Howto get maximum protection against a brick?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by wildfire95, Dec 20, 2009.

Dec 20, 2009
  1. wildfire95
    OP

    Member wildfire95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When i first softmodded my Wii, i installed BootMii as boot2 and got a nand backup etc - so everytime i booted my Wii, BootMii would appear.

    Now it doesnt do this, it just went direct to Wii System Menu :S How can i get maximum protection against a brick and whats "Brick-Blocker"

    Thanks,
    Cameron.
     


  2. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    brick blocker is an patcher for isos and then you can play regeion free(search on google for more infos) and just install preloader that should be enough and never ever delete an ios file on youre ecxept when a guide says that its needed!
     
  3. Blastoise

    Member Blastoise GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Country:
    Australia
    Bootmii probably doesnt appear because youv removed the files for bootmii of your SD card or taken your SD Card out. Dont worry though, simply place these files back on your sd card where they respectively belong. You dont need Bootmii to appear on startup
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Bootmii (installed as boot2) will give you max brick protection
    If you don't see it anymore, you either:
    1) Uninstalled it with the hackmii installer
    2) Updated to 4.2, which overwrites boot2 (so you need to install it again)
    3) Removed the bootmii folder of the SD card.

    Another app thats frequently used for brick protection is preloader (or priiloader)
    But bootmii is of course better.

    Brick blocker is a program that removes the update from a wii ISO file. I don't recommend you to use it though (as the compatibility will be lower if you do). To prevent updates, install preloader or startpatch and enable the "block disc updates" hack
     
  5. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Let me get this straight - You have BootMii as Bootv2 and an NAND-Backup? Yes? Than you have the best protection already.

    The reason why it doesn't come up again could be:

    -You haven't inserted an SD with the bootmii Folder on the Root of it.
    -You renamed/deleted the bootmii Folder on the Root of the SD.
    -You changed something in the .ini in the bootmii Folder.

    So...get the latest HackMii-Installer, install bootmii again if prompted, and done.

    Btw: Ever heard of BootMii Configuration Editor? With it, you can tell BootMii to Autoboot to Systemmenu...great huh? What Searching and reading Read Me's can...
     
  6. vegemikee

    Member vegemikee GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    356
    Country:
    Australia
    best protection:
    bootmii as boot2 for nand backups.
    preloader (optional if you already have bootmii/boot2) to save you from those banner bricks, etc
    preloader/startpatch hacks to prevent all system updates from the disc channel. (big issue if you have noobs, or little kids in the family)
     
  7. wildfire95
    OP

    Member wildfire95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ahhh!

    My step-dad stole my Wii SD Card and used it for his music for the Hi-Fi!

    So should i just transfer BootMii to my SD Card? Where can i find it?
     
  8. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Just have Bootmii as IOS and Boot2 and Preloader.
     
  9. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    No real need to transfer it
    Just run the hackmii installer and prepare the SD card again (under the bootmii option)

    If you want your NAND dump, you'll have to transfer it (nand.bin+keys.bin is what you need) or make a new one
     
  10. wildfire95
    OP

    Member wildfire95 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Awesome, got BootMii back at startup [​IMG]

    Ill install PreLoader now, but which of the guides are the best to use? & will it work on 4.2v firmware?
     
  11. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    Australia
    yea its fully compatible if your using Priiloader
     
  12. Ritsuki

    Member Ritsuki ORAORAORAORA

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,217
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I have installed Starfall (yeah the old one) with Rescue Mode and update blocker options. I've also made a backup of my NAND. Is it enough to prevent a brick ? I really don't want to set bootmii as boot2 or make a significant change in my Wii's NAND.
     
  13. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    Australia
    bootmii as boot 2 or your not really safe "bootmii has no effects on wii system and no break your wii if you dont want bootmii anymore you can install a boot2 wad
     
  14. Ritsuki

    Member Ritsuki ORAORAORAORA

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,217
    Country:
    Switzerland
    If there is no SD Card in the Wii, which system loads ? BootMii or the Wii system menu ?
     
  15. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    It will try to load bootmii first (which fails, causing it to flash the disc slot light) and then uses the boot2 functions to load the system menu
     
  16. Ritsuki

    Member Ritsuki ORAORAORAORA

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,217
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Thanks for your informations [​IMG]

    Last questions, when I choose the "Prepare a SD card" option in the BootMii installer, does it format my SD card ? Can I still use this SD card for homebrews after that or it will be dedicated to the booting of BootMii ?

    And what's the difference between installing BootMii as boot2 and as IOS ?
     
  17. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    Australia
    no all this will do is creat the files needed by bootmii to run
    boot2 runs first on the wii so if you get bricked you will always have bootmii as a backup
     
  18. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    "Prepare a SD card" puts your backup up,no reformat,can still use for homebrew,install Bootmii as boot2 and IOS,boot2 so it will load at the start,and IOS so that incase Bootmii doesn't startup in boot2 for some strange reason,but you have preloader/priiloader you can load HBC and run boomii from there
     
  19. Ritsuki

    Member Ritsuki ORAORAORAORA

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,217
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Thanks for all !
     
  20. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    ?
    it just puts the needed files for boot2 on the SD card
    I hope thats what you mean by that?
     

Share This Page