I'm usually save from the game. I reset the rom and i still not get back my save. I also tried to restart DeSmuME but still nothing. I never save with Save States normally. I just accidentally loaded one i accidentally did.
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
35,511
Trophies
2
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
25,361
Country
United Kingdom
Is there an autosave in Rune Factory, if you loaded it and somehow got to an autosave point you might have overwritten it. I don't know if Rune Factory uses a save restore/alternating save block approach like pokemon but if there is that there is a chance you could pull something back with some hacking magic.

Alternatively you played the game so cheat your way back to the story end. It is not that slow a game if you have unlimited stamina and funds.
 

Glyptofane

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Messages
1,725
Trophies
1
XP
2,782
Country
United States
I've seen something like this happen once or twice many years ago when I was crazy into SNES emulation, specifically with Sailor Moon Another Story. I never came to understand how or why the old save state reverted the native save, a separate file, as well, but it was indeed a tragic fuckup.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Panzer_Baboon @ Panzer_Baboon: Omg what happened?