1. 3bbb7

    OP 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    I currently have 4gb and am looking to upgrade to 8gb, I have 2 slots and 1 used by the current 4gb

    How can I tell what ram is compatible with my laptop?

    Acer aspire v3-551G-8454
     
  2. Clarky

    Clarky Don't you know who I think I am?
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,960
    Country:
    United States
    Look up crucial memory, they have a page that will check your ram type, mobo etc and tell you what you can use
     
  3. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    Before that, why are you looking to upgrade, exactly?
     
  4. 3bbb7

    OP 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using this laptop for a while and it's alright but I know getting more ram will help out just that much more when multitasking programs, etc.
     
  5. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    Could you be specific? RAM isn't always the limiting factor. Could be CPU performance, IO (this is a big one in laptops with 5400 RPM drives like that model), the GPU, etc.
     
  6. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,941
    Country:
    United States
    Just pull out the RAM stick, take an HD pic of it (so you can read the text on the sticker) and look it up on Google. Then buy the same type on Newegg or something.
     
  7. 3bbb7

    OP 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    Well nothing really specific, I guess maybe its a little slow opening Firefox and other programs when I have other applications open
    I dont think I'll be able to upgrade much on my laptop besides ram so I thought this would be the best bet to upgrading even if its just a little performance boost
     
  8. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,941
    Country:
    United States
    An SSD will also give you a huge performance boost. Typical laptop harddrives are only 5400RPMs, which is very slow.
     
  9. 3bbb7

    OP 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    I would prefer not to spend so much tho, ssds are really expensive
     
    JayRo likes this.
  10. ViDeOmAnCiNi

    ViDeOmAnCiNi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
  11. 3bbb7

    OP 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
  12. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    Higher RAM clock rate won't really affect loading times.

    Also make sure to try Crucial's scanner if you don't know how many slots you have and which are occupied by what, so you can buy the best setup.
     
  13. ViDeOmAnCiNi

    ViDeOmAnCiNi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Well - 1600MHZ is faster, but if you are adding more memory to it, you need to match the speed of the existing memory so you would need to open it and look at the other module. If you are going to replace one or both modules with new memory, get the 1600MHZ if you can afford it (it will cost a little more) and it should speed you up somewhat. An inexpensive SSD will also make a world of difference (I see them in the Fry's Electronics and Newegg adverts for <$100 sometimes). Check slickdeals.net for stuff like that.

    Good luck.

    -VM
     
  14. 3bbb7

    OP 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, is there a way check without opening up my laptop?
     
  15. ViDeOmAnCiNi

    ViDeOmAnCiNi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    You don't have to "open" the laptop, there appears to be one large door on the bottom that you open to see the RAM & HD. Look on page 1-10 of the manual here:

    http://www.manualowl.com/m/Acer Computers/Aspire-V3-551G/Manual/292064

    Other than that there is probably software that can tell you, but it's really easier to just find a small screwdriver and open that hatch. :-)

    The label on the DIMM(S) inside should say their speed on them.

    -VM
     
  16. 3bbb7

    OP 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome I'll do that tomorrow thanks
     
  17. trumpet-205

    trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    RAM upgrade won't do you much here.

    In terms of I/O hard drives (especially 5,400 RPM laptop) are the slowest, so naturally CPU and the RAM have to wait for HDDs. Moving HDDs to SSD gives you the best performance. You are much better off saving up money for a SSD than shopping for a RAM kit right now.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - compatible, laptop,