How to un-screw dull screws?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by AlanJohn, Aug 21, 2011.

Aug 21, 2011

How to un-screw dull screws? by AlanJohn at 12:31 PM (1,946 Views / 0 Likes) 28 replies

  1. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I got this DSi from a friend, and he claims that his fuse is blown,
    Now, when I tried to take it apart, I see dull screws.
    Ofcourse my clever friend at first tried to take it apart himself, and he used another type of screwdriver (I think he used tri-wing *facepalm*).
    Anyone know how Im supposed to take it apart again now?
     


  2. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    ^Damn that would be a pain.
    I usually keep on trying with those kind of things until it works [​IMG].
     
  3. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Experimenting would just dull the screws even more.
     
  4. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah I usually break the stuff more unless I know what im doing D=
     
  5. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Ok, I was able to take out the screws (I just pushed on them a bit).
    Anyway to give the screws a grip in order to screw them back in?
     
  6. kamins

    Newcomer kamins Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Lithuania
    It's probably best to just buy new screws, next time it might be even harder to un-screw them.
     
  7. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I cannot buy new screws.
     
  8. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Told you trying alot works [​IMG]
     
  9. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    But if I try alot then I will make the screws even more dull.
     
  10. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    But you said you got them out because you worked out that you had to push on em abit.
    Therefore you worked it out by trying [​IMG]
     
  11. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    But I had to pay for that- I made the screws even a bit more dull.
    I need legitimate help.
     
  12. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Bad news I cant work out how to change my custom title D= (I looked in edit profile info and its not there D=).
    oh well, atleast you got them out.
     
  13. Narayan

    Member Narayan desu~

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Country:
    Philippines
    why not?
     
  14. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Because Im a f*cking cheapskate and I don't have dept card neither a paypal, + shipping is super-expensive here in this shit-country.
    Sorry, Im just really mad because I want some legitimate answers.

    @kevan go to Me Controls, then go to profile settings.
     
  15. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Im guessing you mean My Controls then Profile Information?
    Not there D=. And I just cleared cache via restarting PC.
     
  16. Narayan

    Member Narayan desu~

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Country:
    Philippines
    it's there. look again
    [​IMG]

    @AJ, well, the only solution i see is buy new screws.
    but at times, i push them hard then twist them slowly if it still bites. if it's above the surface, i sometimes use the [longnose] pliers. but after that, i replace them.
     
  17. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    I have D= *Starts Crying*.
    Ill upload mine in a sec.

    Edit:[​IMG]
     
  18. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Thanks alot kevan.
    You helped me alot here.
    Like, you cleverly came into here with your off-topicness as I was able to fix the damn thing myself!
    You should get promoted.
     
  19. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Ok, I decided to put back only the good screws back into the DSi and throw away the old ones.
    I will go through the same hell I went to get a DSi just to get the screws, at the owners cost of course....
     
  20. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    @kevan
    What's with the off-topicness? [​IMG]
    Try changing the GBAtemp skin.

    @AlanJohn
    Check if there are similar screws on (or in) any other broken electronics you might have lying around. If you don't, just put a rubber band around the DS [​IMG]
     

Share This Page