Huge DVD Burner Problems - Need help ASAP!

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by War, Nov 28, 2007.

Nov 28, 2007
  1. War
    OP

Member War Take it easy~

Japan
    Okay guys, here's the story. I ordered this DVD Burner from Newegg:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...36117&Tpk=H55NK

It arrived today, but I noticed a problem. IN the box, I only got the burner and a CD. Now the problem comes here: First of all, I can't tell (because I can't find it anywhere on the info site) whether its internal or external. I called LG for help, and the guy said that it's internal.

The thing is.... if it's internal, I'm screwed, because I'm not good with computer hardware at all, and I guess I could try, but it would be very hard. Not only that, but for some reason, I put the DVD Drive right next to my empty drive slot in my computer, and in my eyes, it looks like the burner is too big. :\

The other problem is, if it's EXTRERNAL, I'm effed as well, because... it came with no cords! So I don't have either the power cord OR the usb plug.

I'm running Windows XP on a Dell Dimension E310. Help me, PLEASE!

2. mekaxero

Member mekaxero I am the alpha, and the omega

United States
    it is an internal drive. It should be the same size as our current cd/dvd drive.

if you have one slot that is open, and it looksto small, that might be because it is a 3.5" slot instead of a 5.25" slot. 3.5"slots are for floppy/zip/hard drives, and 5.25" are for cd/dvd drives. If there are no open 5.25" drives, then you might just have to take out your old cd/dvd drive, and put this one in its place.

3. sekhu

Member sekhu moo?

United Kingdom
    it'well to answer your first question, it IS an internal drive. the bezel (front part of the drive) may stick out a little when you insert it, but that shouldn't be too bad, it should still fit fairly well into the case.