How To Use Goomba Color on EZ Flash IV using Gameboy Advance SP? (Need a Good Tutorial)

Discussion in 'GBA - Emulation' started by scottg1234, Aug 13, 2013.

  1. scottg1234

    scottg1234 Newbie

    Hi all!

    I got my EZ Flash IV all set up for my GBA. Everything is working fine.

    But I want to play old Gameboy and Gameboy color games. I heard Goomba Color is the best tool to use, but for the life of me, I cannot figure out how to use it with my EZ Flash IV. And on top of that, I cannot even find a good tutorial. I thought I might have overlooked the Goomba Color website. I checked again. I still could not find it. I found a tutorial on YouTube, but it is in Spanish and the video is extremely blurry.

    Does any know a good tutorial on how to use to Use Goomba Color on EZ Flash IV using Gameboy Advance SP?

    If not, and if it does not take much of your time, can anyone tell me how to use it?




    I thought this was the most appropriate section to post this thread in, if not, let me know which is best.
     
  2. macmanhigh

    macmanhigh THC = Truly High Caliber

    Banned
    699
    112
    Mar 29, 2012
    United States
    BuddsVille,CA
    Hey Budd whut u gotta do is add all ur gameboy/color roms into the Goomba Color folder......ur basically gonna create a .gba game file outta the roms

    Run the .bat file and u should get something like "GBC.gba" if I'm not mistaken

    Then just load .gba from ur list of games a menu should come up with the titles u inserted.....then I believe L+R button brings up Menu

    ;)
     
  3. scottg1234

    scottg1234 Newbie

    Thanks for the info. I feel that I got closer, but I still cannot get it. I'm getting no output. Tried different things.

    Here is a photo of how the menu looks like.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Count Duckula

    Count Duckula .

    Member
    631
    162
    Aug 17, 2008
    Australia
    Select each ROM in the left box and press the 'Add->' button, then press 'Compile'.

    Did any of those games have a RTC? If so you're likely going to want a patched version of the ROM or some time based events may not work.

    EDIT: It's best to use the patched version of the emulator from here: http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=12660
    The download (http://www.kuwanger.net/exit_patched_5-23-08.zip) includes the other common emulators for GBA also.

    To use it:
    • Replace the goomba.gba in the 'goomba' folder on your desktop with the one from the download
    • Run the app to generate your output .gba file (eg dafdasf.gba as in your screenshot)
    • Rename goomba.sav (from the download) to the name of your output gba file, eg dafdasf.sav
    • Copy the .sav file to X:\saver on your miniSD and the .gba file to wherever you want on the miniSD.
     
  5. Another World

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Former Staff
    10,502
    1,695
    Jan 3, 2008
    Colombia
    From Where???
  6. scottg1234

    scottg1234 Newbie

    tried it just like that, but no output. going to try to patched version now.
     
  7. scottg1234

    scottg1234 Newbie

    I still cannot get it to work. might just try another computer later on.
     
  8. Count Duckula

    Count Duckula .

    Member
    631
    162
    Aug 17, 2008
    Australia
    Are you clicking the 'Add->' button to add the ROMs to the output? They have to be listed in the right hand box, you screenshot shows they havnt been added (the ROM names are only listed in the left box).
     
  9. scottg1234

    scottg1234 Newbie

    Yea I had the roms on the right side, gave them new headers too. clicked compile. I get the success message. but i have no clue where the output went or if there was actually any output.
     
  10. Nusdogg

    Nusdogg GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    369
    45
    Feb 3, 2013
    United States
    St. Paul, MN
    I converted Pokemon Yellow version into .gba file, and the whole image is all yellow when playing on the VBA? The game is playing but there's no color at all, it's just transparent yellow. Is this normal?

    I wanted to test it out if it works on the VBA before transferring it over into my EZ Flash IV.
     
  11. Count Duckula

    Count Duckula .

    Member
    631
    162
    Aug 17, 2008
    Australia
    The output is located/named as set in the second box from the top on the left, in your screenshot its a file named dafdasf.gba located on your desktop.
    It's really very straightforward, just follow each step in the guide another world posted (step 2 in this case).
     
  12. DanTheManMS

    DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Member
    4,330
    107
    Jun 2, 2007
    United States
    Georgia
    I wouldn't be surprised if the issue is in the ampersand (&) in the folder path. The Goomba Frontend doesn't like special characters in the filenames, which has caused problems for Pokemon games if the e is accented. Try doing everything in a folder directly off of C:\ instead.
     
  13. Count Duckula

    Count Duckula .

    Member
    631
    162
    Aug 17, 2008
    Australia
    That sounded like such a likely cause I tested it, works fine for me with an & in path.
    http://imgur.com/kl85zVJ
     
  14. DanTheManMS

    DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Member
    4,330
    107
    Jun 2, 2007
    United States
    Georgia
    Well either way, you could also just open a command window and type:
    Code:
    copy /b goomba.gba + GAME1.gb + GAME2.gbc + ... + GAME99.gb output.gba
    That's for Windows but you get the idea. Literally concatenate the games onto the end of the Goomba.gba file and it'll work.
     
  15. Sizednochi

    Sizednochi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    651
    406
    Dec 16, 2012
    Brazil
    I had the same exact problem as OP yesterday. You see, I always used Goomba Color, but then I found out Goomba can scale the window and draw outside bondaries on old GB games, so I wanted to try that, but Goomba wouldn't compile... Turns out it was a broblem with Goombafront. The one I got from the old goomba site wasn't saving any output. Literally.

    So I recommend you to get the emulator files for your EZIV down here (click on "updated collection"). Use Goomba Color, not Goomba, as Goomba will only run Old GB games, and Goomba Color will run both GB/GBC, as well as colorizing GB games like a GBC would.
    http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=12660

    This, for example, is because you're running it on "Goomba" instead of using Goomba Color.


    And get Goomba front from the Version 3-31-2008 package down here. Just get the Front, and delete the rest, as you're gonna use the Goomba Color emulator file from the fisrt link.
    http://www.dwedit.org/gba/goombacolor.php

    Compile you roms, and DON'T USE the EZ Flash tool to send them to your SD card. Just literally copy and paste it there. You see, the emulator comes with a .sav file, so you put your compiled emulator in there with that .sav file on the EZIV save folder. If you use the Ez flash tool, it won't work. These are exit patched so you can exit directly to the menu and back up your saves without needing to turn the GBA on and Off.

    That should do.
     
    macmanhigh likes this.
  16. scottg1234

    scottg1234 Newbie

    Thanks guys, going to try these methods out once I get in the mood again to play a GB/GBC game again. :)
     
  17. albertar

    albertar GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    167
    4
    Jan 5, 2015
    United States
    what do i put in the "select output file" of the Goomba Front? Do i just select any random gba rom?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    sorry i'm retarded. I thought i had to specifically choose a file. I figured it out. thanks