1. BLCKBLuR

    OP BLCKBLuR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    So basically I am having an issue with HBG Shop since lats night, no matter if I install an app to SD card, OR to my NAND... the app/game ALWAYS finishes installed and when I go to the homescreen, it's just a grey ivon with a loading symnbol, and if I select the game/app, it says there is corrupted data...

    This happens on all 4 of my SD Cards, and it happens when I install a game/app form HBG Shop through NAND also.... Which leads me to believe it is either a problem with HBG Shop/tinfoil... or with my FW needing to be updated.

    So I went to HBG Shop Discord liek an hour ago after trying to fix this all last night.

    At first everyone was EXTREMELY nice... but after about 5 min, someone sent me a 6 step guide to follow and try to fix this problem.

    The guide happened to be the exact same one I found online last night and tried 2 times, but didn't work.

    So I told this person that I had already tried that guide, 2 times and it didn't work.

    This person INSTANTLY starts getting mad at me, telling me I am lying and that I obviously didnt try to follow the guide, because it would be working by now...

    So after going back and forth with this person, trying to find out what the point of me lying about following a guide would help with, especially if my switch is STILL broken....

    5 min later some else told me that HBG Shop Discord states in the pins that it is important to be on the latest firmware.

    then the person who argued with me saying I didn't follow their guide last night, called me an "entitled B*tch" and then they banned me from HBG Shop discord...
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Anyways, So basically long story short....

    Any time I install something using HBG Shop onto either of my 4 SD Cards, or also onto my NAND. the app/game I installed jsut shows a grey square with a loading symbol on the home screen, and if I press A on it, it says it's corrupt.

    Someone told me that updating my FWQ to the newest is one of the recommended things on HBG Shops discord and fixes this issue.

    Can someone PLEASE Explain to me how I can do this???

    I am currently on...

    FW - 8.0.1
    CFW - Atmosphere 0.10.1



    Thanks in advance everyone!!!!
    The only community I can ALWAYS trust! <3

    Sincerely,
    Jon
     
  2. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Country:
    United States
    You can update to 9.1.0 using ChoiDujourNX. The latest version of Atmosphere (0.10.1) fully supports 9.1.0.

    If you don't want to burn your fuses, keep the AutoRCM option ticked. If you don't want to install AutoRCM, untick that option. If you use an exFAT SD card (not recommended), make sure you install the exFAT version of the 9.1.0 update.
     
  3. HyperShadow

    HyperShadow Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Malta
    Before updating you should probably try installing the latest sigpatches. I had the same problem (blank icon after installing and also corrupted data msgs) and installing these sigpatches fixed everything. I'm still on 8.1.0.

    Kosmos_patches_12_08_2019_bootconfig.zip
    https://github.com/Joonie86/hekate/releases/tag/5.0.0J
     
  4. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    9,139
    Country:
    United States
    You will need to download 9.1.0 firmware somewhere (don't ask where. Its illegal) then update to 9.1.0 using ChoiDujourNX then get the latest version of Atmosphere 0.10.1 and you are all set. Don't forget the sigpatch the latest as well. Above already posted it. Enjoy!:)
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2019
  5. BLCKBLuR

    OP BLCKBLuR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks you to everyone who replied so super fast!!!

    I am only going to update to 9.1.0 if I have to, I was just though of testing GoldTree to install NSP's like I used to before I got HBG Shop, and it works fine.

    So HBG Shop is definitely the issue. Now I am not sure if I should update my FW or not... Do I need it for anything at all?
     
  6. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Country:
    United States
    While your issue above might be related to signature patches, you should know that, in order to play newer games, you are going to have to update eventually. Updating to 9.1.0 is recommended.
     
  7. BLCKBLuR

    OP BLCKBLuR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    Okay then I will update once I am done playing F-Zero xD

    Also, what did you mean by my issue above might be related to sig patches?

    I mean, I know what the Sig Patches are and what they are used for. But I didn't change any sig patches or update them at all, between the time of trying to install an app with HBG Shop, and installing the same app but with GoldTree over USB.

    So how could the sig Patches have affected it?

    Edit: P.S - I am not trying to Defy what you said or anything lol. I am literally jsut trying to figure out what is causing this issue with HBG Shop... I don't mind using GoldTree to install NSP's Over USB. But I would like to use HBG Shop for simplicity, and the fact that it supports .NSZ files, so the downloads can be smaller.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2019
  8. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Country:
    United States
    There are different kinds of signature patches. You might have some of the correct patches, but you might be missing others.
     
  9. BLCKBLuR

    OP BLCKBLuR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I can understand that,but my question is basically this... If incorrect sig patches were possibly the problem, then how come the app I am trying to install, works fine when installed with GoldTree?
     
  10. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using the same NSP file with both GoldTree and Tinfoil? My understanding was you were downloading the game with HBG.
     
  11. BLCKBLuR

    OP BLCKBLuR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    YEah The issue I am having happens with EVERY game/app that HBG Shop has. But only started happening last night. Never had an issue with HBG Shop until last night.

