HP TouchPad blocked by Hulu

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Ace, Aug 25, 2011.

Aug 25, 2011

HP TouchPad blocked by Hulu by Ace at 12:27 AM (1,379 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Ace
    OP

    Member Ace GBATemp's Patrick Bateman

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,035
    Location:
    Manhattan
    Country:
    Sweden
    [​IMG]

    The HP TouchPad’s sudden popularity after HP discontinued it was apparently enough to put it on Hulu’s radar. The television and movie streaming service has finally gotten around to blocking the webOS tablet. It’s no surprise; Hulu has become fairly aggressive at blocking devices that aren’t part of its distribution agreements with the studios. So if you’re interested in getting Hulu on a tablet, it looks like the Vizio 8 or the iPad are your only options.[/p]


    [​IMG] Source

    HOOORAAY CONTENT PROVIDERS! First, Fox screw with the Hulu platform and users by adding an 8 day delay on adding content to Hulu, rising piracy exponentially: then, they block a tablet that JUST went viral! [​IMG]
     
  2. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    the webOS community will find a workaround, they are very resourceful [​IMG]
     
  3. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Hulu sucked ever since they started charging for content.

    And this doesn't make any sense. Wouldn't the recent surge in HP Touchpad purchases give them more money?
    More views + ads = more money
     
  4. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    they require you to have hulu plus to view on anything that isn't a computer, it's an "incentive" to get you to pay for content (and there's still ads)
     
  5. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    lol peeps actually use these services? excuse me while i go download some movies off UN [​IMG]
     
  6. Forstride

    Member Forstride The rudder moves when I turn the wheel

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,763
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country:
    United States
    I don't see why people would use Hulu. It's filled with ads/commercials, even for premium users, most of the content is available on other services such as Netflix (TV shows at least), and now they're pulling crap like this.
     
  7. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Isn't Android going onto HP TouchPad (by some people over at xda I think)

    Wouldn't there be a way to fool Hulu thinking it's a Vizio 8? (You can with Android Market when apps/games aren't available for your device anyway)
     
  8. mysticwaterfall

    Member mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    From http://claptop.com/2011/08/make-hulu-work-on-hp-touchpad/

    1) Connect your Touchpad to your computer. Click “Cancel” when it asks if you want to go into USB mode.

    2) Open up Quick Install on your PC (The program you used to install Preware).

    3) Select the TOOLS tab, and pick LINUX COMMANDLINE. Make sure that the Touchpad is not running any web browser.

    4) You should now be in a terminal at a command line looking at your Touchpad. Run the following commands

    cp /usr/lib/BrowserServerPlugins/libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/BrowserServerPlugins/libflashplayer.so.bak

    cd /usr/lib/BrowserServerPlugins

    sed -i 's/WEB 10/WIN 10/' libflashplayer.so

    chmod 755 /usr/lib/BrowserServerPlugins/libflashplayer.so

    5) Reboot your Touchpad. That’s it! Hulu should work now.
     
  9. stanleyopar2000

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,927
    Country:
    United States
    who gives a flying shit about hulu.

    why doesn't hulu Let Me Watch This? (on my tablet)

    I'm just tryin' to Watch (a) Series Online Here...

    is that too much to ask??

    all snark and subliminal references aside.

    i only used hulu to watch Family Guy and The Simpsons when I was bored...but to me it looks like they delay the content 8 days now..instead of just one...fuck them [​IMG]

    so I think I will be going to watch TV in my Shack..also known as the internwebz..instead of Hulu..totally lost my service there...
     

Share This Page