[How To] Transfer emuNAND to another SD card. Working on New3DS!

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Zaazu, Mar 13, 2015.

  1. 0x40

    0x40 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    234
    65
    Apr 20, 2013
    Try 'select volume 5' then 'select partition 0' and then 'assign'
     
  2. Gyrobax

    Gyrobax GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    175
    71
    Feb 28, 2016
    United States
    tried that too, and it gave the same message
     
  3. 0x40

    0x40 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    234
    65
    Apr 20, 2013
    That's really strange. Can you take another screenshot?
    Edit: If you list volume/partition again, are they both selected?
     
    Last edited by 0x40, May 7, 2017
  4. yrkomm16

    yrkomm16 Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Jul 21, 2016
    Poland
    I just got an error when i tried to expand my new sd card in EasyUS Partition Master 12.0.
     
  5. mezo210

    mezo210 Member

    Newcomer
    11
    0
    Mar 30, 2017
    United States
    done this too many times is anyone willing to help used eas partition folloewed all steps get the eror many have tried with aoemi it fixes the issue and now the files are there but the sd is almost full whne its a 125g and the old file was 16g yes i moved the partition to the right and it delets averythign after appliying
     
  6. 3Bies

    3Bies Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    61
    14
    Feb 27, 2017
    New Zealand
    Tried that, apparently emunand is a unlocatable file in the sd card and thats why we need to use a image tool to copy every single thing on the card. That way we can transfer emunand to another card, the EasuUSPartition allows you to combine the partitions as the card will read the image as a partition.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Also i need a little bit of help, whenever I try to merge the partitions it shows me an error, can someone help me with this or show me another partition merge program for fat32?
     
  7. Angel08

    Angel08 Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Jun 3, 2017
    Canada
    Also, is the important information only for that type of CFW? I have arm9loaderhax and don't know if that info also goes for it
     
  8. Nicro

    Nicro Member

    Newcomer
    10
    0
    Jun 5, 2017
    Germany
    The Void
    Since I did not see anything for Linux users yet I just wanted to point out that this works just as well.

    1. Make a bit-perfect copy of the old card using dd (or gdiskdump if you want a progress bar):
    sudo dd if=/dev/<device-ID of old sd-card> of=sdcard.img bs=1M

    2. Copy the image to the new card:
    sudo dd if=sdcard.img of=/dev/<device-ID of new sd-card> bs=1M

    3. Use gparted or something similar to adjust the end cylinders (partitions) like described above.

    4. Enjoy

    Be absolutely sure of your device IDs so that you don't break anything, you can look them up in gparted.

    @Zaazu Feel free to put this in OP if you want. ^_^

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    A9LH is not exactly CFW itself but a bootloader as far as I know and should not be affected by the sd card at all, though since it has to boot into something I would check what that something is first.
    Generally speaking this method should preserve whatever setup you have on your card, not just Luma.
     
  9. wownmnpare

    wownmnpare GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    322
    46
    Jan 9, 2014
    Caloocan
    will this work on o3ds to n3ds?
     
  10. BengiDog

    BengiDog Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Jun 30, 2017
    United States
    I'm confused... [​IMG]
     
  11. rikumax25!

    rikumax25! Keyblade Wielder

    Member
    1,417
    511
    Apr 21, 2016
    Costa Rica
    emunands are console specific
     
  12. BoxNinPlay

    BoxNinPlay GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    202
    48
    Jan 4, 2016
    Help I see nothing in USB Image Tool see print screen for more detail, i can not see any of my disc or SD Card, how do I fix this?
    upload_2017-7-15_10-21-49.png
     
  13. Blank_Jay

    Blank_Jay Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Jan 16, 2017
    United States
    Um when I do all the steps or whatnot the partition size doesn't change to the size of the new SD card. It still stays the same (1.83 GB)
     
  14. Morloki

    Morloki Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Jul 21, 2017
    Brazil
    So, just to be sure, I have do follow this tutorial if I want to update my 2GB SD to a 32GB one right? I just need to do this right? I'm good at following instructions, but I need a confirmation first. ^^''

    Edit: Well, I did it~ and it worked fine! Thanks! :D
     
    Last edited by Morloki, Jul 23, 2017
  15. Xaenor

    Xaenor Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    Jul 3, 2017
    Austria
    Hello. Can you please help me? I've done everything by the instruction, but there's no button "Move/Resize" in the partition manager (see screenshot). Any idea what might cause this?

    Upd.: Nevermind, used another program (MiniTool Partition Wizard) and it worked without problems.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Xaenor, Aug 5, 2017
  16. kuroii

    kuroii Member

    Newcomer
    28
    0
    Dec 8, 2016
    Senegal
    hello. did you manage to fix your issue? I'm having the same problem where my SD card refuses to assign a drive letter to the actual partition.

    Instead, it keeps assigning to my emunand portion which I can't read on my pc.
     
  17. acoll

    acoll Member

    Newcomer
    44
    1
    Mar 11, 2015
    Manila, Philippines
    i have done this successfully before, just wanted to ask, would this still be possible to do if i wanted to move from 64gb to 32gb? do i just have to make sure that the contents of the source 64 can fit in the 32gb card?
     
  18. RY0M43CH1Z3N

    RY0M43CH1Z3N GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    279
    49
    Aug 16, 2017
    Spain
    Caos
    ¿?
    If you want move content from a SD card to other SD card with less space, you have make sure the files can fit in the SD card with less space (obiously)
     
  19. oncebuddy

    oncebuddy Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    Sep 1, 2017
    Singapore
    I have the same problem as this person. When I tried to resize my partition on my sd card from 16gb (the size of the image) to 64gb (the actual total space on the sd card), I got an error saying that there's a problem updating the FAT directory entry. I am 100% sure that my SD card isn't corrupt as I can still play the games on the sd card on my 3ds. Additionally, the applying of changes will stop at 72% before the error pops up.

    Edit: I'm wondering if it has something to do with the allocation unit size? Because my SD card was originally ex-FAT and I formatted it into FAT32 with a cluster size of 512 bytes which isn't the recommended size for a FAT32 partition (but I still did it anyways to save space).
     
    Last edited by oncebuddy, Sep 1, 2017
  20. achyoav

    achyoav Member

    Newcomer
    32
    2
    Jan 3, 2017
    Israel
    im on the latest luma (B9s), do i need to follow the guide?
     
    Last edited by achyoav, Oct 25, 2017