How you can use a 4GB SD card on the Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by dinofan01, Oct 13, 2008.

Oct 13, 2008
  1. dinofan01
    OP

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    Knoxximus at cheapassgamer.com found a way to use a 4GB SD card on the Wii.
    Link
     
  2. Doomsday Forte

    Member Doomsday Forte GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    United States
    That's actually interesting. So basically, you just fill up your 4GB non-SDHC card halfway and slowly remove the buffer data as you naturally fill it?

    Neat concept.
     
  3. dinofan01
    OP

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    Im thinking about getting the sd card. Its not expensive or anything.
     
  4. GameDragon

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I think I might try this too. I've ran out of space on my SD card anyway, so its about time I get a new one.
     
  5. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    I a 4GB non-SDHC card, it's slow as hell, and my sd card reader is broken, and it needs formatting too. My camera reads it as -192(about) pictures remaining. [​IMG] I lost it though. The Wii did pick it up, but really slow. [​IMG] 150x I think... It sucks hard.

    Newegg link is down. You copied from the post and did not quote it eh? Link shortening as always [​IMG]

    This is the one I have 'cept blue [​IMG]
     
  6. g4jek8j54

    Member g4jek8j54 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    459
    Country:
    United States
  7. TSPhoenix

    Member TSPhoenix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Australia
    I've never understood why transfer speeds, game loading speed, etc all vary so wildly on the Wii. Sometimes it copies quickly sometimes slow. More perplexingly as discs can't fragment is that sometimes you start a game and its starts up almost immediately, sometimes you are on a black screen for over a minute.
     
  8. PKGINGO

    Member PKGINGO GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not 100% when this happens, but I do know the Wii copies the mail dol file of some of your recent wii games to its nand for faster booting... perhaps you decided to play a non cached game?
     
  9. dinofan01
    OP

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry about the link Ill fix it.
     
  10. ften

    Member ften GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    My house
    Country:
    Bangladesh
    I made an excel spread sheet about some of the SD formating size issues you may run in a post a while back, just incase you have any issues in formating your SD 4GB Card;

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=99545

    -FTen
     
  11. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada

Share This Page