How to save in SuperCard DS One

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by omg83, Jan 2, 2007.

Jan 2, 2007

How to save in SuperCard DS One by omg83 at 7:16 PM (1,959 Views / 0 Likes) 24 replies

  1. omg83
    OP

    Newcomer omg83 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Mexico
    Hi everyone, I got one supercard ds one, and everything works wonderful. I just got one question:

    When I save in a game and then reset the DS, the save file works fine, but if I shut down the ds and some time later turn it on, the save file is not there. So the question is: do I have to reset the ds everytime I want to save?

    I just tested it and it looks like I do have to reset the DS. I tried with Touch Detective: saved and turned it off, 20 minutes later i turned it on and theres nothing saved.

    FYI: i'm trying unpatched roms and using the save function of the game itself.

    Thanks in advance for any help [​IMG]
     


  2. omg83
    OP

    Newcomer omg83 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Mexico
    please guys, im searching in other topics but had no luck... I just want to know if this is the regular behavior of the card
     
  3. michaelearth

    Newcomer michaelearth Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    I also have a saving question on the SCDS. How do i save in homebrew games?? like in Twin Isles ill save it, turn off my DS, and then go back and it wont load my games. What am i doing wrong??

    Also omg83 how do i do reset the DS? Are you using Super MOde?? If you are, can you explain what i need to do to use supermode and use the reset optio0n?

    Thanx!
     
  4. omg83
    OP

    Newcomer omg83 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Mexico
    Hi

    by "reset" i mean turn off and on quickly the DS. If i do it immediately, the save is ok and will work just fine even if i turn it off again and turn on hours later.

    but, if just save and then turn it off... wait like 20 minutes, and turn it on, the save is not there..
     
  5. michaelearth

    Newcomer michaelearth Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Yup, I have the same problem.
     
  6. ooh44

    Newcomer ooh44 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Thailand
    I think the internal battery was ran out.
    SCDS has a battery inside and has Actel flash chip.
    I don' know which method it use. but I see that i save very fast, more faster than EZ5 2-5 sec.
     
  7. omg83
    OP

    Newcomer omg83 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Mexico
    i do too save fast... but i dont know if the problem is in the battery



    somebody else going trough this? or at least please confirm that some of you can save and turn it off (no reset) and still keep the save file.

    thanks all for the feedback
     
  8. SlyT

    Newcomer SlyT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mine saves fine regardless of whether I am turning the console off, or just resetting.

    A
     
  9. Whiternoise

    Member Whiternoise GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's very very quick for a battery to run out - given they've only been released for two months. Doubt that's your problem - if it is, then you should be able to get a refund from wherever you bought it from.
     
  10. rkenshin

    Member rkenshin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    United States
    I just patch it since I'm trimming the roms so might as well get IGR and direct saving in the process too..

    Seems to be the sensible thing to do and go back to drag and drop if a game doesn't work in Super mode
     
  11. omg83
    OP

    Newcomer omg83 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Mexico
    Im still very confused.. i've found some people saying that the supercard ds one can save files without having to restart the console (with unpatched games) and some others saying the opposite, that you have to restart the DS or patch the game..

    [​IMG]
     
  12. ooh44

    Newcomer ooh44 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Thailand
    for Clean ROM, you need to turn on the DS again to save in microSD.
    for patched ROM (Super Mode), you'll save the game directly in microSD.
     
  13. coroner4

    Newcomer coroner4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    What do you mean? Sorry for the question, it might be obvious for others but I'm just new to all this [​IMG]
    How do I save first of all? I believe each game has his own saving function, right? Why do I have to turn off the DS after I save?
    All I want is to save my progress on the microSD so I can contiune later on...
    And I think I have the same issues as OP.
    Thanks a lot for any clarification.
     
  14. omg83
    OP

    Newcomer omg83 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Mexico
    What he means by "clean rom" is a rom that hasnt been patched.. and no, you dont have to turn it off immediately after saving... you can save and continue to play.. but when you are thinking about leaving the game, you have to turn off and turn on in order to auto write all the saving into the card..

    unless, you patched the rom, in that case you do not have restart the ds


    at least thats what I understand [​IMG]
     
  15. coroner4

    Newcomer coroner4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks!
    But there is another way to leave a game other than turning off the DS???
     
  16. Propionation

    Newcomer Propionation Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    You mean by leaving a game to go to the Supercard menu? That involves a process called patching or “Super Mode”. So with the patched game after you have saved you press a certain button combination (LRABXY) all at the same time to go back to the Supercard menu.
     
  17. p_mantis

    Newcomer p_mantis Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Nuclear Building B1 Floor
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I'm guessing your battery is faulty, I've been leaving my DS turned off for 3 days and when I turn it on it still saves the last game I played (Mariokart DS)
     
  18. omg83
    OP

    Newcomer omg83 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Mexico
    see what i mean? in this topic there are people saying that you have to restart in order to save.. but some others say that you dont have to [​IMG]
     
  19. 5uck3rpunch

    Member 5uck3rpunch Surf Monster!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Texas - USA
    Country:
    United States
    I just want to know how to use the SuperCard SD SAV games on the SuperCard DS1!!? [​IMG]
     
  20. coroner4

    Newcomer coroner4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    Along with my save issues, also I have problems with Castlevania:PoR (it freezes, the touch screen goes black, the upper screen still shows the map and the music is still playing) (but no slowdowns in the intro). My memory is 1GB Kingston microSD (made in Japan). I tried with FA32 and FAT with 64K cluster size. Also I tried with 2x, 3x and 4x the Speed setting.

    Anyway, the solution: I've ordered also an R4 [​IMG]
     

Share This Page