How was my buy?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by AjDeF3, Jul 18, 2008.

Jul 18, 2008

How was my buy? by AjDeF3 at 5:44 PM (1,650 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. AjDeF3
    OP

    Newcomer AjDeF3 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    Midnight blue Dell XPS m1530.

    Geforce 8600M GT 256 MB


    [​IMG]


    Also got Norton, Microsoft Office, a Warranty.
     
  2. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Overkill for a laptop, and underpowered to be a gaming machine. Just out of curiously, why laptop?
     
  3. AjDeF3
    OP

    Newcomer AjDeF3 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    I wanted it portable. As for underpowered, You think if GTA4 comes out for pc this would be able to run it?
     
  4. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    nice. I cant mow lawn in the summer of AZ cuz I'll either:
    get skin cancer
    die in heat
    get attacked by a weed wacker

    [​IMG]


    where did you by it from?



    maybe, the graphics card might not be able to handle it
     
  5. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    First of all, it's been said many times before the GTA4 is high unlikely for the PC. Even then, you will run it at a low resolution and medium-low setting on graphics.
     
  6. AjDeF3
    OP

    Newcomer AjDeF3 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    Dell.com [​IMG] Ok, Well so far it has satisfied my gaming needs... I hope these new games that are coming out wont need a monster machine.
     
  7. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    Not at the higher settings, resolution and filters together.
     
  8. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    You didn't think to ask BEFORE you spent 2 years worth of money?

    It isn't bad, but you could have gotten a better CPU for $1400
     
  9. Wolfsclaw

    Member Wolfsclaw GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    It's not that high powered, but for a laptop guess it's okay..... but i wouldn't play Crysis on it.

    I will be buying this PC next week for 359€ which is 568 US-Dollar:

    E8400 Core2Duo 2x 3,0Ghz
    NVIDIA GF 8600GT 1024MB Graphics Card
    2GB RAM
    500GB HDD
    + DVD Burner and stuff

    its not bad for that price, eh?
     
  10. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    I'd tap that.


    from newegg, right?

    also, invest in the 4870
     
  11. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    It's a pretty good deal, the processor could be better.

    Why you got 4GB of RAM is beyond me but yes it's a pretty good laptop, since it has Microsoft Word and other software... I would've just bought one for cheaper without software, and pirated the software.
     
  12. Javacat

    Member Javacat GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice laptop. I really like Dell laptops and got the XPS M1330 for work, which looks very similar to the M1530, but is quite a bit smaller. They are very nice looking machines. Also, if my M1330 is anything to go by, your laptop should be pretty decent.

    Now you just need to cut some more lawns for a few months for money to buy a kick ass desktop to compliment the laptop [​IMG]
     
  13. AjDeF3
    OP

    Newcomer AjDeF3 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    Just what I want to do [​IMG]

    So far my only regret is the processor. But after upgrading to this after having a windows 98 pc, and an old dell laptop with a broken LCD, and not even the ability to run zoo tycoon at full speed, the laptop seems like god.
     
  14. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    You might consider upgrading to Vista x64 to have full use of that ram. Running a 32bit OS is a bit of a waste, as it will never be able to use 4 gigs of ram. Usually your same cdkey for Vista will work on the 64 bit version also.
     
  15. AjDeF3
    OP

    Newcomer AjDeF3 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    Really? I understand Vista 32 that I have works with 3gigs, but can you explain the whole upgrading? What are the pros and cons of it? And is it free?

    Thanks a lot! [​IMG]
     
  16. Gman 101

    Member Gman 101 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Karkand & Mashtuur City
    Country:
    Australia
    Now that's nice. But change the 8600GT for a HD4850 and you'll have more than double the power of one 8600GT.

    And I wouldn't even play Crysis even if I can.
     

Share This Page