    So about 20 min ago I tried to install the same game "SNES Switch Online" with GoldTree, and that worked fine.

    When I tried to install it with HBG Shop, I downloaded it THROUGH HBG Shop, same with all the other games/apps I have tired.

    So I dont know if it's the same NSP...

    All I know is that it' is the same app.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —


    P.S - I already had SNES Online app installed, but when I tried to download it with HBG Shop last night, I was only doing that because I wanted to update it. THATS when I noticed this issue started.
     
  12. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Country:
    United States
    That doesn't mean it's the same NSP. Different NSP files can require different kinds of signature patches, even if it's the same game. If you want to troubleshoot without updating your system, I recommend the following steps:
    1. Make a NAND backup with Hekate if you haven't already. Store it somewhere safe.
    2. Remove all CFW files/folders from your SD card (that would be folders like /sept/ and /atmosphere/)
    3. Download the latest Atmosphere from github
    4. Download the latest fusee-primary (next to Atmosphere)
    5. Download these signature patches
    6. Put Atmosphere and the signature patches onto your SD card
    7. Download the latest HBG
    8. Delete /switch/tinfoil from your SD card
    9. From HBG, put only the /switch/tinfoil folder onto your SD card.
    10. Put the SD into your Switch
    11. Launch Atmosphere using fusee-primary
    12. Test HBG
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2019
    MUDD_BR likes this.
  13. BLCKBLuR

    OP BLCKBLuR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    I am going to update everything, FW and Sig Patches. I might as well anyways.

    Yeah I totally understand what you mean, I just dont understand why it happens with EVERY SINGLE game/app I download from HBG Shop, and it only started doing this last night. Even if I download a game that I already had that worked fine, that game wont work now...
     
  14. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Country:
    United States
    That means you're either missing signature patches, or you're using the wrong signature patches. Odds are you overwrote signature patches you had previously with the wrong ones from the HBG package. Follow the steps I listed above, and everything will probably start working again. When you're done, you can use ChoiDujourNX to update to 9.1.0.
     
  15. BLCKBLuR

    OP BLCKBLuR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    Oh also, that is the same guide that the person from HBG Shop told me to follow, the person who argued with me telling me that I haven't tried that guide yet.

    I tried it 3 times already, it didn't change anything...

    I guess my only real option is to just update sig patches and FW..

    I already have the new sig patches but maybe they got corrupted or something.

    If the new FW doesn't fix this, then idk what to do, maybe I just can't use HBG Shop anymore ;'[


    Thanks for all the help!!!
     
  16. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Country:
    United States
    You need to follow each step of the guide. Skipping steps will result in issues.
     
  17. BLCKBLuR

    OP BLCKBLuR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    Again, like I said before a few times...

    This is happening to games that worked 5 min before hand.

    Like this....

    Yesterday I was playing a "game 1".

    Later on yesterday I decided to download an update for "game 2" from HBG Shop.

    After this point "Game 2" stopped working and says its corrupt.

    So then I decided to see if the same thing happened with any other HBG Shop games.

    So I deleted "game 1" and redownloaded it from HBG Shop, WITHOUT UPDATES OR DLC. (so the game should have been the EXACT SAME VERSION AND NSP that I originally downloaded from HBG Shop, which worked fine, and was completely playable.)

    After redownloading "Game 1", it did not work, it gave me the same issue as "Game 2"
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Do you understand what I am saying and Why I am confused as to my the sig patches would work at one minute, but then if I delete a game that was installed with HBG Shop that WORKS and reinstall it from HBG Shop, ijt doesn't work anymore.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Also, I did not skip any steps. I followed that guide WORD for WORD, 3 times now, and it hasn't fixed anything.

    You basically just told me what the person from HBG Shop Discord who banned me for being an "entitled b*tch".... "Don't skip steps"


    But I did not skip any steps... So I don't understand why everyone keeps telling me that ...
     
  18. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Country:
    United States
    People are telling you that you are skipping steps because your symptoms are the same as those one would experience if certain steps were skipped that are often skipped. I don't think you're lying, but it's possible you're making a mistake and/or accidentally skipping steps. Following my steps should fix your issues. Newer games may require 9.x, regardless of whether or not you follow my steps.
     
  19. BLCKBLuR

    OP BLCKBLuR GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    I am currently following your steps again, I just got to step 5. Give me a minute and I will let you know what happens.

    Yeah I know certain games need higher FW's but like I said...

    This is happening to games that I already have installed. If I delete the game, then go to HBG Shop, and download it and install it there, even though I KNOW for sure the game works on my FW, it will not install, after done downloading and installing, the home menu tells me the game is corrupted.
     
  20. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Country:
    United States
    HBG only uses eShop dumps, which require one set of patches. Some of the games you installed previously were likely cartridge dumps, which require different patches. Your patches might be mismatched due to the installation of patches from HBG overwriting your previously existing patches, and/or your previously existing patches weren't correct for the HBG dumps. Regardless of what caused your problem, following my steps above exactly should fix your problem.

    If your problem is not fixed, the problem could be your games are actually corrupt and/or a problem with your SD card.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Atmosphere, firmware, update