How to turn your M3 Real or M3i Zero into R4i RTS

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Crystal the Glaceon, Jan 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Crystal the Glaceon
    OP

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,811
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    A message from Densetsu

    READ THIS!​

    No! This will not work on the R4! This is for M3 Real/i Zero, but will not work on M3i Zero GMP-Z003. No more asking this question!​


    No it does not allow your M3 Real to play on DSi nor DSi XL. This is just using the R4i RTS firmware, not using the hardware.

    This firmware does how ever work on M3i Zero.​


    How to turn an M3 Real or M3i Zero into an R4i RTS.

    Step 1: Download the latest R4i RTS Firmware from here
    Step 2: Extract it
    Step 3:Download this, files proved by dsrules
    Megaupload Mirror, this comes with the loader.eng needed to patch the files
    That file contains the files needed to convert R4i RTS to M3 Real or M3i Zero
    So Extract that as well.
    Step 4: Now you need to copy LOADER.ENG, Loader.eng has been blocked on 2.7 and 2.7a
    You need to use an older LOADER.ENG file from an older version like 2.6 or below to make this work properly (method told to me by dsrules and tested by L551, thanks guys.) , and go into the _system_\_sys_data folder and copy R4i.sys into the same folder as the patching tools.
    Step 5: Double-click R4iRTS2M3Reng.bat and a cmd window should start up, wait a few seconds and it should just close. It'll patch those 2 files as well create 2 new files g6dsload.eng and R4irts.nds.
    Step 6. Copy the R4i.sys back into the _system_\_sys_data folder, overwrite the original one.
    Step 7. Copy _ds_menu.dat and the _system_ folder to the root of your microSD card.
    Step 8. Copy the g6dsload.eng into the System folder (the system folder in the patching tools, it should only include 2 files into it, g6dsload.1 and g6dsload.1.) copy the System folder into the root of your microSD card.
    And there you go, now you are running R4i RTS firmware on your M3 Real or M3i Zero.
    There are some other steps included in the Readme about other ways to installing this firmware and other uses of it, so check that out too.
    If you want to go back to Real, just delete all those files and put the M3 Real Firmware on your card.
    This thread was changed due to the iTouch firmware being locked out from working on M3's anymore.
    Last bit of info, this will not make an M3 Real work on a DSi nor DSi XL, this is only the firmware from R4i RTS, not the hardware.
    Same thing as the other one, please don't copy/quote the whole front page to tell me there is a mistake or something you don't understand. If there is something not clear or wrong, please tell me by referring to the step(s), that is incorrect, not clear, ect.
    Also small note, this firmware uses the same skins as the original R4 so now you are open to a crap load of skins.
    Do not flame this thread. Any flaming posts will be reported, my topics are not open debates/discussions on how you feel about me.

    Themes for R4i RTS:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     


  2. DCG

    Member DCG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    just a question, will you be able to turn your m3 back into a ds real again by just removing those files or do you need to do something els aswell?
     
  3. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes, you will. Just remove all the files you've copied over (and the folders they were in [​IMG]), and put the latest firmware on. [​IMG]
     
  4. dsrules

    Member dsrules GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,301
    Country:
    yeah, the boot.eng is already patched to become g6dsload.eng, you don't need it anymore on your microsd
     
  5. Crystal the Glaceon
    OP

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,811
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I just put it in there for good measure really.
     
  6. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm interesting - just wondering.

    Would this work on a M3i0 ??
    Since that uses M3Real firmware as well (I think I may have a go when I get home)
    - I've always liked the icon 'wall' effect used in 'iFav'
     
  7. Crystal the Glaceon
    OP

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,811
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I don't own an M3i Zero yet.
    Please test it and tell me if it works. ^-^ Thank you!
     
  8. Van_Tastic

    Newcomer Van_Tastic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Morocco
    What's the advantage(s) of using the iTouchDS firmwares instead of the M3 Sakura's ?
     
  9. Crystal the Glaceon
    OP

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,811
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well it's a smaller firmware so there is more memory on the card.
    It works with all files as M3 (sav's, cheats, so on)
    It has iFav, where you can pin up some games you want to find easier.
    It has all the features of Touchpod, but it's faster going through games than Touchoad.
    Customizable like other firmwares.
    It's a very simple firmware
    Has pretty damn good Homebrew support.

    Now there are some issues
    GBA can be a bit slow to boot up, but you can use GBA-Explorer if that is annoying.
    And it only supports on skin, so when you need to change it, you have to delete the one you have. (I could be wrong on that, please some tell me if I am)
    And they have fixed this, but it still has a bit of slow boot-up time, but really it's about the same speed as the M3 Touchpod boot-up time (at least for me, some cards might be different)
     
  10. Van_Tastic

    Newcomer Van_Tastic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Morocco
    Thanks for the precisions, I'll give it a try to see which one's the best !

    Same here [​IMG]
     
  11. Crystal the Glaceon
    OP

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,811
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I am not sure if I was correct on that, Because when I last tested it, it didn't. They might have added an option for it. But if they did, they really didn't take up much space with it.
    No one is giving me a clear answer on that and I can't test it right now since I am in school. I shall test it as soon as I get home
     
  12. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can tell you that it starts up OK

    Combos:
    DSi + M3i0 (with iTouchDS)
    DSlite + M3i0 (with iTouchDS)
     
  13. powered_by_tux

    Member powered_by_tux GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    Germany
    1. Can you put this on your card alongside Sakura and in place of the Touchpod firmware?

    2. The download link from step 3 does somehow not work for me (content encoding error). Is there another way to obtain this tool?
     
  14. Crystal the Glaceon
    OP

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,811
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    1. No, not anymore, they locked that out. I tried yesterday. Now you can use this in the old iSakuReal
    Which I uploaded here (it has the Zelda Skin already in the iTouchDS folder) But the Sakura is horribly out of date, on the bright side Touchpod and iTouchDS are up to date.
    2. I can look it up for you, hold on for a bit, k?
    I can't seem to find any of these files, so I uploaded them to another site for you here
     
  15. powered_by_tux

    Member powered_by_tux GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    Germany
    Too bad. It's the old hosility of M3 team against external developers again then? I think I will stick with Sakura.
     
  16. Crystal the Glaceon
    OP

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,811
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well the funny thing is iTouchDS and M3 team are the same team, so I really don't get why they blocked it out
    Also I did reupload the files on another site for you
     
  17. markvn

    Member markvn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The M3 Real is nearly the same as R4, can you use any firmware of the M3 or the iTouch on it?
     
  18. Crystal the Glaceon
    OP

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,811
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No you can't. You can use a homebrew version of Sakura, but it can't load roms
     
  19. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for this, glad to know I can use iTouch.
    But I still prefer M3 Sakura [​IMG]
     
  20. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I've only tried one commercial ROM (Mario Kart DS) and one Homebrew game (Staying alive) and both worked OK.

    iTouch doesn't allow playing of MP3,TXT, DPG or JPG.
    You'll need Moonshell for that - I've tried it with Moonshell v 2.06 (No DLDI patching) & MS worked with those files fine

    On clicking the 'gear' for options on Mario kart I've found after a little playing around that using the +-pad to highlight an icon & the description shows on the top screen
    Icons are from left to right top to bottom

    The RTS seems to work
    The Slow down worked
    The Reset Worked (It rebooted everything)
    I'm not sure but I think only SOME of the cheats worked (I selected 'Unlock All character,Cars and Class' & 'All Missions Completed' - I got extra tracks (mirror) but the Missions didn't seem to be all completed)

    'Create icon for iFav' worked
    The 'Delete file' worked
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page