How to update 3.2U to 4.0 or 4.1U now that 4.2U is out???

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by esmith13, Oct 11, 2009.

  1. esmith13
    OP

    Member esmith13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Like the title says, I have a soft modded (and chipped) USA Wii currently running System Menu 3.2U that I want to update to 4.0U or 4.1U to get some of the new features. I still want homebrew functionality and USB loading support.

    Can someone please suggest a way to do this now that 4.2U is out and I can't simply do a legit update and then re-hack?

    Also, My HBC is v1.0.3 and it wants to update to 1.0.6 but the hackmii installer says it can't install because stuff is modified (I assume a cIOS or MIOS change caused this).

    I'm guessing I'd need to reload a system menu first to fix that part of it?


    Anyhoo, my current Wii status is 3.2U, cIOS rev12 (I think) custom MIOS, USB Loader support with USB Loader X disc channel loading, HBC 1.0.3, BootMii (one or two versions behind) loaded as boot2 and preloader 0.28.


    If someone could help get me on the newest homebrew-safe system menu possible (even if that is 4.2U, I just assume that's not a good idea) with needed cIOS/MIOS/etc I would greatly appreciate it.


    Thanks in advance,


    Eric
     
  2. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    Esmith, i don't want to be a dick.... but i want to PUNCH you sooo hard right now. THERE ARE GUIDES FOR THIS COMPLETELY 100% all over this forum man, PLEASE READ. I'll be in ur debt if you just SEARCH and READ...

    Posts merged

    I want to help you I really do, but your just being lazy.

    Being a "user" of hacking software, you really need to be read to better understand everything, before you do anything yourself, opinions from random dudes will you get bricked faster than a fat girl runs when the pizza guy knocks on the door. The stickies are here for you my friend.

    Wynd
     
  3. esmith13
    OP

    Member esmith13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    OK, I've been reading posts and stickies for 3 days looking for my answer to no avail... I know how to use the software hacks and I'm not worried about bricking my Wii. I DON'T know how to upgrade my Wii to a new system menu without using the built in nintendo updater tho (which will of course take me straight to 4.2U).

    If you want me to search more, fine - can you at least tell me the name of the program I need or the accepted name of the process used to accomplish it so I know what magic words to search for????


    PLEASE??


    Eric
     
  4. User423

    Member User423 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Follow the first guide in the sticky.....
     
  5. DrHectic

    Newcomer DrHectic Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
  6. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States

    You made an error there
    3 Days --> 3 minutes
     
  7. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    you also made an error
    3 Days --> 3 minutes --> 3 seconds
     
  8. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    3 Days --> 3 minutes --> 3 seconds --> Not

    [​IMG] j/k

    xzxeros guide updates you to 4.1 by installing the 4.1 wad (aka step 4)
     
  9. esmith13
    OP

    Member esmith13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    I must be COMPLETELY missing something!! I followed that same guide start to finish already, and when it was all said and done it was working, hacked AND STILL ON 3.2U!! I even ran the safe 4.2 updater and was STILL on 3.2U with corrupted files, so I used NUS Downloader to make a WAD of the 3.2U system menu only and installed it to repair the files.

    Inspite of all the harshness mixed in with the rest - thank you all for giving some insight to my problem.



    Eric
     
  10. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    update to 3.4U with the menu system updater

    Update to 4.1 with wak's 4.1 updater (on the forum and all over the web)

    Make you u install preloader, and bootmii whether to iso or boot2.

    Bah you're at 4.1. sorry everyone here is happy to help, but we're pretty tired of the same questions, especially when some great gbatemp members have met excellent guides.

    Example, I've been wanting to flash my xbox360, I read hundreds of guides, dev sites, etc and now I have Ixtreme 1.6 and it works perfect. All it takes it reading.

    Wynd
     
  11. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    The easiest way to update to 4.1 (for now) is to use Firmware Downgrader mod by Attila, which has 4.1. Get it right here.
     
  12. esmith13
    OP

    Member esmith13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks alot, but again - to get to 4.0U or 4.1U I don't know exactly what WADs I need... But if I knew what WADs/IOSs I needed I could just use NUS Downloader and make the WADs myself...


    Eric
     
  13. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    The Firmware Downgrader mod also has an Internet connection, so you don't need WADs required for offline downgrade. Do you have Internet installed in your Wii (not on your computer)?
     
  14. esmith13
    OP

    Member esmith13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    By Menu System Update do you mean the Wii's built-in updater?? I SEARCHED for "Menu System Updater" and only found reference to the built in tool. I assumed if I ran that it would go from 3.2U STRAIGHT to 4.2U??

    Also, if it matters I have PreLoader 0.28 (didn't do the 0.29 update yet) and about a 4-month old version of BootMii/HackMii (HBC is 1.0.3, not sure what BootMii version is) loaded as Boot2.



    Eric
     
  15. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Nice little app let's you go up and down firmware and also tells you if your wii's boot2 is compatable with downgrade even has 4.2 system menu

    Just went from 3.2E - 4.1E in about 10 mins
     
  16. esmith13
    OP

    Member esmith13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Did it require you to provide the necessary IOSs/WADs or did it acquire them itself during the process?


    Eric
     
  17. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    it tells you which IOS's and wads you need or you can just let it download and install them for you
     
  18. esmith13
    OP

    Member esmith13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    SWEET!!! Sounds like it's the quickest solution to my question. Thanks to you and everyone else for not only screaming "search" at me. :-)


    Eric
     

Share This Page