TEMPORARY MODE ENABLED  
  1. scottg1234

    scottg1234 Newbie

    Hi all!

    I got my EZ Flash IV all set up for my GBA. Everything is working fine.

    But I want to play old Gameboy and Gameboy color games. I heard Goomba Color is the best tool to use, but for the life of me, I cannot figure out how to use it with my EZ Flash IV. And on top of that, I cannot even find a good tutorial. I thought I might have overlooked the Goomba Color website. I checked again. I still could not find it. I found a tutorial on YouTube, but it is in Spanish and the video is extremely blurry.

    Does any know a good tutorial on how to use to Use Goomba Color on EZ Flash IV using Gameboy Advance SP?

    If not, and if it does not take much of your time, can anyone tell me how to use it?




    I thought this was the most appropriate section to post this thread in, if not, let me know which is best.
     
  2. macmanhigh

    macmanhigh THC = Truly High Caliber
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    699
    Country:
    United States
    Hey Budd whut u gotta do is add all ur gameboy/color roms into the Goomba Color folder......ur basically gonna create a .gba game file outta the roms

    Run the .bat file and u should get something like "GBC.gba" if I'm not mistaken

    Then just load .gba from ur list of games a menu should come up with the titles u inserted.....then I believe L+R button brings up Menu

    ;)
     
  3. scottg1234

    scottg1234 Newbie

    Thanks for the info. I feel that I got closer, but I still cannot get it. I'm getting no output. Tried different things.

    Here is a photo of how the menu looks like.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Count Duckula

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    Australia
    Select each ROM in the left box and press the 'Add->' button, then press 'Compile'.

    Did any of those games have a RTC? If so you're likely going to want a patched version of the ROM or some time based events may not work.

    EDIT: It's best to use the patched version of the emulator from here: http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=12660
    The download (http://www.kuwanger.net/exit_patched_5-23-08.zip) includes the other common emulators for GBA also.

    To use it:
    • Replace the goomba.gba in the 'goomba' folder on your desktop with the one from the download
    • Run the app to generate your output .gba file (eg dafdasf.gba as in your screenshot)
    • Rename goomba.sav (from the download) to the name of your output gba file, eg dafdasf.sav
    • Copy the .sav file to X:\saver on your miniSD and the .gba file to wherever you want on the miniSD.
     
  5. Another World

    Another World Emulate the Planet!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,578
    Country:
    Colombia
  6. scottg1234

    scottg1234 Newbie

    tried it just like that, but no output. going to try to patched version now.
     
  7. scottg1234

    scottg1234 Newbie

    I still cannot get it to work. might just try another computer later on.
     
  8. Count Duckula

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    Australia
    Are you clicking the 'Add->' button to add the ROMs to the output? They have to be listed in the right hand box, you screenshot shows they havnt been added (the ROM names are only listed in the left box).
     
  9. scottg1234

    scottg1234 Newbie

    Yea I had the roms on the right side, gave them new headers too. clicked compile. I get the success message. but i have no clue where the output went or if there was actually any output.
     
  10. Nusdogg

    Nusdogg GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    I converted Pokemon Yellow version into .gba file, and the whole image is all yellow when playing on the VBA? The game is playing but there's no color at all, it's just transparent yellow. Is this normal?

    I wanted to test it out if it works on the VBA before transferring it over into my EZ Flash IV.
     
  11. Count Duckula

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    Australia
    The output is located/named as set in the second box from the top on the left, in your screenshot its a file named dafdasf.gba located on your desktop.
    It's really very straightforward, just follow each step in the guide another world posted (step 2 in this case).
     
  12. DanTheManMS

    DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,355
    Country:
    United States
    I wouldn't be surprised if the issue is in the ampersand (&) in the folder path. The Goomba Frontend doesn't like special characters in the filenames, which has caused problems for Pokemon games if the e is accented. Try doing everything in a folder directly off of C:\ instead.
     
  13. Count Duckula

    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    Australia
    That sounded like such a likely cause I tested it, works fine for me with an & in path.
    http://imgur.com/kl85zVJ
     
  14. DanTheManMS

    DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,355
    Country:
    United States
    Well either way, you could also just open a command window and type:
    Code:
    copy /b goomba.gba + GAME1.gb + GAME2.gbc + ... + GAME99.gb output.gba
    That's for Windows but you get the idea. Literally concatenate the games onto the end of the Goomba.gba file and it'll work.
     
  15. Sizednochi

    Sizednochi GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    689
    Country:
    Brazil
    I had the same exact problem as OP yesterday. You see, I always used Goomba Color, but then I found out Goomba can scale the window and draw outside bondaries on old GB games, so I wanted to try that, but Goomba wouldn't compile... Turns out it was a broblem with Goombafront. The one I got from the old goomba site wasn't saving any output. Literally.

    So I recommend you to get the emulator files for your EZIV down here (click on "updated collection"). Use Goomba Color, not Goomba, as Goomba will only run Old GB games, and Goomba Color will run both GB/GBC, as well as colorizing GB games like a GBC would.
    http://ezflash.sosuke.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=12660

    This, for example, is because you're running it on "Goomba" instead of using Goomba Color.


    And get Goomba front from the Version 3-31-2008 package down here. Just get the Front, and delete the rest, as you're gonna use the Goomba Color emulator file from the fisrt link.
    http://www.dwedit.org/gba/goombacolor.php

    Compile you roms, and DON'T USE the EZ Flash tool to send them to your SD card. Just literally copy and paste it there. You see, the emulator comes with a .sav file, so you put your compiled emulator in there with that .sav file on the EZIV save folder. If you use the Ez flash tool, it won't work. These are exit patched so you can exit directly to the menu and back up your saves without needing to turn the GBA on and Off.

    That should do.
     
    macmanhigh likes this.
  16. scottg1234

    scottg1234 Newbie

    Thanks guys, going to try these methods out once I get in the mood again to play a GB/GBC game again. :)
     
  17. albertar

    albertar GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    what do i put in the "select output file" of the Goomba Front? Do i just select any random gba rom?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    sorry i'm retarded. I thought i had to specifically choose a file. I figured it out. thanks
     
  18. aquatan

    aquatan Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sorry I'm new here, I just made an account to ask the same thing, I'm still having issues with this myself, I'm using the goomba thing too but when I try to open the games on my ds lite its not working. I added the games and complied them and from what I understand it saves into a list then u pick on the list which to play? I tried doing the separately too but still didn't run. I'm getting some error psram something or other. I'm also using the EZ Flash IV and I think the issue (or part of it) is when it asks what emulator I downloaded virtualboy something but I'm not using it and cant find the one that's actually on my microsd.
     
  19. Localhorst86

    Localhorst86 Robert'); DROP TABLE members;--
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2,460
    Country:
    Germany
    Your Goomba ROM is larger than 16Mb. The EZflash IV only has 16Mb of PSRAM, 32Mb of NOR.

    you need to either:

    a) flash the compiled Goomba ROM to NOR (if it's smaller than 32Mb)

    b) make a smaller Goomba ROM with fewer games
     
  20. caileb

    caileb Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Canada
    LMAO I AM RETARDED AND CANT FIGURE OUT THE OUTPUT FILE SITUATION!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Tutorial), Gameboy, Advance