Hacking Howto: YSMenu on M3 DS Simply

Golin

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2007
Messages
201
Trophies
0
Location
United States
Website
www.loswades.frih.net
XP
72
Country
United States
Thanks to Maikel Steneker for R4YSauto and his guide on the R4 forums.
This is a simplified guide for those using the M3 DS Simply and longing to get
YSMenu on their card.

1. Go here: http://home.usay.jp/pc/etc/nds/
2. Scroll down the Japanese page--it won't be on the Engrish version--and download YSMenu (It is under his update entitled DS(T_T)DS)
3. Rename the compressed file to: YSMenu0810211800
4. Move the file to a newly created folder on the Desktop named: M3DSS
4. Download this: http://62.50.15.93/~koen/hbdb/YSMenu/002/r4ysauto.zip
5. Extract file to the M3DSS folder on the Desktop.
6. Download this: http://62.50.15.93/~koen/hbdb/YSMenu/002/update.zip
7. Extract file to the M3DSS folder on the Desktop.
8. Run r4.bat (it will update) and it will generate the .DAT file and TTMENU folder.
9. Move the new files to your M3 DS Simply... viola. (Move and Replace all--which is 2 files)
10. Turn it on and you'll be booting into YSMenu on your M3 DS Simply.
 

Frannyman

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 26, 2008
Messages
28
Trophies
0
XP
95
Country
Peru
Thank you very much for this!

I would very much appreciate it if anyone could tell me what can I delete from my M3 Simply cart once I've done this. Can I get rid of the [moonshell], [R4 menu] and [_system_] folders? Thanks in advance for your kind reply.

EDIT: Apparently, it's alright to remove all 3 of them if you install YSMenu as a firmware as I did.
 

Ultralex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
334
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
117
Country
Gambia, The
Frannyman said:
Thank you very much for this!

I would very much appreciate it if anyone could tell me what can I delete from my M3 Simply cart once I've done this. Can I get rid of the [moonshell], [R4 menu] and [_system_] folders? Thanks in advance for your kind reply.

EDIT: Apparently, it's alright to remove all 3 of them if you install YSMenu as a firmware as I did.
Yeah,but if you do this,you can't watch movies andlisten to mp3's anymore,unless you have another player or Moonshell2
 

Cemrok

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
after i followed your steps, i have the error message, cannot find DS_MENU.DAT

i must be doing somthing wrong! please help!
 

Gvaz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
398
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
United States
Website
gvaz.notsleepytime.org
XP
258
Country
United States
N64Temp said:
Yasu doesn't want people downloading his stuff from another site or downloading precompliled YSMenus.

Why? I was searching for this because I want this on my old m3 simply. Maybe he should get back into the scene and release a m3 simply version if he doesn't like it
 

Rob_Threat

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
128
Trophies
0
Location
East Oakland, Califo'nia
XP
229
Country
United States
Gvaz said:
N64Temp said:
Yasu doesn't want people downloading his stuff from another site or downloading precompliled YSMenus.

Why? I was searching for this because I want this on my old m3 simply. Maybe he should get back into the scene and release a m3 simply version if he doesn't like it


Just get "Wood R4 1.04" from the front page of GBATemp... it's way better than Yasu's DSTT hack Menu (I deleted my Yasu install right after testing Wood... it's cool).

FYI, both work 100% fine with M3DSSimply.

yaynds.gif
 

bluejays

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2009
Messages
160
Trophies
0
Location
Canada
XP
162
Country
Canada
ya but moonshell 2 + ysmenu give it the u know sakura look =D. But when i get around to doing it I may use the r4 wood depending how it feels.
 

Phanox

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
427
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Bogotá
Website
twitch.tv
XP
293
Country
Colombia
Is there a way to use this on M3 Real? I´m trying to RNG in Pokemon Platinum but I have no success, so, I think that the problem is on the delay of the loaders on Sakura/Touchpod. Also to see if NitroHax works with my Heart Gold cart
frown.gif
 

vree

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2005
Messages
663
Trophies
0
XP
1,215
Country
United Kingdom
So is there a way to make this run on G6Real???

It seems to be associated with M3 so, does it work?
 

jurassicplayer

Completionist Themer
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
4,466
Trophies
0
Location
Pantsuland
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
2,229
Country
United States
vree said:
So is there a way to make this run on G6Real???

It seems to be associated with M3 so, does it work?
Posting the same question in multiple threads while rewording them isn't going to get you any closer to an answer that nobody has the ability to try nor the motivation/brains to attempt.
 

vree

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2005
Messages
663
Trophies
0
XP
1,215
Country
United Kingdom
jurassicplayer said:
vree said:
So is there a way to make this run on G6Real???

It seems to be associated with M3 so, does it work?
Posting the same question in multiple threads while rewording them isn't going to get you any closer to an answer that nobody has the ability to try nor the motivation/brains to attempt.


Chillax dude just a normal question,
go watch some more ore no imouto
tongue.gif
 

The Catboy

GBATemp's Official Imp™: Best Imp
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
25,293
Trophies
3
Age
30
Location
In front of my Switch
XP
26,956
Country
Antarctica
HeadHunt said:
TheZara said:
The links provided for the ysmenu upgrade are down. Can someone provide alternative links?
Just check the M3 Wood and M3YS topic by gabaros

http://gbatemp.net/t267243-retrogamefan-updates-releases
Just use the R4 Version

OR just install R4 Wood
http://filetrip.net/f23605-Wood-R4-1-22.html
Yes it does work on M3 Simply.

QUOTE(HeadHunt @ Jan 14 2011, 05:38 PM)
Just check the M3 Wood and M3YS topic by gabaros
Wrong, if he is using M3 Simply, which I am assuming he is using. Those files will not work on it. Go with the links I provided, those will work on M3 Simply.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: @_47iscool do you mean there's a conspiracy to hide the true origins of hip hop in 1920s Sweden?